We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude security staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Park Hotel Hong Kong
Ranked #75 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rude security staff”
Reviewed 13 June 2012

I've stayed in Park hotel from 3/06/2012 to 6/03/2012 , check in was fast , everything was good. Until 1 day, before leaving the hotel for our tour , I tried asking a man who dressed in a suit standing near the concierge. I went over and said : excuse me, do you know ... before i can even finish my question. He raised his voice at me and said : GO ASK THE FRONT DESK, i replied, i'm sorry ? He repeat the sentence . GO ASK THE FRONT DESK and walked away. I was taken aback and appalled, how rude this man could be. Later in the night, i called front desk and I found out he's a security staff, named of Mr TSANG.

Rest assured this incident prevented me from staying at this hotel and of course , warn my fellow mates about this.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHotelHongKong, Hotel Manager at Park Hotel Hong Kong, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Park Hotel Hong Kong as your preferred choice of stay during your recent visit to Hong Kong and for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor. We, at the Park Hotel Hong Kong were very disappointed to read your review and would like to extend our sincere apologies for your disappointment and the inconvenience caused.

We truly appreciate your valuable feedback on the service provided by our Security staff. We have immediately taken corrective action with the staff member concerned and will certainly enhance the customer service skills of our staff through training. We will make every effort to seek continuous improvement in serving our customers satisfactorily.

We take all guest comments very seriously and once again, we apologize for the inconveniences you had on your last stay. We look forward to be of service to you again in the near future.

Thank you,

Michelle Mak
Hotel Manager
Park Hotel Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    828
    219
    35
    30
See reviews for
410
438
82
235
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

we stayed here for 2 nights from 5-7june. booked online direct on the hotel website (book superior room with complimentary upgrade to deluxe room). check in was fast and we were on the 5th floor. we were with 2 kids (3yrs old and 10mths old), and got a queen bed and a cot bed with clean bedding. room was quite spacious but i drew the curtains on the small window as there was no view. my sister booked a deluxe plus room with 2 double beds which fit in 2 adults and 2 children comfortably. toilet was clean.

breakfast was decent (cereals, juices, breads and pastries, cheese and spreads, congee and oatmeal, and indian food). location was good with 2 entrances to the hotel, one with direct access to busy shopping street. ebeneezer kebab was just one street away on prat ave (good food but pricey). considering we were there more for sightseeing, we should have stayed at hong kong island instead. took cab to victoria peak and ocean park cost about HKD 80-100 per way.

i believe theres no pool or gym in the hotel

Room Tip: deluxe plus rooms have better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mellenur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

To ensure I was posting my comments for the right hotel, I reviewed the photos just to confirm as this is NOT SO GOOD.

Arrived from Beijing and checked-in with a group of 12. This was the last of a 4-city tour. We arrived and checked in about 9:00 pm. About a 45-minute drive from the Airport and located across from HK Island in Kowloon. Check-in was simple as the group guide handled everything. This was the first of 4 hotel stays that each room had to leave credit cards for deposits. Not a big deal, just did not have to do it at the prior hotels.

Entered hotel from the Cameron road entrance. Fairly small lobby with concierge and registration desk. Located at the corner of Chatham and Cameron Rd. Very busy area and easy walk to waterfront, shops, Nathan Road, and subway.

The room is average Western hotel size but with twin beds. Note that we found the beds to be hard. But it was not as hard as our Shanghai hotel stay. It was manageable and we were able to sleep fine with minimum exterior noise. The bathroom was avg size with awesome shower head. Amenities were included and it was clean. The room had great technology that allowed us to manage the lights from the bed. The room was a little dark, even with all the lights on. Again it was manageable.

We awoke after checking in and prepared for tour. Roommate indicated she had a scratchy throat. We headed to breakfast on the 4th floor which was included in our plan. It is a buffet with a great selection for guests from multiple countries. Everything in the cafe was clean and the buffet was good.

Did some touring and returned late to rest. The next morning we each woke with scratchy or sore throats. As we spoke to others in our group, learned that several had the same symptoms. We returned early to our room and found it quite stuffy so turned the air down. When returned later that night after dinner, our room was freezing and our comforters and clothing felt damp. We figured it was due to the humidity.

The next morning we met up with some group members and went to Big Budda. During the ride we talked about our trip and hotel. We learned that we had the same challenges. Damp clothing and bedding as well as scratchy throats. When we got back to the hotel, we stopped at the front desk and told them our challenges. It was then that we learned there was a mold problem!!!!! I truly believe the person that told us let it slip. Because it was our last night, we decided to stay in the room. When we got to the room, we realized that the black marks all over the walls in the room was mold. We slept with our masks on thinking that we would be fine. Well, we progressively got worse and each woke with stuffy heads and sinus problems. Called the front desk to speak to the manager and let him know about our challenges. By this time, I'd lost my voice and it was obvious I was sick. The manager was gracious with offering assistance for anything we needed. He sent up extra water which we definitely needed as we warned water for neti pots ans tea. We must have looked really bad to the person that delivered the water. After he left, we got another call asking if we would like a doctor's consultation. I will admit, we were in pretty bad shape. And it was terrible as we were headed back to the states (36 hours of traveling).

While we waited to check-out, we were approached by a different manager about our stay and to confirm our room number (#620). He apologized for our stay. As we talked, another in our party expressed her disapointment. Turns out that we were all on the 6th floor and all had a scratchy throat of dampness in our rooms.

Needless to say, I cannot recommend this hotel. As I type this review, I am still sick. I am confident that it is no cooincidence that several in our group got sick and only after checking into this hotel. The air-conditioning system is not working well to combat the HK humidity. This is something that needs serious work.

Room Tip: Avoid the 6th floor until it can be confirmed that the mold issue has been resolved. Check all room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sk84fungirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHotelHongKong, Hotel Manager at Park Hotel Hong Kong, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Park Hotel Hong Kong as your preferred choice of stay for your recent visit to Hong Kong and for taking the time to provide your feedback on Tripadvisor. We were very disappointed to read your comments and would like to extend our sincere apologies to your disappointment and for the unpleasant experience you had.

We have noted your valuable feedback on the condition of guest room. Our Engineering Department has taken immediate action to improve our ventilation and air-conditioning system. Our room attendants have been reminded to be more attentive on every detail of the room. The Management is constantly taking steps to ensure the service quality standards set by the Hotel are being maintained at all times and we will make every effort to seek continuous improvement in serving our customers satisfactorily.

We take all guest comments very seriously and once again, we sincere apologize for the unpleasant experience you had and hope this incident will not deter you from using our hotel. We certainly look forward to having another privilege of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Michelle Mak
Hotel Manager
Park Hotel Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

The hotel is well located, close to Nathan Street and the Waterfront. The rooms are spacious - especially after staying in hotels in Japan for a week. The hotel was let down by the small things, my room had th stale smell of smoke despite being a 'non smoking room' and everything felt a little old and used. It wasn't bad but wasn't great either.

Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank BrendanL26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHotelHongKong, Hotel Manager at Park Hotel Hong Kong, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Park Hotel Hong Kong as your preferred choice of stay for your recent visit to Hong Kong and for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor. We at the Park Hotel Hong Kong were very disappointed to read your review and would like to extend our sincere apologies to your disappointment and the inconvenience caused by the condition of the guest room.

We have noted your constructive feedback on the room condition and appropriate actions have been taken by our Housekeeping Department to eliminate smoke smell in the guest room. Furthermore, our room attendants have been reminded to be more attentive on checking every detail of the room. We will make every effort to seek continuous improvement in serving our customers satisfactorily.

We take all guest comments very seriously and once again, we apologize for the inconveniences you had on your last stay. We look forward to having another privilege of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Thank you,

Michelle Mak
Hotel Manager
Park Hotel Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012 via mobile

Good position and room service.
Crowded breakfast with many tourist.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gcgcgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
#85 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,575 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Butterfly on Prat
Butterfly on Prat
#51 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,717 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Regal Kowloon Hotel
Regal Kowloon Hotel
#98 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Luxe Manor
The Luxe Manor
#44 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Hong Kong

Property: Park Hotel Hong Kong
Address: No.61-65 Chatham Road South, Tsimshatsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#66 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#69 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#83 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#85 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,200 - ₹ 14,532
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel the pulse of the city from the Park Hotel Hong Kong, strategically located in the heart of Kowloon's entertainment and business district of Tsim Sha Tsui. At the forefront of Tsim Sha Tsui's buzzing nightlife, you will be spoilt for choice with an extensive array of eateries and dining establishments. The Star Ferry, Kowloon Station for the Airport Express Trains and subway station are a five to ten minutes' walk away, giving you easy access to the rest of this vibrant city. Complimentary WiFi access and handy smartphone service is offered with unlimited free local and international calls to 15 countries include Australia, China, France, India, Italy, Japan, Germany, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, South Korea, Taiwan, Thailand, UK and USA as well as free WiFi hotspot sharing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotel.de, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hotel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing