We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is nothing like a W hotel - the staff should never say that!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mira Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mira Hong Kong
Ranked #41 of 713 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This is nothing like a W hotel - the staff should never say that!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

O.K., it was close to the office and the pictures looked nice. At the airport they assured me it was modeled after the w hotel chain. Well, I have been to the w, and Mira is not the w. The service was stuffy-english (may I HELP you madame) where it existed at all. I had breakfast included and checked in at the front desk of the restaurant and they still threw a receipt at me and asked me to sign it while I was trying to eat. Person seating me tried to put me in the corner by the cash register every day. And every day I had to ask for a better seat where I did not have to excuse myself and slip past waitstaff when getting up (I did try the seat once). I had the feeling they were trying to hide me for some reason.

Could not get a drink at the 5th floor bar. Asked several times and finally went back to my room after "ok, ok" from the waiter and a wait of 20 minutes. (they were not busy at all). And I think some of the young women at that bar were "working".

Shower control came off in my hand and one drawer was stuck closed so I had to call maintenance to get my clothes out (making me late one morning).

I travel to Hong Kong frequently and wrote a letter to the manager expressing my disappointment at the service. And questioned whether anyone from my company should stay there. Never heard anything from them. They don't care. Evidently, I am not part of their demographics. I will not stay there again. My colleagues that went there three weeks later stayed at a hotel across the park based on my bad experience.

Dinner room service was very good. Cleaning staff was very good.
the problem seems to be management.

Room Tip: stay away from the elevators if you want to avoid being woken up by screaming kids and loud drunks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kmbsmtview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,662
    965
    200
    64
    44
See reviews for
380
861
219
913
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

This is a unique hotel in Hong Kong... the rooms a small but the utilisation of space is unbelievable! every detail is unique... from the turn down service to the bottles of water. On a hectic business day in Hong Kong its a great place to come back to! Ideal for business.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MHD85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

First time to Hong Kong and chose to stay at The Mira. Stayed 6 nights on the free 3rd night promotion so paid for 4 nights in a Club room. The staff were very friendly and with the Club check-in desk on the 15th floor they always said good morning/evening and remember your name as you stepped out the elevator. The general staff around the hotel were very friendly and always smiled and said hello and would run to open a door for you.

The bed was extremely comfortable and shower area was interesting and enjoyable.

Location couldn't have been better. Easy access to anywhere you want to go in HK.

Will stay there again if the price is right at the time.

Room Tip: Club room for great personal service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eroder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

Pretty new and chic hotel. Good location around Nathan Road. Walking distance to the nearest MTR. FRiendly and helpful staff. Clean rooms with complimentary wifi and bottled water. Did not try the food at the hotel. Would giveit a try the next time I stay there. Will return to the hotel if it remains affordable.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xia0ye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

Rarely do I have this kind of strong negative reaction to a hotel, but I don’t like this hotel and would not stay here again. It’s way over-designed, tries too hard to be “Boutique Chic”, comes off as having been designed by a 1st year design student from 3rd rate design school who values form over function, all to the point of being very un-user-friendly.

The hotel tries for night club glam – it’s all somber blacks, dark grays, smoked glass and mood lighting. I guess that’s fine for a club, but not when you’re tired after a long flight or a full day of meetings and have a hard time finding your room in the poorly lit hallways, can’t find the light switch for the bathroom (which is marked “mood” for whatever reason), can’t adjust the water temperature in the shower because the controls are unmarked, can’t tell whether you’re using the shampoo or the shower gel because the bottle are hard to read, and keep bumping into mirrored walls (all of which happened to me).

I've lived in Hong Kong and return to the island frequently for business, but won't be coming back to the Mira.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2815riggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#12 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,360 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Luxe Manor
The Luxe Manor
#43 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 713 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,366 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Tsim Sha Tsui
Sheraton Hong Kong Hotel & Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mira Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mira Hong Kong

Property: The Mira Hong Kong
Address: 118 Nathan Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#16 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#27 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#39 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#39 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,712 - ₹ 21,969
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mira Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 492
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hip interiors, award-winning cuisine, and personalised guest service continue to build on our reputation as Hong Kong's hottest Design hotel. And now, our Michelin recommended restaurants: Cuisine Cuisine at The Mira and WHISK offer some of the finest culinary experiences the city has to offer. Stylish, iconoclastic, individualised. Marked by art, music, cuisine, and all that's uplifting and edgy in-between. A discreet designer haven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your The Mira Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mira Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Mira Hotel Hong Kong
Mira Hong Kong
Miramar Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Miramar Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing