We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Speak no English, no real hospitatlity” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
Ranked #122 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Dee Why
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Speak no English, no real hospitatlity”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Disappointing. Nice building, great location. Crap breakfast, rude, non-enghlish speaking waiting staff kicks you out of the breakfast restaurant at 10am, on a Sunday! $10/day for WiFi in the room, and on top of that the business centre charges $50 for 15 minutes!! After you have paid for your room, your WiFi and your crappy breakfast. And nobody speaks any decent English, including the manager. But the rooms are nice and clean. If only the cleaning lady wouldn't shout at me when I walk through the hallway on my way to breakfast: "Excuse me sir, when can we clean your room?" on the top of her voice. Lie she is the hallway police officer. Rude.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GIVD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGLK, Manager at Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear GIVD

We regret to hear that you have had an unpleasant experience at the Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong.

We have taken note of your comments and had already informed concerned department heads for investigation and take necessary action steps for immediate rectification.

As for the internet access service, our current tariff is HK$60.00 for 24 hours continuous usage in guest rooms whereas the charge for internet access at our Business Centre is HK$35.00 for 15 minutes usage by using our PC. Furthermore, guest will enjoy free internet-access at the Lobby or our F & B Outlets if he/she has already registered such service in the guest room. Nevertheless, we are currently reviewing the contract with our service provider to work out a “better deal” on both usage and charges.

Please accept our sincerely apologies for all inconveniences caused.

All of us at the Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong look forward to welcoming you in staying with us again soon.

Edmond Kwan
Rooms Division & Sales Manager
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    199
    45
    7
    2
See reviews for
27
45
18
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

Wan Chai, full of girly bars and streetside food. An exciting nightspot for the guys, not for families though. Just 5 minutes' walk to the MRT station, or an easy 20 minute walk to Causeway Bay. The hotel is also very close to the morning markets where you can buy high quality and reasonably priced dried seafood products in the mornings - dont have to go all the way to Sheung Wan and pay tourist prices. Try the NAM KEE noodle shop just a couple of doors away from the back entrance (backstreet), its prices are reasonable and obviously a local favourite because its always FULL! The hotel offers great value in a great location. If i need a hotel in HK island next trip, will likely stay there again!

Room Tip: Stay on L27-29! We had an upgrade to L27 executive floor which was a pleasant surprise. The floor w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KimNeoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGLK, Manager at Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear KimNeoh

We are delighted to learn that you have had a pleasant and enjoyable stay at the Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong and we have taken note of your positive comments which we will share it with all our staff via their department heads.

All of us at the Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong are looking forward to welcoming you back in your future visits to Hong Kong.

Best Regards,

Edmond Kwan
Rooms Division & Sales Manager
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

The hotel is a block away from the Wanchai MTR station (exit A) and the area is quite lively with lots of bars and restaurants (the beijing dumpling house across the street from the back entrance is fantastic). The room itself is on the smaller end and nothing is over the top, but everything was clean and functional. I particularly liked the master light/AC switches right by the side of the bed. Note however that there is a daily charge for wifi per device, so fees can add up if you are connecting multiple computers/phones/tablets, and there is no free wifi in the lobby. For better views, try to get a room on a higher floor on the odd numbered side of the building.

Room Tip: For better views, try to get a room on a higher floor on the odd numbered side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGLK, Manager at Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Dear Robert T

We are delighted to learn that you have had a pleasant and enjoyable stay at the Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong and we have taken note of your positive comments which we will share it with all our staff via their department heads.

All of us at the Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong are looking forward to welcoming you back in your future visits to Hong Kong.

Best Regards,

Edmond Kwan
Rooms Division & Sales Manager
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

Very nice place to stay, great service and easy to get to and from via taxi or train. Great service from the staff and the rooms are clean and tidy. Its not over the top nor does it appear like a cheap hotel as it is well finished.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGLK, Manager at Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Dear Tim H

We are delighted to learn that you have had a pleasant and enjoyable stay at the Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong .

All of us at the Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong are looking forward to welcoming you back in your future visits to Hong Kong.

Best Regards,

Edmond Kwan
Rooms Division & Sales Manager
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

An decent business hotel in an ideal location in Wanchai. Great bars and restaurants very nearby. MRT station very close. It's not 5 star quality but it is not 5 star prices. You normally don't come to HK to spend anytime in your room. I have been a loyal guest over many years.

But if you are going to spend time in your room be prepared for your patience to be tested to the limit if you use the Do Not Disturb sign. You may as well hang an "All Welcome Anytime" sign on the door. The housekeeping staff pay no attention whatsoever to the DND signs. On three consecutive stays now I have been once awoken by someone entering my room (I was sleeping during the day after a long haul flight) and twice I have come back to find my room cleaned when I was out of the room but had left the DND sign up. I often want to charge my phones and laptop and leave confidential papers around which is why I sometimes use the DND sign when I am not in the room. I leave a key in the activation slot so the electronic sign will not switch off. But is is pointless. I guess the housekeeping staff are keen to get away so they ignore the DND signs unequivocally. Most irritating.

Otherwise a very suitable hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillM1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGLK, Manager at Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Dear BillM1964

We are delighted to learn that you have had a pleasant and enjoyable stay at the Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong and we have taken note of your comments which we will futher investigate.

All of us at the Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong are looking forward to welcoming you back in your future visits to Hong Kong.

Best Regards,

Edmond Kwan
Rooms Division & Sales Manager
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Empire Hotel Wan Chai
The Empire Hotel Wan Chai
#120 of 712 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Harbourview Hong Kong
The Harbourview Hong Kong
#143 of 712 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Novotel Century Hong Kong
Novotel Century Hong Kong
#110 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,829 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Gloucester Hotel
Gloucester Hotel
#63 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong

Property: Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
Address: No.72 Gloucester Rd, Wanchai, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#74 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#92 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#97 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#99 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,295 - ₹ 22,730
Hotel Class:4 star — Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong is a super-value hotel located in the heart of Wanchai business district which is within few minutes walk to reach the Hong Kong Convention & Exhibition Centre. With its close proximity to the MTR Wanchai Station, it brings guests every convenience to gain access to all parts of Hong Kong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Luk Kwok Hong Kong
Hotel Luk Kwok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing