We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first impressions are so important”
Review of Cordis, Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cordis, Hong Kong
Ranked #15 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Pasadena, California
2 reviews
“first impressions are so important”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

When we initially arrived at the hotel and approached the front desk we were warmly greeted with two hot towels to wash our hands with. I was very impressed. The front desk clerk did not speak much English and it was difficult to understand her- I think she was new as she was having issues making keys and finding us a room. In any case, I asked about any complimentary upgrades but she was very adamant stating she did not have any available. She gave us our room keys and when we entered the room there was someone else's luggage on the chair. We immediately went back down to the front desk and informed the same clerk that checked us in and she looked like she was having a heart attack. She immediately gave us a free upgrade to a room on a higher floor with a view of the water as opposed to the city. The room smelled a bit musty as if no one had used it for awhile. The view, however, was outstanding and breathtaking. Shortly thereafter the Duty Manager called me apologizing for what had happened and offered to send up a bottle of wine. The bed was nice and big and there were about 10 gigantic pillows which made it nice and comfy for us. The shower stall was nice but the pipe attached to the shower head had been broken off and taped back on so the water pressure was in and out. Also the handle to the bathroom door broke off on both sides. With some preventive maintenance for the room and some more training at the Front Desk, this hotel could quickly become one of the best hotels we have stayed in.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abby K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPHKG, General Manager at Cordis, Hong Kong, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Hi Abbey,

Yes sounds like our first impression for you wasn't the best. Baggage/room mix ups are bad enough, but it seems we added to the error (in between the heart attack) by trying to upgrade you to room not fully inspected. It's a human business - our apologies. Glad there were some positives, and hope that brings you back - and for a much better first impression - second time round.

Thanks

Shaun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

6,294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,583
    1,364
    245
    68
    34
See reviews for
1,449
2,153
457
1,223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Excellent value for money, definately take the breakfast package as not much is open early around the hotel. Breakfast had plenty of variety (even for vegetarians), make sure you grab a donut on the way out & have it dipped in the chocolate fountain.
Having The Langham Place shopping centre attached to the Hotel via a walk bridge on Lobby level made for easy access to shopping, restuarants & cinema. Access to MTR (the only way to travel in HK) was straight through shopping centre, so location was not really an issue as it was only a few MTR stops away from whatever you wanted to visit, just ensure you buy an Octopus Card at an MTR station. Mongkok is very busy itself with the Ladies market a couple of streets over.
Staff were always pleasant & friendly.
Pool was excellent on top floor, with very nice & relaxing hot jacuzzi adjacent.
Would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: We only stayed in the basic room (Vital Place room), which weren't large by any standards, howev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pejola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed here many times both on business and pleasure. Go for rooms with Club Lounge access, they are simply the best and the Lounge is just perfect. Miss it already.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank umeeT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

My husband and I stayed here for three nights in August 2011. Everything about the hotel was fantastic and a unique experience. The staff could not be faulted at all, they were discreet yet attentive, friendly yet professional. The food was abundant with a choice of European and Asian food even for breakfast. Nothing was too much trouble for this hotel or staff. It has to be just about the best hotel we have ever stayed in. I can't really comment on the value as we booked a major trip to Australia, Singapore and Hong Kong through Travel Bag and we just focused on the total, all I can say is we were very happy with the total price we paid for a truly amazing trip.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I spent 3 nights in February 2012 at the Langham Palace with my 6 year old daughter and the hotel service and atmosphere was absolutely top notch. We felt welcomed, cared for and pampered. The pool, spa and gym facilities on the top floor are terrific and the staff were exceptionally attentive to both myself and my daughter throughout - ensuring that we had a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraWalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,632 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#25 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,780 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#11 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#12 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,856 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#24 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordis, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordis, Hong Kong

Property: Cordis, Hong Kong
Address: No.555 Shanghai Street, Mongkok, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Langham Place, Mongkok, Hong Kong)
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Mong Kok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#15 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,171 - ₹ 18,992
Hotel Class:5 star — Cordis, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 660
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cordis, Hong Kong is an upscale 5-star hotel located in the vibrant Mongkok district of Kowloon. This 660 room modern hotel is directly linked to the Langham Place shopping mall and Mongkok MTR station. All rooms and suites are equipped with high speed wifi, a free-to-use smartphone, LED TVs. Our wellness facilities include a fully equipped fitness center, two fitness studios and outdoor heated pool, along with the Chuan Spa, which features over 60 unique treatments. Dining options include the two Michelin starred contemporary Cantonese restaurant, Ming Court, the trendy European restaurant and bar, Alibi – Wine Dine Be Social, and The Garage Bar, the new outdoor food truck destination bar, as well as The Place, the hotel’s all day dining restaurant. The hotel also features some of Hong Kong’s best meeting and event facilities including Kowloon’s highest ballroom, The Star Room, and the 600 seater Ballroom, which includes a 7m x 4m built in LED wall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Prestigia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cordis, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langham Place Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Langham Place
Langham Place Hotel Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing