We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great location, close to train station and shops” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silka Seaview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Silka Seaview Hotel
Ranked #168 of 708 Hotels in Hong Kong
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great location, close to train station and shops”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Stayed here on a trip with the whole family. We booked 5 rooms. No problems with the late check in, since our flight arrived close to 9pm in HK. Check in was quick, the front desk staff was very efficient, considering that there was also a big tour group checking in at the same time. At the time we stayed, they were having some renovations in the lobby area. The elevators were tiny, it took several trips to bring our party to the rooms, since only 3-4 people would fit, along with the luggage. The rooms were small as well, but the walls effectively dampened the noise inside the rooms (so we didn't have to worry about our banging and crashing disturbing the people in the other rooms). The bathroom was small, but had a separate shower stall (not shower over toilet). One thing: the outlets were a different shape and we couldn't plug our gadgets, but the front desk let us borrow an adaptor (you can also buy one from the shops on Nathan Rd, if you want your own). One of the bedside lamps did not work in our room, but we didn't go to HK to read in the room anyway.

I had to pay for wifi, but I got a high speed connection (charged by the hour). There was free wifi access at the breakfast area. Good enough for checking emails using my phone.

Location-wise, it is close to everything. There is a nearby money changer, a 7-11 and it was a couple of blocks away from Nathan Rd. There is also a McDonalds and a grocery store about a block away.

We spent most of our time outside the hotel, and only crashed after our tour, so the accomodations suited our needs. Not that fancy, but able to provide a decent bed to sleep in. All in all it was an ok stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank chuvalooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

843 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    362
    280
    79
    45
See reviews for
154
199
116
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
57 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

This is my second stay at Silka. The last time I stayed there in 2010, it was operating under the name of "Dorsett Seaview". I like this hotel given its value for money. I have relatives in HK so I visit HK frequently.

In the Yaumatei/Jordan area, Silka has got to be the best in terms of price/value ratio. Value being defined as "newness", location and service quality.

It's located not far from the Eaton Hotel. The area, while old and traditional, is not seedy at all. I would describe it as "authentic". If you don't like it, walk for half a minute straight and you will reach the famous Nathan road where you will get everything you need as a tourist.

I have seen reviews complaining about the staff's poor attitude but I can't understand how this actually happened. On both occasions, I was treated kindly and politely. The lobby manager (the one in black suit) who normally stands right next to the concierge desk is the only person who is the least forthcoming and smiley when approached. Otherwise, everyone is great.

I paid approximately HK$650 per night for a deluxe room and stayed 3 nights. This time, I was lucky; the front desk staff gave me a corner room which is spacious (relative to the standard room I was in the last time).

Since changing to the Silka brand, the hotel was slightly redesigned, making it look even more upmarket than before.

The Casa hotel on the main street is priced at the same level but the lobby is much smaller, the rooms much smaller (especially the shower) and the staff not as friendly.

Oh there's one other thing that the hotel needs to look into - while the hotel room was nicely cleaned and made up during my stay; the cups in the bathroom were dirty, with smudges and finger prints clearly visible. It could be due to high occupancy rate at the time. I gave the feedback to the front desk upon check-out and they said they would look into this.

On this trip, I stayed at two other hotels - Harbour Grand Hong Kong (North Point) and Anne Black. Do check out my reviews if you are planning on visiting HK soon :-)

Room Tip: There is a very famous "HK-styled restaurant" just right next to the Silka hotel - it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VictoriaSommers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suva, Fiji
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Great location just around the corner from the Temple Street Markets and sidewalk cafes. The proximity to Nathan Road is another plus. It's not far from the Yau Ma Tei MRT station. Getting around is not a problem as the MRT is quite efficient and reliable.

The rooms themselves were clean and the staff did a good job of keeping them tidy. But don't be surprised at the size of the room as they are extremely small and with your luggage there's barely enough room to move around. As for the bathrooms, 1 step in each direction is all it takes to fit in toilet, shower and hand basin. If you can handle the cramped conditions and just use it as a place to put your head down after a hectic day of sightseeing/ shopping then you should survive.

We had asked for a non smoking room but they put us on a smoking floor, although we didn't bother to change our room as we were just there to leave our bags and sleep the smell is a bit strong as you disembark the elevator.

Didn't have any meals here as the dining room is not that big as well as there are a plethora of sidewalk restaurants, cafes and Fastfood Outlets to choose from on Nathan Road and the surrounding side streets.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Noworriesimfijian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Got 3 rooms for my trip which were super compact, barely have enough space for our luggage and we keep tripping over it. But I don't really mind as I know most hotels in Hong Kong have small rooms with high rates. Only ventilation problem as rooms are small and windows are sealed. However, rooms are very clean (my top priority).

Reception staff need to improve service. Never greet, never smile at all!

First time locating the hotel was quite hard. Area are full of cluttered buildings. But once we found and got used to the place, it is convenient.

Found the nearest halal food 2 mtr station away.

Room Tip: Tip to locate the hotel: From the Yau Ma Tei MTR exit, turn right and walk ard 2 mins, turn right ag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mistikal_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Silka Seaview is a small hotel situated in the middle of downtown Kowloon. The reception area doesn’t give much space for people and their luggage if groups would check in. There are two small elevators to the left. It might take some time to ride an elevator during “rush hours” such as early mornings when everyone rushes to go somewhere. The corridors, rooms and bathrooms are also very small but clean. I can’t imagine how someone above 6 feet tall could take a shower or fit on the bed. The amenities are adequate and regularly replaced. There is a small desk on the corner, a refrigerator, an electric kettle, and hangers for your clothes, but no closet. We decided to push the bed to the side to maximize our room space. The only major drawback is that WiFi is paid. You may opt to buy a PCCW 24-hour internet access for 20 HKD at a 7/11 nearby. You can use that to connect to PCCW hotspots in all 7/11 and Starbucks in HK.

The hotel is near a 7/11, McDonald’s and a Wellcome grocery. Nathan Road is just behind the hotel with the Yau Ma Tei station of the MTR just a 5 minute walk away. If you’re a bit adventurous, you may make a right on Nathan Road and walk to Harbour City for around 20 minutes. It’s hard to get lost since there are signs everywhere. If you’re looking for a place to stay in HK that’s clean, conveniently located, and not too expensive, then I would suggest this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank engdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tai Kok Tsui
Silka West Kowloon Hotel
Silka West Kowloon Hotel
#179 of 708 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Casa Hotel Hong Kong
Casa Hotel Hong Kong
#192 of 708 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
M1 Hotel
M1 Hotel
#271 of 708 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsuen Wan
Silka Far East Hotel
Silka Far East Hotel
#200 of 708 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Inn Hotel Hong Kong
Inn Hotel Hong Kong
#130 of 708 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Evergreen Hotel
Evergreen Hotel
#166 of 708 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silka Seaview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silka Seaview Hotel

Property: Silka Seaview Hotel
Address: No.268 Shanghai Street, Yaumatei, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,881 - ₹ 11,846
Hotel Class:3 star — Silka Seaview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silka Seaview, Hong Kong is situated in Yau Ma Tei, one of the most vibrant districts of Hong Kong. The hotel has 268 well-designed guest rooms to provide all the comforts of home. Just a footstep away from Yau Ma Tei MTR Station and right next to the Temple Street Market and Jade Market, the hotel's prime location provides unrivaled access to the busy commercial and entertainment life of the city. Complimentary in-town shuttle bus service is available, and the hotel offers the best value for money and a perfect accommodation for travellers on a budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotel.de, HRS, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Silka Seaview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Seaview Hong Kong
Hotel Dorsett Seaview
Silka Seaview Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing