We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very Nice - but at a price!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbour Grand Kowloon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Harbour Grand Kowloon
Ranked #50 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
somerset
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very Nice - but at a price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

First trip to HK and very impressed with how easy it is to get around / in from airport / on to hotel - great first impressions. Not such a good impression when at check-in we were strongly encouraged to "deposit" 4,000 HK $ to cover 4 days "spend" in the hotel...!! Needless to say, we didn't hand it over (and didn't spend anything in the hotel - just too expensive!). This "deposit" was in lieu of swiping a credit card, because we don't use credit cards and apparently they prefer not to accept debit cards as their system will take some cash and it can take a while to get it back if you don't spend it during your stay...
The hotel itself was lovely and in a great location slightly away from the full on buzz of most of HK - but with more than enough places to eat / shop etc in the local vicinity if you couldn't be bothered to take the very good (free) hotel shuttle bus downtown.
As other reviewers have said, do go for a harbour view room - after all - it's probably what you came all that way for! Try and get on a breakfast inclusive deal because it really was great - absolutely everything to choose from.
Brits beware! it wasn't just the hotel that was expensive, small beer 5 or 6 quid, std Starbucks about a third more than at home.. You take plenty dollar!

Room Tip: You can have asked for a non-smoking room - but you might not get one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bishbashio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,445
    927
    237
    58
    30
See reviews for
647
1,181
102
309
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (891)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Upon arriving in Hong Kong we had a terrible misfortune of our luggage being lost, and no promise from the airline as to when or how it would arrive. After a tiresome travel, this was the last thing we wanted to deal with on our vacation. Luckily for us, upon checking into this hotel, and explaining our situation to the clerk, they immediately took care of everything. They hunted down our luggage, sent up slippers and toiletries to try and make us more comftorable, and schedule some activities for us the next day. Even when it was raining, the concierge provided us with an umbrella, revised our intneriary for the day, and sent us on our way happily.

The hotel itself is beautiful, the rooms are especially clean and the bathrooms are big. I would definately recommend getting the room with the view, as it was incredible way to see the harbor.

In our opinion the location was perfect for us, especially with the hotel offering a free shuttle to downtown every thirty minutes. It was very easy to get around, and the staff was very helpful!

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Hong Kong.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Carrie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGKLN, Manager at Harbour Grand Kowloon, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Dear Guest, It is such a headache losing luggage - glad that it was sorted out in the end. We are firm believers that travel mishaps should not ruin your stay or holiday! Happy to hear that we were able to help and glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, England
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012 via mobile

Can't fault this hotel. staff very efficient & friendly. Large, clean bedrooms with amazing view over the harbour, big bathrooms with both bath & separate walk in shower. Big breakfast buffet. It is out of down town Kowloon, but free shuttle bus runs frequently to various stops in Kowreview stayed for 3 nights & would definitely stay again. Lovely pool on roof with great views, & good leisure facilities.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank holidaycheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGKLN, Manager at Harbour Grand Kowloon, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Dear Guest, We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to leave your review. Looking forward to your next visit. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markyate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stayed 2 nights on the way to Australia and had been booked in by Air New Zealand at a very good rate. That may have been because the pool was closed and some works going on at the time we were there. It didn't interfere with us at all.

The position is superb and the views from our harbour-front room were just unbeatable. It's situated a little way off downtown but they have a free and regular shuttle bus which worked well.

Our room was very 5 star, large and well appointed, spotlessly clean and a real pleasure to experience.

The lobby is a bit like an airport, big and bustling, but it all seemed to work OK. They have a large, buffet style restaurant off the lobby which helps to make it all seem very frenetic.

They have a pretty good bar (try happy hour!) on the waterside just outside of the main building.

They have 4 restaurants, two of which we tried. Normally we would never eat at the hotel but we were tired and it was much easier to do that. It's good that they have a good choice so you can decide to eat there if you want to. I've reviewed the restaurants separately.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank SirTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGKLN, Manager at Harbour Grand Kowloon, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for recommending us. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and also chose to dine with us. Hope you had a lovely holiday in Australia and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Excellent service, immaculate room and top staff with impeccable manors.

Highly recommend this hotel for a luxury stay.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kittyketreid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGKLN, Manager at Harbour Grand Kowloon, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely review! Looking forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Fortress Hill
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
#58 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,019 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#29 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,420 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#4 of 712 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong at Langham Place
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#11 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,289 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Royal Garden
The Royal Garden
#44 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Grand Kowloon? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Grand Kowloon

Property: Harbour Grand Kowloon
Address: No. 20 Tak Fung Street, Whampoa Garden, Hunghom, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Hung Hom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#21 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#33 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#43 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#46 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,928 - ₹ 17,105
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Harbour Grand Kowloon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 555
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour Grand Kowloon is a deluxe five-star hotel situated on the Victoria Harbour waterfront and in the heart of the vibrant Whampoa Shopping district with over 300 local shops. The Hotel is just a few steps from MTR Whampoa Station, Exit D2 (scheduled to open on October 23, 2016) travelling to major tourist destinations such as Temple Street at Jordan and Ladies Market at Mong Kok, and eight minutes away from the bustling Tsimshatsui by Hotel shuttle bus available every 20 minutes. The ferry to North point is just footsteps away where all local attractions and entertainment on Hong Kong Island are within reach. With most of the hotel’s public area enjoying the spectacular harbour views, hotel features 555 beautifully appointed rooms and suites, six restaurants, certified Halal food available (advance order is required), a rooftop glass-framed swimming pool, a deluxe fitness centre with fully equipped gym facilities available 24 hours daily; sauna, steam bath and spa services are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Harbour Grand Kowloon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Grand Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong
Harbour Plaza Hong Kong
Hong Kong Harbour Plaza
Harbour Plaza Hotel Hong Kong
Harbour Grand Kowloon Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing