We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ever so Posh - the SHANG - a Majestic Lady”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong
Ranked #13 of 724 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Ever so posh, everything is so muted! Colours, service, rooms and the warmth of the hospitality. Everyone walks around with a hushed look. But that's not to say it is not nice - just that I can't see anyone with kids feeling comnfortable here. Unless your kids are angelic and behave - very well!!

The hotel is very well supported by different restaurants and small spots for the evening drink as well as for high tea. One is spoilt for choice and needs a lot of time and many days there to actually experience the different outets. but personally I found only the Chinese restaurant and the side cafe for afternoon tea good for the food. Breakfast is an expensive affair and while it has an amazing variety of food, the quality is not exactly the same for the different offerings. I noticed that the counters with the more exotic dishes from the region, such as Indian and Malaysian food, were not very well taken care of. The food was cold and some looked suspiciously like left overs! BUT in terms of Chinese food it really looked superb, served freshly cooked with loads of choices. Pastries and breads were also fairly decent.

One thing noticeable and commendable is the hotel's attempt to include details that would really help Muslims - the use of pork and / or pork byproducts in dishes is carefully noted in the menu and in the details on the counters where the dishes are laid out. In addition, there were notes about the level of spiciness in the relevant dishes in the menu.

Food apart, the one big plus about the hotel is its location. It is connected to a big shopping area. And the hotel is very good about advertising the easiest way to the shopping complex. Just take the elevator down and you enter an enormous shopping area with all the branded goods - not the cheap shopping that Hong Kong is so famous for. It is an interesting place to visit though with an interesting variety of eateries.

As for Hong Kong itself, the haze or the pollution is really getting worse and i for one, would never visit with children for a hoilday. Besides the fact that it is so 'crowded' everywhere, it is not the kind of place where you enjoy walks, as you would say in Singapore. It is smoky and you feel almost claustrophobic with the buldings so tightly packed.

















That was why after a few hours out, returning to the Shangri-La was like returning to a private and heavenly haven!!

Room Tip: No Sure _ every view shouldbe good because it is set so high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Habibah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,066)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,306 - 1,310 of 2,066 reviews

Reviewed 29 February 2012

We stayed in this beautiful hotel for 3 nights,Having breakfast in Cafe Too is our best experience in this hotel. The room is large and the service is great!

Room Tip: Take free H1 line hotel shuttle bus from train station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DDS.LO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I stayed for a week last May and was thrilled with my stay. I had a fabulous room overlooking Victoria Harbour. I arrived in my room to find green tea and fresh fruit waiting for me which was great having just landed after a 12 hour flight.

One of the brilliant quirks of the hotel is that the elevator carpets are changed daily to show the day of the week. A great idea if you are jetlagged and unsure of the day.

The location is great and the hotel is situated right above Pacific Place shopping mall and Admiralty MTR station.

Complimentary wifi internet access which was a welcome plus.

Check out was quick and painless. I had a late night flight and I was offered the use of the hotel's spa to shower and freshen up. Just what I needed after a day of sightseeing before flying home.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shoppinginheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Just stayed in both Peninsular and then the Island Shangri-La Hotel over a two week period. For comparison sake, I did have the highest grade room that was not a suite here. In short, this is the most luxurious, lavish, relaxing, etc. hotel in which I have ever stayed. Each morning they have a complimentary full menu breakfast in the Michelin one star restaurant. From 6 to 8 PM every night, the top floor lounge has full sevice bar, heavy hors d'oeuvres, and floor to ceiling views of Hong Kong Harbor. The hotel room was very large with a floor to ceiling views of the harbor and every convenience you could think of in the spacious room. The bathroom was also huge, fit with luxurious fixture, and room for 6 people. The restaurants, lounges, and shops are 5 star. Beneath the hotel is Pacific Place Mall that contains any top quality shop you could imagine as well as many outstanding restaurants. I can not imagine any hotel in the world that could top this one in any category. My room would have been easily $4000 in New York yet, though not inexpensive, was a fraction of that amount. I will definitely stay here again and just visit the Peninsular for high tea.

Location is great also with a subway stop beneath the mall and just a short walk to all the attractions in Central.

Room Tip: Harbor view in Horizon club level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jud C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

The hotel is conveniently situated above Pacific Place. ALL the lobby staffs were very helpful and they were always ready to assist you in any way. I reached the hotel very early (around 830am) and they told me that they do not have the specific room that was being reserved, but they will make changes to ensure I get the same service. I was asked if that arrangement was alright before they proceed with the changes. I was guided to the room and the bell boy went around the room, showing me where the remotes were, which direction to turn the taps for hot water etc. 5 minutes later, another lady came along and told me that she is serving my welcome tea. Amazing services.

Breakfast is a little pricey but the spread of food is AMAZING. I never get bored with the food spread and the food are very very fresh. You can be assured that you pay for quality food. The services are also fantastic! It appears that every single one of them have a super computer memory. They were able to remembered who was my breakfast companion (my colleague) & showed me to the table immediately on the second day. The bellboy who helped us to get taxis remembers where I wanted to go and confirmed with me with a smile. Its amazing.

The last one is something trival, but they do change their carpet in the lifts everyday! Why do I know? The carpet is embroided with each day of the week!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chrisqz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
#15 of 724 in Hong Kong
2,790 reviews
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 724 in Hong Kong
2,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Admiralty
Conrad Hong Kong
Conrad Hong Kong
#20 of 724 in Hong Kong
3,339 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Peninsula Hong Kong
The Peninsula Hong Kong
#11 of 724 in Hong Kong
1,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Shangri-La Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Address: Supreme Court Road, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: ₹ 21,950 - ₹ 42,983 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Island Shangri-La Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 565
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong is a welcoming luxury hotel in the heart of the city. It soars 56 floors above Hong Kong's most prestigious shopping, cultural and business addresses, with memorable views of the Peak and Victoria Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Island Shangri-La Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Shangri La Hotel
Hotel Island Shangri La
Shangri La Hotel Hong Kong
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing