We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Excelsior, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Tianjin Hotel(Hong Kong)
View Hotel
Hong Kong Hostel(Hong Kong)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Studios HK(Hong Kong)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Chung Kiu Inn(Hong Kong)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,719)
Filter reviews
2,720 results
Traveller rating
977
1,236
408
68
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
977
1,236
408
68
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdickens barcauseway bayworld trademandarin oriental groupegg tartsharbour viewrooftop barvictoria parkexcellent locationbit datedexecutive floortimes squarebusiness tripbusiness hotelshopping areatop floormtr station
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,629 - 1,634 of 2,720 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2012

This is a humming hotel in that is is always busy....lots of airline crews use it too as well as tour groups. The better rooms are really very practical and useful... do try and get some view of the harbour if you can. Staff are responsive and helpful and being part of the Mandarin Oriental hotel group, helps the service standards dramatically. Service levels are generally high in Hong Kong and they certainly are among the top niche for their level and price range.
It seems prices for all food outlets has gone up but they are all good places...Totts the roof top bar does a delightful Sunday Brunch- don't rush it.
My only moan is related to internet charges... one can sit in a cafe and buy a cup of tea or coffee and get free internet but not in the hotel.

Room Tip: Harbour view, if you can but they tend to be more expensive, but even a side view harbour room is worth the extra.... spectacular vista....
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill35dg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We spent four nights for our summer vacation. I did my reservation via their web site one week before my arrival in Hong Kong, and we decide for a double room + extra bed for our child.
When we arrived, the girl at the reception suggested a better accommodation for an extra (ridicoulus extra!) at the top floor, with free access to the Executive Club (for our breakfast and light lunch). We were just entered in our beautiful room, when two housemaids came with extra pillows, hot tea and a gift for our boy! From our room, we could see the spectacular view of the Victoria Harbour!!!
The breakfast was fantastic and so were the dinner we had in two different inside restaurants. All the people was very friendly and helpful, giving us a lot of informations and advices, including the day trip to Macau (they prepared a packed lunch for our boy!!!).
We left an old T-Shirt in the room, and the day of our departure, I got an e-mail from the hotel, where they would send it back to Italy (!!!).
Furthermore, we got another email form the General Manager, who thank us for the appreciations we wrote in the survey we did. I strongly recommend this hotel!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FranciMilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

got a three day free stay in this hotel while attending FILMART hong kong film market .

i will give 5 stars for location .... 5 minutes from the underground metro transit that will take you anywhere incl. disneyland ( 50 percent cheaper than joining a tour by mtr ) SOGO the japanese dept store is a few steps away . there is a grocery at the basement of this store.
another big shopping mall is TIMES SQUARE .. A 20 minute walk. restaurants everywhere and most of them opened until midnight.
reception is nice.. concierge courteous nothing to complain staying at this hotel except the rooms.. its quite small compare to nearby Park Lane hotel . peak season could be expensive at this hotel. buffet at the hotel is reasonable but not spectacular.

take a cab to the peak tram and go up victoria peak...you can see the whole of hong kong. and some really good restaurants there

what to do in hong kong...for me shopping... the pollution is bad, streets are always crowded but i love the city , full of energy and vibrant

Room Tip: take the harbour view.. even a partial harbour view would be welcoming. for rooms facing nearby buildings... it s a sight to behold... you can actually see them watching tv, eating, and taking a bath.. no kidding... life is hong kong at its rawest
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Solotraveller888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Hong Kong hotels are not cheap so this was good value with a spacious room by Hong Kong standards. Comfortable beds and a view of the harbour although this was busy with diggers, cranes etc as they are reclaiming land near the old yacht club. We had a view of the noon day gun and were able to watch this being fired from the room. Sadly the weather was cloudy and cold so the views weren't as good as they might have been. Breakfast was expensive but as this hotel is next to a conference centre and linked to a shopping mall there are alternative places to go for a more casual breakfast. We were there two nights so did try the hotel breakfast one day as it was a wet Sunday - it was good if you have time to have a leisurely breakfast and don't mind paying the price.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VirgoQualitySeeker47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The Excelsior hotel is the most convenient place to stay if you want shopping, restaurant and everything. Although the hotel is quite old , the interior is kept quite well maintained.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank teenybears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews