We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“so-so ok hotel but good breakfast buffet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Excelsior, Hong Kong
Ranked #79 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“so-so ok hotel but good breakfast buffet”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

i just came back from 4 days stay at excelsior hotel with my wife and 2 kids last week. we had stayed at the executive club floor about 2 years ago and we had a pleasant experience then so i tried their room again this time. their room is still ok but i did not remember their bathroom looking so old and plain especially for an executive floor room. the housekeeping service is very good though and the buffet breakfast at the first floor was also very good. i liked their salmon, mushrooms, waffles, noodles and eggs. the buffet was not big but it had quality. the advantage of staying in excelsior hotel is that it is very near a MTR station, it also has many good chinese restaurants nearby e.g. East Lake, Tsui Wah, Tai Hing, restaurants on Windsor and Times Square. also there were 3 movie theaters nearby which i appreciate because i love to watch movies and SOGO dept. store, Windsor Center and Times Square for shopping.. overall, staying in excelsior is pretty ok except for the bathroom which i feel looks pretty bad this time and also i forgot to mention that there were loud bangings in the afternoons maybe because of some repairs in the next room..

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winston a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    836
    1,122
    366
    59
    27
See reviews for
431
483
164
969
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
80 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I stayed here for two nights over a weekend after a business trip into China so I could see Hong Kong and some relatives. The Excelsior is a Mandarin Oriental property but isn't quite up to a full Mandarin Oriental hotel. Nonetheless it is a nice hotel. It is certainly older but it is still a very good hotel. The room I had was a harbour view but on the corner so it was an odd shaped room. You can see by the hotel pictures it is a roundish hotel. The odd shaped room made the layout a bit odd but it is still useable. By Hong Kong standards it's a decent sized room.

Upon check in the staff was very good. I think that is one thing that is Mandarin Oriental level. The time we were there it was quite rainy so it was good to see that the hotel had many umbrellas in good working condition for the guests.

We were able to sample a few of the restaurants in the hotel due to the bad weather keeping us from straying too far away. Had a lunch buffet at the Dickens bar downstairs. Very good array of food and the place was packed at lunch.

Had dinner at their Italian restaurant Cammino. It was a bit over priced but the food was good. Had the spaghetti bolognaise. It was excellent.

Also had the breakfast buffet on their second floor that is open to the lobby and has views of the harbour. Good staff here again and a large array of food choices including a juice bar where you can choose the fruit you want mixed together and they juice it in front of you. It is not cheap but buffets at major hotels never are but this one was very good to go along with the cost.

As noted above, the location is excellent. It is attached to the World Trade Center shopping mall which has some unique stores in it. Check out UNIQLO for inexpensive interesting clothing. It is also just down the passage away from Sogo and many other stores. That also means it is also very close to the Causeway Bay MTR station. It is truly just steps away from the hotel doors.

We did get a very good rate so I think that would depend on how much you end up enjoying this hotel. In the end if I got a good rate again I would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank warmhappyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Most of these reviews are accurate. The rooms are tired-looking, but everything worked & was clean. Room size is adequate for 2 people w/luggage (especially for HK). In my mind, location is perfect, though it may not be perfect for everyone (judging by the complaints about crowds). Causeway Bay can be wall-to-wall on the weekend (sometimes during the week too) - fair warning. Taxi from Hong Kong Station (Airport Express) to Excelsior was HK$45 @ 23:00 on a Sunday night.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nijunihk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
323 reviews
297 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 495 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

I have been fortunate to stay here many times and have always had a good experience. The location of the hotel is great, right in the middle of Causeway Bay with great views of the harbour and Kowloon. The rooms are a little small and, as commented on in other reviews, a little dated but everything works, the beds are great and they contain every facility you could possibly need. There is a good choice of bars and restaurants. The gym is good and the service excellent. The only negative is the price of the in-room internet.
The Excelsior will always be one of my first choices when staying in Hong Kong.

Room Tip: Pick one with a view of the harbour. The higher the floor the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heb999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed in the Excelsior, for the third time, during the Hong Kong Sevens last month, and I have to say that our stay was excellent as always. We arrived late in the afternoon on the 22nd to book into three rooms. One of the rooms was ready but unfortunately two were not. This was to be expected due to the 7's being on and the hotel was undoubtably full. However, the staff could not have been more apologetic and moreso helpful. We were able to freshen up in the room that was available, and extra towels and amenities were immediatley sent to the room. The other two rooms were soon ready for occupation and all was well. We received a letter from the management team the next morning apologising for the issue which was a nice touch.

Another nice touch was the hotel prepared a packed breakfast for us on the Saturday and Sunday due to our very early departure to the Hong Kong Stadium. Nothiing was too much trouble throughout our stay and I cannot praise the hotel high enough.

Thank you very much to all and we look forward to our next visit, hopefully next year!!

Room Tip: Harbour View is a great option
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Park Lane Hong Kong, a Pullman Hotel
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Regal Hongkong Hotel
Regal Hongkong Hotel
#121 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Lanson Place Hotel
Lanson Place Hotel
#20 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Gloucester Hotel
Gloucester Hotel
#65 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Quarry Bay
EAST Hong Kong
EAST Hong Kong
#34 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Excelsior, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Excelsior, Hong Kong

Property: The Excelsior, Hong Kong
Address: No.281 Gloucester Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#43 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#53 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#61 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#72 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,666 - ₹ 20,560
Hotel Class:5 star — The Excelsior, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 884
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Causeway Bay, the shopping centre of Hong Kong Island, The Excelsior, Hong Kong is only a five-minute drive from the city's central business district and 40 minutes by MTR from Hong Kong International Airport. The hotel features five exclusive Executive Floors with a private lounge, a fully equipped business centre, a state-of-the-art Fitness Centre featuring advanced fitness equipment and dedicated spa facilities, as well as extensive meeting and banquet facilities. Every guestroom is equipped with a free smartphone with unlimited Internet access, complimentary local and international calls to five countries. Perfect for business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Excelsior, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Excelsior, Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Mandarin Oriental Hong Kong
Excelsior Hotel Hong Kong
Excelsior Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing