We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
WENDY WU - CITIES OF THE ORIENT

We went on an 18 day tour, which was fabulous. Our national guide was Jacky, who was absolutely... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
stevo009
,
Worthing, United Kingdom
Wonders of China, with Mercury

16 day tour, very fast paced at times, the first part was more relaxing Shanghai 2 days, then the... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
ronald g
,
Burnley, United Kingdom
Read all 64 reviews
  
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
40
12
3
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
12
3
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mercury holidays bullet train yangtze river cruise terracotta warriors optional excursions summer palace forbidden city our tour guide chinese food shanghai airport three gorges jade factory acrobatic show wendy wu nexus tours herbal medicine panda sanctuary
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

We went on an 18 day tour, which was fabulous. Our national guide was Jacky, who was absolutely superb. Our visit covered Beijing, Xian, Chengdu, Yangtze River, Shanghai and Hong Kong. We chose Wendy Wu as they included all the meals. I'm really glad we did, as we would have struggled on our own. The good thing about China, is that it hasn't been westernised. The downside is that there is very little english spoken and menu's are in Chinese. A brilliant trip though. Thank you Wendy Wu and Jacky

Thank stevo009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

16 day tour, very fast paced at times, the first part was more relaxing Shanghai 2 days, then the Yangtze river cruise for 3 days 4 nights.then on to Chengdu for the pandas and other tours that is when the pace stepped up, at times the tour bus could have dropped people nearer to the attraction, other buses did we seemed to have a route march every where we went,having said that we enjoyed everything we saw, more than could be said for the food at times,tables for eight people, a lot of veg and not much meat, at least two of the restaurants were really poor,and breakfast on the river ship was poor for western tourists,on a better note the hotels were very good, nice rooms and a decent breakfast,also our guides were excellent, thank you Alan and Richard our main guides plus the local guides.overall a great experience,just one thing more Mercury, China eastern airways are probably the worst airline we have ever flown with,dont expect to get a beer or wine after the first hour in the air,if you are lucky you may get one beer or a small red wine if you are one of the first to be served, no white wine or spirits at all, at the end of your holiday you have to fly from Beijing back to Shanghai for your flight home 2 hour flight 3 hours waiting at airport, then the plane fly's back towards Beijing for flight home, crazy waste of aviation fuel and time.

Thank ronald g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Four of us signed up with Travelzoo in Feb, 2018 to take the 9 day Nexus Holidays trip to China. We planned on taking the Yangtze River Cruise. The day after we sent in our money for that, they asked if we could delay our November trip by 5 days. This would take us over Thanksgiving, so we decided to go but cancel the River Cruise. In Oct (a month before we were supposed to leave) they asked if we could change our departure date again. We were coming from all over the country, leaving from Seattle and we had all incurred "change" charges already, so we said "No, not again" Lucky for us a full refund was given, but the disappointment was paramount

Thank Sunshine35351861101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My family of four have just come home from an 8 day Nexus China Classic Tour. The first thing I want to say, is that the package was approx $900 per head for "everything" - all flights, accom, bullet train trip, most meals, entry fees and tips. So when you see negative reviews, you need to consider that the reviewer has not paid for a luxurious trip. Overall, my family agreed that the tour, accom and guides etc were fine.

Flights - flew with China Southern, full service airline. We were unlucky, in that we had no individual TV screens, which was hard for our teenage kids. But we survived. The food was Ok, and good standard seat legroom (we are all around 6 feet tall).

Bullet train trip from Beijing to Shanghai was very pleasant, fun watching the fields go by at high speed. Tip: ask your guide if the group can go on the Maglev train when you get to Shanghai. It travels at over 430kph and is a 15 min round trip to the airport and back - a highlight for everyone.

Accomodation: the Beijing hotel was out in the middle of nowhere, but was comfortable. Many of our rooms had no airconditioning working. When we questioned this, we were fed a line about the govt not allowing aircon to operate in commercial if under 26 degrees celcius outside. This was clearly not true, as some rooms and the foyer were nice and cool. Anyway, we survived. The Shanghai Hotel was excellent, comfortable, modern, good aircon, clean, good sized rooms. The only gripe our group had was that it seems no staff at all speak any English. Can make things tough when you have questions. For an international 5 star hotel that has Aussie tour groups stay every week, you would expect a little English knowledge. This hotel was the Wyndham East Bund.

Breakfast in both hotels was quite good.

Food - first full day we were treated to Peking duck for lunch, which was amazing. Also a good array of other dishes. After that, all meals were pretty much the same. Perfectly edible however.

Sights - the Great Wall, Tianamin Square, Forbidden City were all amazing. In Shanghai, the Bund is a great experience, and the city itself is phenomenal. We were on our tour over the Chinese national holiday week. Even then though, we did not feel overrun by huge crowds.

As ap art of the tour, you are taken to places such as the a Chinese Medicine Centre, Jade Factory, and Silk Worm museum. Be prepared to be pestered hard at these venues, them wanting you to buy something. Of course you can if you want, but most of our group declined. This is part of why the tour is so inexpensive. The Chinese government partially funds the trip costs, and in turn you must visit these commercial outlets. Not a big deal.

Guides- we had the lovely Kathy for our entire tour, and Amy for Beijing.they were lovely, and extremely knowledgeable. We had a lot of fun with them. They have a tough gig, as it's hard to keep everyone happy all of the time. They also get hardly any time off, so they were great in keeping cheery and fun.

Optional tours - we did the Golden Mask show in Beijing, which was outstanding. Goes for about one hour. We also did the Bund evening cruise along the river in Shanghai. This was beautiful. There were other things like rickshaw rides and acrobatics shows that our family didn't opt for, but others did and seemed to enjoy. Be prepared though- if you opt to miss an "extra activity" you are often stuck in the middle of nowhere with only the bus driver as company. They do not just take you back to the hotel necessarily.

All in all, for the price it was a really good experience.

Thank freespirit889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018 via mobile

So disappointed. We booked through Luxury escapes Australia. They have refunded us the money we have paid to them. Sinorama contacted us and asked that we pay them for additional costs for flights from Perth also for two tours. After cancelling the holiday, Sinorama informed us two weeks ago that if we email them our bank details, which we did immediately, they would issue is with a full refund within two weeks. The refund was never issued. Sinorama have sent an email to us today saying that the NZ office have now has also gone into liquidation and we now have to attempt to claim the money back as a creditor. Although Luxury escapes issued us the amount paid to them I feel that they as the travel agent should be issuing refunds to customers for funds paid to Sinorama as they (luxury escapes) we're the company we booked through, not Sinorama. This will definitely put a lot of people, including us, of ever booking with Luxury escapes again. We are so dissapointed as the trip to China was a trip of a lifetime for us.

Thank sottogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018

Booked a China tour for March 2019. Advised by Liquidator that Sinorama NZ are now in Liquidation. The problem appears to be withy Sinorama Canada .
Currently looking at Credit card Chargeback.
If booked with Sinorama Suggest you follow up

Thank hd0nt0ur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018

We booked a 21 day tour of China including a 10 day Yangtze River cruise over 12 months before the advertised departure date in November 2018. The tour was promoted by Luxury Escapes in Australia. We began to get concerned when the tour, which was supposed to start in Beijing suddenly started in Shanghai and we were also advised that our allocated river cruise room was immediately below the disco on the Gold 8 cruise ship. Obviously we asked for this to be changed. We also noted that the name of one of our party was incorrectly spelled, something that would create havoc when we applied for a visa as it did not match a passport! We asked for this to be rectified and this only happened when Luxury Escapes intervened.
About six weeks out from the advertised departure date Sinorama emailed us to say the Gold 8 10 day cruise had now become a five day cruise and providing a new itinerary that was comical at best. For example it described one of the destination cities as being know as being at the intersection of many major freeways, Couldn't wait to see that!!!
One week later Sinorama emailed us to say the trip had been cancelled as many people had elected not to accept the amended itinerary. So all the planning, holiday
arrangements, complicated visa processes and the farcical currency inquiries were wasted.
We were aware that many of the so called 5 star hotels on the itinerary were very remote as friends had done the tour a year before but this certainly became a concern when the tour effctively became a second class road trip.

1  Thank DaveE1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018

Following short notice cancellation of my holiday and being informed on 22/08/2018 that I would be fully reimbursed now on the 07/09/2018 I am still waiting for this repayment when they have had full payment for my holiday since January of this year.

Thank tracy_field_1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

Nexus Holidays was great to work with. We wanted to decouple our flight from the tour package to arrange our own airfare to and from China, and the Nexus office in North York, Toronto was very accommodating. They were also very helpful in obtaining our visa for us as well, returning our passports with visa within 7 business days!!!

We flew in one day early and were able to work with our tour guide for the China Wonders tour who arranged a driver, and directed him to take us to the Lama Temple, Confucius Temple, and Beijing Zoo to see panda bears. This was a great intro to our tour of China.

Overall the tour was very well organized, and our guide Jing was very knowledgeable. Everything was very well planned and worked like clockwork, allowing us to see everything that was on our itinerary.

Be aware that your days will be long, being picked up at 8 a.m. and often being returned to your hotel around 9 p.m. However, there is much to see. The only other criticism I would have is that there is an itinerary to meet and complete, and even if that means you only have 20 minutes at the Summer Palace, you have been there.

Also, note that some days you will be walking 5-6 miles, with few spots to stop and rest. Also, there are many steps, so be careful when climbing and keep an eye on the ground as you are walking as little steps appear often.

The optional tours and entertainment shows were well worth their value in Beijing, Shanghai, Hangzhou and Xi'an. Especially the West Lake Show in Hangzhou, which was truly amazing.

The restaurants we ate at were all family style, with food pre-ordered and served up on large round lazy-susans in the middle of the table. Initially it was interesting and then it became repetitive.

I did empathize with the tour guides as we found out that they are often trying to accommodate multiple itineraries from different Nexus offices in different orders and occasionally different content.

Overall, the tours were amazing, and great value for the trip overall.

4  Thank LiveForTravel1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018

Our family joined the China Super Value Plus 10 days trip with UTO VACATION, the hotels were good and the tour guide was amazing! We enjoyed our China Vacation! Thank you, Brian, to introduce this wonderful trip for me!

Thank jay6152018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews