We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“great dim sum” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Island Tang - CLOSED

Island Tang
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Central
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
98 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“great dim sum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

Island Tang has a fantastic interior harking back to the colonial days of HK and Shanghai. We went for dim sum with a group of friends and had a great time. the food is of a high standard.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Raidian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    49
    17
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Go for the atmosphere, not for the food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012 via mobile

i went a few times for lunch and have tried different dishes. My overall comment is that the food is decent, but not to die for. So worth pay a visit, good for business lunch or taking visitors for an exotic experience.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
186 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Did I go to the wrong place?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

The interior of the restaurant was breathtakingly beautiful, and this is what I had expected. It was refined and understated. But one look at the clientele and I knew it was the wrong place- tourists, businessmen entertaining non Chinese clients made up at least 30% of the lunch crowd when I came.

OK, I knew it would be expensive, but for $400 HKD a head for lunch, I felt like I came out hungry (and we did not order anything expensive). The roast pork which they are famous for, was dry and lean. The pork belly you can get anywhere else in Hong Kong. Perhaps I should have ordered the peking duck but I got sticker shocked.

Every bite I took I knew was paying for the renovation. Next time I will go to Luk Yu for some true deco vibe.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Perfect! Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

We all fell in love with this restaurant the first time we dined here. We went back again bringing more friends!!
The deco reminds me the Shanghai restaurant in Ritz Carlton in Central (this hotel is no more there in Central but moved to ICC in Kowloon) but the cuisine is more Cantonese.
I do not eat pork but my friends all enjoyed the BBQ pork so very much. The most amazing is Peking duck. You definitely need to choose two courses of this dish because they offer two different preparation methods and both are just scrumptious!!
The Wok-fried Prawns with Mashed Ginger, Chili and Crispy Garlic is something you MUST have!! It was perfectly flavored and, again, everyone at the dinner loved this dish very much.
I seldom have dessert in the restaurant. But, I chose the taro and steamed milk and it was awesome!!
The service was impeccable and the staffs were very attentive to guests at each table. One more thing: usually, Chinese restaurants in Hong Kong are quite noisy. However, the reason why we enjoyed dining here so much is because of the quietness. This certainly helps a lot enjoying a great meal here!!
If you want to enjoy quality dinner with perfect service, this is the restaurant you definitely need to choose!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank margarita_red2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Exotic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

The peking duck is carve tableside, the service is attentive, prices are what you would expect at this caliber restaurant, and the wine selection is above average.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank SeaSkyMountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Island Tang also viewed

Hong Kong, China
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing