We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good location in Central.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bauhinia Hotel - Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Bauhinia Hotel - Central
Ranked #161 of 707 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good location in Central.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

It is a very new hotel located in a very convenient location in Central. The rooms are clean and well-kept and the cost per night is good. The staff were very helpful as well.

Just do not expect much from the complimentary breakfast since they do not have a restaurant in-house. It consists of coffee/tea, some cereals, some bread. Not to worry: there are a ton of restaurants, cafes & grocery stores once you step outside.

Clearly, this hotel is perfect for the business traveller or people who wish to be in a convenient location in Central.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MacSwinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    129
    26
    5
    4
See reviews for
40
64
27
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

Stayed at the Bauhinia Hotel Oct 11-16 2011. Really enjoyed this boutique hotel. It just opened in the summer and had amazing deals through Expedia. $US149 per night mid week. $US189 weekends. It was exceptionally clean, everything works (brand new hotel remember) and the staff were too new to be awful. The lobby is very plain (as expected in a 3 star), one elevator didn't work (ok because hotel is only 4 floors). They offered us a continental breakfast for one which was a bit odd because there was two of us. I guess they wanted us to pay for the other breakfast. We didn’t.

Free internet and very comfortable bed, assorted pillows of different firmness, bar fridge and lots of free bottled water delivered when you call the front desk. Hotel had a magnificent (sic) view of a department store across the street with no windows.

Front desk was very helpful. Hotel is located right next to a subway station and very close to train that goes to/from airport. Also very close to Soho restaurant and night club zone where food and fun are very reasonably priced and for sure there is something for everyone. A Starbucks is less than a block away from the hotel and the nearby 7-11 sells drinkable Australian wine.

My wife and I travel a lot and are used to various hotel standards. Hong Kong is known for sky high prices. This little gem has a super location, super price and was just a please to stay at.

We would definitely recommend this hotel to our friends and we will stay at the Bauhinia again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank skiboyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

We spent two nights at this hotel in Sept 2011 and I have to say, it was really, really fantastic value for money. The hotel is brand spanking new, very clean, tastefully decorated and feels very luxurious. They gave us a full size cot for our baby and let us check out as late as 4 pm (although technically they said we should leave by 2 pm) which was very handy given that our flight was at 8.30 pm. Staff were invariably friendly and helpful.

A few things to note - there is no restaurant or kitchen as far as I know but this is no biggie in central HK. The view from our room was of a highway - pretty awful but this is not unusual in HK. The air conditioning unit (which was wonderfully powerful) sent the cooled air right above the bed which made me uncomfortable at night. Air con really needs to be positioned elsewhere in the room.

All in all definitely a hotel to come back to if we ever return to HK.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nahfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level Contributor
167 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

The hotel is conveniently located right across the street from the Sheung Wan Station on the Island Line. This is one stop away from Central Station (where you are able to do a town check-in for your departure and then catch the airport express train to the airport).
The hotel is brand new so everything is in great condition. The rooms are clean, well apportioned and comes with free wifi. Its a great place to come back to after a day of sighseeing as the room is comfortable and everything works.
I read another review somewhere where the reviewer advised to exit the station from Exit 3 or 4. Beware - Hong Kong MTR station exits do not use numbers but alphabets. The right exit to get out of is either B or A2. A2 is the easier exit as the hotel is right across the street while exit B requires navigation amongst some confusing narrow streets.
The hotel itself sits along a row of other buildings so is not distinctive. The sign bearing the hotel's name faces the main road (this sign can be clearly seen from exit A2). However, the main door under the sign leads to a bank and not the hotel. The entrance to the hotel is on a narrow side street.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank finendandy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

stayed in bauhinia hotel -central..and did not want to leave the hotel anymore--so comfortable and rooms are clean and spacious...so close to the subway train, and lots of nice restaurants nearby! will definitely stay there everytime we are in hk!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanderlustsaggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
#89 of 707 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Sheung Wan
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Sheung Wan
Sohotel
Sohotel
#176 of 707 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central
The Pottinger Hong Kong
The Pottinger Hong Kong
#37 of 707 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#30 of 707 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Sheung Wan
Lan Kwai Fong Hotel
Lan Kwai Fong Hotel
#103 of 707 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bauhinia Hotel - Central? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bauhinia Hotel - Central

Property: The Bauhinia Hotel - Central
Address: No.119-121 Connaught Road, Central, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#109 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,758 - ₹ 17,271
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bauhinia Hotel - Central 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE BAUHINIA currently operates 4 boutique hotels and 2 serviced apartments in Hong Kong, Shenzhen and Guangzhou. Our THE BAUHINIA APARTMENTS - CENTARL and THE BAUHINIA APARTMENTS - SHENZHEN has been operating for a decade. With years of hospitality management experience, our first hotel THE BAUHINIA HOTEL - TSIM SHA TSUI opened in the vibrant Tsim Sha Tsui in 2010 featuring the stunning harbour view. THE BAUHINIA HOTEL - CENTRAL, with a modern boutique hotel concept, opened its doors in Central and contemporary modern designed in Guangzhou and Shenzhen in 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Bauhinia Hotel - Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bauhinia Hotel - Central Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing