We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Aberdeen Fishing Village
from US$ 40.20
More Info
from US$ 45.40
More Info
from US$ 663.20
More Info
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveller rating
41
66
56
20
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
66
56
20
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews floating restaurant sampan ride boats and yachts floating community light house local boat boat tour authentic hong kong wonderful tour hop on hop off bus take photos photo opportunities seafood take your time great place to visit nice view hk island
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 191 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I used to live in Hong Kong years ago and this village used to flourish. now it has shrunk down to about 1000 villagers and skyscrapers have taken over all around them....worth visiting before they are long gone! the old Hong kong - take a ride in one of the old fishing boats

Thank diadour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited the Aberdeen Fishing Village as part of a 1/2 day tour of Hong Kong. We opted to spend the $60 hkd for the sampan boat ride. The ride was fun and we got a closer look at the other boats. The sampan boats will be relocated in a few months so we did the ride while it was still available.

Thank 2torontotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

A quick trip here will give you a different flavor of Hong Kong Island. Away from all the skyscrapers you wander amid yachts and the floating restaurant. Nothing special but worth a foray.

Thank EC13091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018

We took a ride in a motorized sampan around this part of the harbor. It was interesting to see how many people are living in these boats. There is so much trash floating around in the dirty water. We did ride around the Jumbo Kingdom floating restaurant which is styled as an ancient Chinese temple. It serves Cantonese food, and after riding around the back of the restaurant, I would not suggest eating there. This is area interesting if you have the time and are looking for something to do. It is not worth more than an hour at most.

Thank LibbyH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018

Interesting idea to "show" / promote something non-existant - just as in the archeological sites, visitors need to use imagination, and read about what was there, and when :/
I happen to like boat rides, so I enjoyed the views from a bit lower perspective as usual in Hong Kong. The harbour looked quite different from marinas in the Mediterranean I am used to ;) Which again made the ride worthwhile.

Thank kmarko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2018 via mobile

Aberdeen Harbour is a cross between a rubbish dump, a car park for industrial fishing boats and a squatter camp.
The water is filthy, there’s even a sign advising people not to swim because the water is polluted. Most of the plastic rubbish comes from the local fishing industry, both off the boats and the fish market.
Sampan ride is a rip off, if you really want to go across the harbour there is a public ferry for as little as HKD 3 each way.

Thank MichaelL11832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018 via mobile

Overall not much to see on a boat trip here. People seem to go a bit overboard on seeing the big boat restaurant but the village itself is just a few boats. I was expecting a slightly longer boat ride and something a bit more. I can’t see the boat trips really lasting too much longer.

Thank MixMasterMoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018

For HK$60 per person, it wasn't bad value and it was nice to get some fresh cooler air off the water on the trip around the finshing village. Really nothing more at the time we visited, than a heap of old boats all moored, and obviously home to these traditional peoples. Similar in a way to "water village" that we visited once in Brunei.

Thank JRtrippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2018

It was like any other Asian village
But it was really appalling to see the dried skin of fish everywhere
Veggies and Vegans ----Stay put in ur bus when u have to visit this place as part of the day tour

2  Thank JagadeshL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

As a district, it is one of the quietest in Hong Kong
I guess its a nice place to live. Unless during working days or time boats arrive from fishing the place get a strong fish smell, this is my doubt.
As a fish market, they are opened mostly for brokers and big buyers
I expected the place to be crowded os restaurants serving fish. Instead, in the second floor of a market they have a hufe area, served by several bars. Not a nice nor clean place.

Thank 67ivans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews