We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Service”
Review of Hotel ICON

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel ICON
Ranked #5 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Overall I got everything I would expect from a hotel such as this. One thing that made my stay here extra pleasant though is the excellent service that the staff in this hotel provides. They are very helpful and accommodating to make sure that you are enjoying yourself. Other than that the rooms and other amenities isn't really extraordinary from any 5 star hotel. The location is also a bit far (a couple of blocks away from the city center/ MTR station.

What I liked:
1) Special lounge where you can freshen up and relax if you arrive too early for your check in or have to leave late after check out. You can even take a shower if you want. T
2) shuttle service that heads toward Harbor City, rather than walking to the MTR station you can simply board this. It's only one way though.
3) They have one of the largest vertical gardens in Asia which in my opinion is an attraction in itself. It provides a tranquil atmosphere to the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryuready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

5,543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,770
    633
    105
    17
    18
See reviews for
811
2,599
344
913
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,526)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Arriving early in the day the staff was very accommodating , setting us up immediately in a perfect room. We had requested a view - to watch the fireworks on July 1 - and boy did they come through. Up to the 27th floor with a panorama of the harbor and Hong Kong beyond. The room itself was beautiful, with a very sophisticated curved bathroom.
The fireworks were amazing, and to be able to sit by the window with our feet up devouring the contents of the complimentary minibar, made it that much better. After the fireworks were done I headed down to the 9th floor pool, it felt a little odd only because the dinner barbecue service was still going on( it was specially set for the fireworks ) and after the heat of the day it was actually quite a cool pool- temperature I mean
The day of check out also showed off the real effort they make to look after guests. Our flight was not until 8 , so after check out and wandering around Kowloon for the afternoon we were able to come back get a shower and change in the pool changing rooms - so nicely appointed. Multi head shower, all kinds of grooming products, and afterwards acces to the executive lounge for coffee, snacks and just some time to chill, before heading off to the airport.
Please give a reason to go back to HK to stay there again.

Room Tip: Get high enough up on the harbor side to get the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cypressday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Stayed here for one night on a stopover on the way back to Sydney from a business trip, and it was fabulous! The rooms are spectacular (I had a standard king with a harbour view on the 21st floor) with floor to ceiling windows and all the amenities, including an amazing shower. The service was lovely and the free mini-bar was a nice touch. While it's a little further away from the ferry wharf and Kowloon station than some of the other premium hotels, just over the road there was a great area of local restaurants where I had some fantastic meals. I will certainly return.

Room Tip: The harbour view was spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZ
Level Contributor
512 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We picked the hotel based upon the amazing TripAdvisor reviews and we were not disappointed. The room is a perfect modern base with all the amenities (and more) that you would expect but without the high prices and snooty attitude. The view from the rooms of the harbor is simply amazing so be sure to ask for a room on that side. We loved the separate shower and bath. A few tiny things could make it so much better: First, they need real coffee, not instant, in the rooms. Although the Illy coffee in the cafe is excellent, they don't open until 7 and that is late for someone recovering from jet lag. Second, there is an annoying whistle caused by the air conditioning that can seem deafening when you are trying to get back to sleep at 2:30! And we felt that the concierge could be much more pro-active in helping us find what we needed. As experienced trippers, we didn't need much help, but some alternative suggestions when our first choice was booked would have helped. All in all, a terrific base camp for your Hong Kong adventure.

Room Tip: Make sure you are on the harbor side. The light show at night is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BuffCrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Icon hotel was amazing – loved the outdoor pool with a view to Hong Kong – simply amazing!

Great location! The staff was very attentive they remembered my friend and his drink order as soon as he walked in! The lobby bar/restaurant was great - the food was good and well priced! Martinis were fab according to my friend!

This hotel is very focused on the customers enjoyment and it shows – lot’s of areas to relax and have a drink – they have one of the best areas where you can shower / relax while waiting to check in or for a late flight – for a city that has a lot of international travelers this was a great idea!

Rooms were very big for Hong Kong and stylish with all modern needs – ipod dock/ big flat screen – the free mini bar was cute!

Bathroom was amazing too and big!

Only let down with all the things they did right was one little blip was they had tea but no coffee in the rooms - Starbucks is right across the street so meltdown averted :) !

TIP: It rained quite abit while we were there but no problem the hotel pretty much faces the Science Museum and Hong Kong Museum of History!

Other places nearby we loved:
Hullett House – Had dinner there was amazing!
Afternoon Tea at Peninsula Hong Kong
Hong Kong Museum of Art

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoTravelgirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#12 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,521 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#13 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,819 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#15 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,189 reviews
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 719 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,127 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ICON? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ICON

Property: Hotel ICON
Address: No.17 Science Museum Road, Tsim Sha Tsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#4 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#4 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,255 - ₹ 28,238
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel ICON 4.5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel unlike any other. Welcome to a different world. Hotel ICON is a unique hotel designed by celebrated architects Terence Conran, Rocco Yim and William Lim. Breathtaking open public spaces, a striking vertical garden by Patrick Blanc, a grand sweeping staircase, innovative guest rooms and three vibrant dining spaces radiate contemporary style. We offer our guests traditional Asian hospitality, with all its courteous and attentive qualities – but in a refreshingly modern, stylish and international environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel ICON reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel ICON Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing