We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surreal roof top pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Ranked #2 of 725 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I am generally not a fan of high towers and we stayed here only to redeem our Starwood Points! With business hotels, I have learnt even brand names don't guarantee great service or a great experience- sometimes over-crowding leads to delayed/ poor housekeeping, rude staff, lousy room service and so on. The Ritz Carlton Hong Kong (at Kowloon), however, was superb.

The Management was strong and solved any issues promptly. We had been given 2 adjoining rooms as we travelled with our children and nanny, and the adjoining room was not a Twin Room as expected. We were told to wait 2 hours for the next available pair of King and Twin rooms to be available...which we were OK with, since we had not made our reservation requests clear from the start and could not fault the hotel for the oversight. After the 2 hours, the Management came up and personally over-saw our move to a complementary upgrade suite and adjoining twin room. It was a kind gesture we truly appreciated. Thereafter, we had no issues at all during our very pleasant stay. Room service was prompt, housekeeping was like clockwork and responded within 5 minutes for any requests, the children's room was specially set up with details like children's bath toys and soaps, robes/ slippers and so on.

The pool was an incredible experience, with a wall panel of beach front images and ceiling of lighted "sky", and outdoor hot tub. We literally sat in a cloud and dipped in the warm water. The view was not great because of the cloudy weather, but this cleared up the following day and we enjoyed vast views of the city before us. The only negative experience I can recall would be of a local mother bringing her child with her to the steam room (which was really a 2-seater room), and the child obviously was unable to sit still in the heat for more than 30 seconds at a go- she kept getting up to open the door, go out, return etc and the room remained un-steamy to say the least...there seemed to be no governance over who or what age group was let into the facilities.

The only other few points I would raise perhaps would be that the Ozone Bar was mainly patronized by middle aged tourists, and we had our more fun and hip drinking time at the W Hotel next door. The door greeters could not remember us as guests even thought we trooped in and out for 4 days (we would occasionally get "Good Afternoon welcome back!" and more often "welcome to the Ritz Carlton"...which was disconcerting...at other hotels such as the Four Seasons, greeters would always remember who was a room guest and not, and even call us by name). The bed was not comfortable for me as it did not have individual springs and heaved each time my husband moved.

All in, we had a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Globaltattler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,361 - 2,365 of 3,294 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2012

The Ritz Carlton Kowloon is one of the Ritz’s newer properties. Following the trend of hotels like the St. Regis in Shenzhen, the Ritz towers 118 floors high, with its lobby being housed on the 103rd floor. Rooms are well-appointed and restaurants and bars are trendy if not a bit over-designed at times. While the hotel affords a nice relaxing stay, it’s not overly practical for the business traveler. The use of two separate elevator systems coupled with a location far from Central Hong Kong make the hotel a quirky option in which to do business, particularly given the variety of competition. What was most surprising was how poorly trained many of the lobby staff are. As one who remembers the old Ritz Carlton where service was impeccable, this Ritz seems to be more interested in populating the lobby with eye candy; pretty people who seem to panic when you ask them for advice and respond to you in a robotic manner. It became a running joke when one lobby attendant continually said “Welcome to the Ritz Carlton”, despite the fact that I had walked passed him six times that day. A nice property but it somehow lacks the sophisticated elegance of the old Hong Kong Ritz. Maybe with time it will find its soul.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank worldlyCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Stayed only three nights. Stunning Harbour and Island views from our room on 117th. floor. Immaculate service from staff in Club Lounge. The open air terrace part of the bar on the 118th. has to be on everyone's bucket list. The spa and pool on the 118th. floor have to be seen to be believed.

Room Tip: Harbour view rooms offer only views of Kowloon Harbour, not HK Harbour. Best views are from Island V...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emjayw1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Perhaps, the primary reason for booking this Hotel is the spectacular view. The view from my room on the 111th floor was spectacular ...almost like an aerial panorama! The service too is flawless and does not disappoint. The Club on the 116th floor is excellent. The only two down sides for me were (1) the two main restaurants - overpriced and not really in the same class but that is another story and (2) on cloudy day you can't see a thing from your room!

Room Tip: The club access is not much more and worth it. The breakfast is divine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Softlanding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

I am a Ritz-Carlton platinum hotel member (meaning I have stayed at least 75 nights at their hotels in the last year) and have stayed at many Ritz-Carltons. This one however absolutely tops the list and is nothing short of amazing!! Most people talk about the views (and they are stunning, and I have included 2 images from the 2 rooms we had), but for me, what made the hotel so incredible was the service.

We used the hotel to pick us up from the airport, and was picked up in an S class Mercedes and taken to the hotel (the Ritz-Carlton representative at the airport was amazing upon both our arrival and departure). Upon getting out of our car at the hotel, we were met by one of their wonderful staff members, Elisa, who was so welcoming, and took us straight to our room (no going through a front desk). She helped to see that many of our special needs (which was no easy task) were met. My friend who is not a Ritz-Carlton member received the same service. That was the beginning of being treated like royalty throughout our stay.

I highly recommend the club lounge. It is SO worth the extra money. The food there is incredible and the staff are unbelievably polished. Though there were many guest, the staff always referred to us by name. We felt like total VIP's, and the floor manager Hervé is heads and shoulders above any other I have seen in his position. He came and introduced himself, spent time getting to know us, helped us plan itineraries and was so friendly throughout our stay. When we changed rooms 1/2 way through our stay (just a few rooms down), he insisted on coming personally and helping us with our suitcases and making sure that all was okay. I could go on and on and name other staff members that made our stay so unbelievable. I have never seen a group of people try so hard to make sure we had a 10+ experience. Most places we vacation to is based on the location. There are a few places however where we will vacation to just to visit the hotel again. This is definitely one of those places and tops my list of the absolute best hotel in the world

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BradfordR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 725 in Hong Kong
6,071 reviews
Central
Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#12 of 725 in Hong Kong
4,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 725 in Hong Kong
2,321 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Peninsula Hong Kong
The Peninsula Hong Kong
#11 of 725 in Hong Kong
1,639 reviews
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong

Address: International Commerce Center, No.1 Austin Road West, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > West Kowloon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#3 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#3 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: ₹ 27,538 - ₹ 66,130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying floors 102 to 118 of the International Commerce Centre in Kowloon, The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong is the highest hotel in the world. The hotel's 312 guestrooms all offer spectacular city and harbour views. With six dining venues including the state-of-the-art Michelin-starred Italian restaurant, Tosca; two-star Michelin Chinese restaurant, Tin Lung Heen; The Lounge and Bar, which features an international all-day dining menu; and Cafe 103, which serves signature chocolate afternoon tea. The rooftop bar, Ozone, is truly a stunning venue at 490 meters above sea level. For those wishing to relax and indulge, The Ritz-Carlton Spa by ESPA located on the 116th floor features nine deluxe treatment rooms and two couple's suites, redefining the urban spa experience in the city and across Asia. The hotel features a fully equipped fitness center and an indoor pool on the 118th floor with a 28m x 7m LED screen on the ceiling, as well as one of the largest ballrooms in the city at 870sqm. Complemented by an additional four meeting rooms, the ballroom has become the major social venue for Hong Kong and has set the benchmark for events in the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing