We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Needs to find itself” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Ranked #2 of 708 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Needs to find itself”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

The Ritz Carlton Kowloon is one of the Ritz’s newer properties. Following the trend of hotels like the St. Regis in Shenzhen, the Ritz towers 118 floors high, with its lobby being housed on the 103rd floor. Rooms are well-appointed and restaurants and bars are trendy if not a bit over-designed at times. While the hotel affords a nice relaxing stay, it’s not overly practical for the business traveler. The use of two separate elevator systems coupled with a location far from Central Hong Kong make the hotel a quirky option in which to do business, particularly given the variety of competition. What was most surprising was how poorly trained many of the lobby staff are. As one who remembers the old Ritz Carlton where service was impeccable, this Ritz seems to be more interested in populating the lobby with eye candy; pretty people who seem to panic when you ask them for advice and respond to you in a robotic manner. It became a running joke when one lobby attendant continually said “Welcome to the Ritz Carlton”, despite the fact that I had walked passed him six times that day. A nice property but it somehow lacks the sophisticated elegance of the old Hong Kong Ritz. Maybe with time it will find its soul.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank worldlyCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,175
    252
    59
    19
    18
See reviews for
529
821
152
536
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (636)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Stayed only three nights. Stunning Harbour and Island views from our room on 117th. floor. Immaculate service from staff in Club Lounge. The open air terrace part of the bar on the 118th. has to be on everyone's bucket list. The spa and pool on the 118th. floor have to be seen to be believed.

Room Tip: Harbour view rooms offer only views of Kowloon Harbour, not HK Harbour. Best views are from Island V...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emjayw1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
350 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Perhaps, the primary reason for booking this Hotel is the spectacular view. The view from my room on the 111th floor was spectacular ...almost like an aerial panorama! The service too is flawless and does not disappoint. The Club on the 116th floor is excellent. The only two down sides for me were (1) the two main restaurants - overpriced and not really in the same class but that is another story and (2) on cloudy day you can't see a thing from your room!

Room Tip: The club access is not much more and worth it. The breakfast is divine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Softlanding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Canaan, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

I am a Ritz-Carlton platinum hotel member (meaning I have stayed at least 75 nights at their hotels in the last year) and have stayed at many Ritz-Carltons. This one however absolutely tops the list and is nothing short of amazing!! Most people talk about the views (and they are stunning, and I have included 2 images from the 2 rooms we had), but for me, what made the hotel so incredible was the service.

We used the hotel to pick us up from the airport, and was picked up in an S class Mercedes and taken to the hotel (the Ritz-Carlton representative at the airport was amazing upon both our arrival and departure). Upon getting out of our car at the hotel, we were met by one of their wonderful staff members, Elisa, who was so welcoming, and took us straight to our room (no going through a front desk). She helped to see that many of our special needs (which was no easy task) were met. My friend who is not a Ritz-Carlton member received the same service. That was the beginning of being treated like royalty throughout our stay.

I highly recommend the club lounge. It is SO worth the extra money. The food there is incredible and the staff are unbelievably polished. Though there were many guest, the staff always referred to us by name. We felt like total VIP's, and the floor manager Hervé is heads and shoulders above any other I have seen in his position. He came and introduced himself, spent time getting to know us, helped us plan itineraries and was so friendly throughout our stay. When we changed rooms 1/2 way through our stay (just a few rooms down), he insisted on coming personally and helping us with our suitcases and making sure that all was okay. I could go on and on and name other staff members that made our stay so unbelievable. I have never seen a group of people try so hard to make sure we had a 10+ experience. Most places we vacation to is based on the location. There are a few places however where we will vacation to just to visit the hotel again. This is definitely one of those places and tops my list of the absolute best hotel in the world

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BradfordR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Stayed there for 4 nights from 22-26 March 2012. Room on Level 115 with view of HK Island and pier. Stunning view no doubt. Although the hotel is pretty new, but the closet and coffee table are a bit tired, which is a bit surprising. Location wise is great because the Airport Express station is beneath the hotel. Very convenient. Airlines check-in is also available so a big plus point.

Only thing lacking is daily fresh fruits. For the rate they are charging, would expect them to serve fresh fruits everyday, but nope. Was a bit disappointed because my previous stayed in Conrad and Shangri-la had that little touch so expected Ritz to offer the same kind of little touches as well.

The staffs were friendly and helpful. Response time was quick when I requested for extra bottled water.

Would I stay in this hotel again? Unless there are no availability in Conrad and Shangri-la then I'll consider.

Would I recommend to my friends to stay? Yes, at least for 1 time in their lifetime.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silkysultry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#4 of 708 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,145 reviews
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 708 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,976 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#12 of 708 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Kowloon
W Hong Kong
W Hong Kong
#10 of 708 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,483 reviews
Central
Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Peninsula Hong Kong
The Peninsula Hong Kong
#9 of 708 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Address: International Commerce Center, No.1 Austin Road West, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > West Kowloon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#3 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#3 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price range (per night): ₹ 28,659 - ₹ 41,729
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying floors 102 to 118 of the International Commerce Centre in Kowloon, The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong is the highest hotel in the world. The hotel's 312 guestrooms all offer spectacular city and harbour views. With six dining venues including the state-of-the-art Michelin-starred Italian restaurant, Tosca; two-star Michelin Chinese restaurant, Tin Lung Heen; The Lounge and Bar, which features an international all-day dining menu; and Cafe 103, which serves signature chocolate afternoon tea. The rooftop bar, Ozone, is truly a stunning venue at 490 meters above sea level. For those wishing to relax and indulge, The Ritz-Carlton Spa by ESPA located on the 116th floor features nine deluxe treatment rooms and two couple's suites, redefining the urban spa experience in the city and across Asia. The hotel features a fully equipped fitness center and an indoor pool on the 118th floor with a 28m x 7m LED screen on the ceiling, as well as one of the largest ballrooms in the city at 870sqm. Complemented by an additional four meeting rooms, the ballroom has become the major social venue for Hong Kong and has set the benchmark for events in the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Prestigia so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing