We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a Pleasant Stay - Would Book Again”
Review of Pop Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pop Hotel
Ranked #257 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
InvisibleSoul
1 review
“Overall a Pleasant Stay - Would Book Again”
Reviewed 8 April 2011

- Stayed five nights
- Less than a five minute walk to the Mongkok MTR
- Less than a ten minute walk to Ladies Street
- Floors were sticky, but otherwise room was clean enough
- Wasn't as cramped as originally anticipated. Enough room on three sides of the bed for luggage.
- The few blocks in the immediate vicinity of the hotel is a little seedy, but we didn't have any issues walking around there even after midnight.
- Definitely not soundproof. Can hear neighbors, people in the hallway, and noise outside very easily.
- Free local calling was useful
- Wired Internet was good. Brought own wireless router for convenience.
- They can store some luggage near the lobby elevator if you don't have enough room
- Did not have any issues when it came time to getting the 200 HKD deposit back

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InvisibleSoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    46
    28
    10
    3
See reviews for
10
19
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights last week after reading the reviews at Tripadvisor. New and clean hotel in a super good location - 5 minutes to MTR, Lingram Shopping Centre and Nathan Road. Directly across Nathan Road is Ladies Market . . . which is about all I can appreciate about this hotel.

Service is non-exsistence, not even a smile from the lady at the counter even though I greeted good morning first every morning. Pillow too flat I asked for an extra pillow, the guys at the counter did not get back to me. Finally on the last day the elderly uncle at the counter directed me to where to get cab to airport in a friendly manner. Was given 2 complimentary bottle of water on the first day only.

As mentioned by one reviewer, the wall defnitely made of paper! In the afternoon I was unpacking while 'enjoying' a lively conversation between the housekeepers. At night my Thai tourist neighbours kept me awake in their conversation till 2am in the morning.

Although in a red-light district as mentioned by some reviewers, I did not see any 'beautiful gals' standing around, so shopping till wee hours was not an issue for single gals like me. Nearby no choice of food unless you walk to Nathan road.

Will be back to Hong Kong soon. Will I return to stay? Just for the price and location, I can find better choices elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nying-je
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2011

I wld recommend that one shld get a print out of the hotel map. Lucky we did or else the 5 mins walk frm the mtr may take longer than expected.

The hotel hav no restaurants, coffee house or whatsoever. But they provide free mineral water. Since it's near to langham shopping centre, you can just grab a bite
there. there's street hawkers all ard
as well.

4 adults stayed in the hotel only suite. It's a big room for hong kong standard. Equip w 2 televisions. Lucky we were small so 3 ladies squeeze in the queen bed & the guy sleep in the comfortable sofa bed. Not that bad afterall.

We stayed

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AinnieJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2010

Not advisable for children. The surrounding can be quite scary at night time. But those who want some authentic experience - this will be the one as you can see the true HKG morning wet market.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matsuSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2010

To set expectations - I am a local HK-nese who now lives in the USA, usually stay at Langham place if I travel with hubby due to family in the immediate area (mongkok). This time, try Pop Hotel to save some money as I am traveling solo.

POP Hotel
SIZE - yes is not a big as others but we are only talking about missing the areas are that one place that we lay our luggage down & the bathtub. Hotels in HK don't offer big rooms anyways, and this is definitely bigger than some Business hotels that I have stayed in Japan for solo travellers (and paid less at Pop). Had a room with 1 bed (is like 2 twin put together king), clean, new, has all that one needs - safe, tv, coffee, dresser. everything is very decent, other than I have to stand my luggage up by the wall the entire stay (which is not a problem for me).

Location - Great & Safe - get out of the hotel thru the "automatic door" then go to your left, walk straight 2 blocks (1 block is 1 min in HK) down "soy street" then turn left at either Shanghai st (that's the Langham mall down 2 blocks), or keep on soy for another 2 blocks till you see "Nathan Road" then turn left. those are the 2 most convenient MTRs stations with shopping along (i would say 5 min away from hotel). Others mentioned the brothels along, don't worry, no one bothers you on the street - they are just "signs" and no one "stands on the street" like in other countries. I have got back to the hotel as late as 2am, and there are still regular people on the street & mini bus station right outside of the hotel still in service (Mongkok is a busy place, many restaurants open 24 hours and shopping till midnight).

Quietness - agree that walls are thin, just hope u don't get the room right next to the elevator -elevator is loud (my room was almost at the end of the hallway so all I heard was door closing from "neighbors" when they take off or in the middle of 1 night, my neighbor coughed in her sleep. so that tells you, the location itself is quiet, no road noise (had the AC on the whole time, windows shut, curtains closed - no view at all anyways). I had no trouble falling asleep and staying asleep but I can imagine light sleepers might suffer (but they usually wear ear plugs anyways =) )

Cleanliness - Clean & Brand New Hotel, modern decor - no complaints there.

Value - paid $570HKD ($74 USD) each night (stayed 3 nights) in advance. Booked thru agent online , submit my request, the they confirmed availability and I paid.

Overall - Excellent Value for location & this brand new hotel. Would stay there again ~

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NayKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Hongkong MK Hotel
Hongkong MK Hotel
#453 of 718 in Hong Kong
409 reviews
Mong Kok
Sunny Day Hotel (Mongkok)
Sunny Day Hotel (Mongkok)
#229 of 718 in Hong Kong
118 reviews
Mong Kok
Harbour Hotel
Harbour Hotel
#478 of 718 in Hong Kong
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Mongkok
Mong Kok
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
#95 of 718 in Hong Kong
630 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Inn Hotel Hong Kong
Inn Hotel Hong Kong
#117 of 718 in Hong Kong
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pop Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pop Hotel

Property: Pop Hotel
Address: No.950 Canton Road, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Mong Kok
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #257 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,428 - ₹ 10,782
Hotel Class:3 star — Pop Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pop Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pop Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing