We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not worth the queue.”

Tim Ho Wan, the Dim-Sum Specialists
Ranked #72 of 8,546 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Mong Kok
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“not worth the queue.”
Reviewed 4 May 2012

the variety of food is not too much, though the food is good. i like the bun. but so it doesn't make sense to me to queue so long. ask for takeaway, and then find another place or sitting area to munch on the food. it tastes the same and save you alot of time to go around hk.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravellerPeter_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,036
    835
    327
    93
    78
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A totally engaging experience,”
Reviewed 3 May 2012 via mobile

Everything that could be said about this place has been said. It is a really interesting experience and one which should be had, its all about the food because the location, the proces of getting a table and the service are frankly a bit odd! Turn up at the door, get given a ticket, choose your food and then stand in the oppressive tricky heat that is Hong Kong for anything up to two hous at peak times. Once in the tiny dining room the food arrives served with tea (they don't sell anything else but there is a 7-11 across the street where you can get coke or a beer and bring it into the place). This part is a bit tedious but when the food arrives it is simply excellent, everything is produced to orer, the quality is great and the atmosphere is superb - you will be sitting with like-minded folks who all made the effort to play the game to get a table, everyone therefore shares the smug feeling of knowing it was all worth it. The best part is the bill, after 8 or 9 portions the bill was less than £7 per head ( yes £7 for a one star meal). What are you waiting for? Go there and join the lucky few who braved it all and ate at Tim Ho Wan.

Helpful?
1 Thank mikelawtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best meal in HK”
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Great food, very affordable.
Be ready for the really long wait. We waited for about 2 hours to eat lunch.
Given that, would go back again.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank JongLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice take on dim sum”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Even if you show up 30 minutes prior to opening, there will be a line. After eating, I'm not sure I'd wait very long like some people opt to, there are a ton of great options throughout HK.
Nevertheless, the dim sum is very good, very fresh, and as everyone knows it's the least expensive michelin-starred restaurant, so you if that's something you want to try- I suppose you can wait an hour to do it.

When you arrive, there will be a line and at some point, you will be greeted by a woman who must've been a drill sergeant in the HK army- tell her how many people in your party and a menu (so you can tick off what you want in advance) - be sure to nab a pencil from her unless you've got a pen on hand.

The dim sum itself is different- in a good way. I particularly liked the bao which were baked, with some sugar on top. A marked break from the usual steamed, pillowy, and not very sweat buns I'm accustomed to eating.

I'd go back again for the unique dim sum, despite the line, so I'm giving the place 5 stars. I liked the overall experience.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Cha Siu Bao!”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

I love pork buns and I’m fortunate to have great Chinese food and dim sum in San Francisco, CA. Hong Kong Lounge in the Richmond District of SF is my gold standard for pork buns. Tim Ho Wan now takes the cake! (or the bun in this case) Delicate, flaky, crisp lil buns filled with sweet, savory bits of pork. Worth the two hour wait, the rest of the dim sum on the menu was really good as well. A well deserved Michelin Star in my opinion.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank akabuddyrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Tim Ho Wan, the Dim-Sum Specialists? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing