We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place”
Review of Oi Suen Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Oi Suen Guesthouse
Ranked #261 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 19 May 2012

I stayed in a single room at Oi Suen for four nights. On the second day of my visit I came down with the flu and was absolutely miserable. The owner was so sweet and gentle. She walked with me to the doctor's office down the block, holding her umbrella over me. I am so grateful that I ended up at a place where I could get help in this sort of situation. That aside, fantastic location, great price, clean rooms, and lovely air conditioning.

Room Tip: It is true that the windowless single room is very small. If you have never been to Hong Kong and ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Elsa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    62
    37
    9
    11
See reviews for
27
27
37
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

This is my fourth time visiting Hong Kong and I've stayed at the Sincere House before so I prefer guesthouses in this location.

I booked through them weeks ahead specifying a room with a window which we agreed to reserve and pay for more. The day we arrived, we were told the room is not ready yet so we leave our things and set out to get some food. We were told to come back at 1pm and so we did. Then they were giving us this cramped "triple room" with no windows. Of course we refused, since we agreed on a room with a window. The lady in charge was getting mad at me for their mistake which was so wrong. She was telling me check in time was 2pm when the email they sent specifically states that check in time is 1pm, even the guy manning the booth told us to come back at 1pm. She even told me to just go to some other guest house which was SO RUDE but we've already paid when we arrived in the morning. This information would have been useful if she told me she couldn't accommodate us when we made reservations. If we weren't so tired from the journey, I wouldn't mind finding a room at Chungking Mansion. I was so mad and tired at the same time. I didn't expect 5 star accommodation from a guesthouse but I didn't expect them to be that rude either.

Long story short, they moved us to a different room on a different floor - room with a window. Then we transferred to their guesthouse after 2 nights. They were nice after that like nothing happened. Maybe this could have been a good review if they weren't very rude at the start. As they say, first impressions last. I noticed that they had a lot of Thai guests and maybe that's their niche. So, just be warned. Because of that, I would not recommend this hostel and I wouldn't come back. There are plenty of guesthouses in this building who wouldn't go ballistic on you because they messed up the reservations. I recommend the Dragon Hostel on the 7th floor. They were just fully booked at the time of my booking.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank funwithems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oisuen, General Manager at Oi Suen Guesthouse, responded to this review, 17 March 2016
Hi,

Our check in time was indeed at 1pm. However, when we get rather busy we tend to be a little behind in getting rooms ready. We sincerely apologise for this. We try our best to strive for perfection. We have learned from every experience and check in time is now 2pm!!
As you expressed your utter emergence and tiredness, I gave you a room for the time being so that you could get some rest. I had every intention to give you the exact room that you booked once you were ready. As you know once you were ready you were taken to your specified room and then we were happy that you was!!!
We welcome guests from all over the world, we do not discriminate!!
One world, one love!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

PH
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

It's my first time in Hongkong and I somewhat got culture - shocked. My mom explained to me that in Hongkong, every space is expensive-- meaning, the bigger space you have, the more you will pay. And since we're on a budget travel, when we saw this and the reviews about Oi Suen Guest House, we didn't hesitate to get it. When we get there, we really enjoyed it. Why?

a. Home-y. It truly feels like home. I feel comfortable with the room considering the fact that I'm claustrophobic. Everything you need for you to enjoy your stay, they have. Towels, soap gel (body gel), shampoo (hair gel), pillows, water, coffee, very fast internet connection (700kbps, my bro told me), thing is you have to bring your own laptop xDD I guess it's in the atmosphere created within the hostel :)

b. Convenient!! Not only it is accessible to places like Ladies' Market, Fa Yuen Street Market but also to Langham Place and Argyle Center! My mom and I could shop with ease and we could easily eat!!!

c. REALLY CHEAP AND AFFORDABLE! But of course, since it's really cheap and affordable, do not expect anything out of the ordinary.

d. Super adorable staff!! Rainbow is really nice and would assist you nicely with what you need, she also speaks english and understands the language. On the other hand, Sam (the guy -- her niece) can speak only little english but understands some of it. Well, at least he's trying unlike others who are rude.

There you have it! I hope you'd choose this place when you visit HK!

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Glenne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

This is the first time I stay in a HK hostel, it was good experience. Ellen and everyone is helpful and willing to serve. At this price point, I will rate Safety as first, Location as 2nd.

Though rooms are small at this category, I stay in Single room ... all the utilities work (aircon, heater, TV, fan, light).

Also, Oi Suen more than make up and scored excellently well in these 2 areas (Safety, Location). There are no touts below at the building at both exits. Location is good with many streets (Ladies, Sports good, food, etc) and good food (dim sum) and massage easily accessible.

They also offer discounted tickets to various popular locations and can get from them directly.
With friendly service, I will look forward to staying back again the next time.

A good budget hostel choice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank louis_Apr12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paderborn, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

I enjoyed my stay at OiSuen very much, it's located conveniently near the subway (and a lot of shops if you are interested in shopping) and felt very safe and clean. As everybody is saying Rainbow is really nice and very helpful and the non english speaking staff was nice as well.

It is located near a busy street so until 12 p.m. you can hear some noise but after that I had no problems sleeping (and I'm susceptible to sound). For first time HongKong visitors to avoid disappointments: The rooms are very small but from my experiences you will not find bigger rooms in that priece range.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jakob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Yesinn Hotel Yau Ma Tei
Yesinn Hotel Yau Ma Tei
#202 of 719 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Mong Kok
No photo provided
Jinhai Hotel
#256 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Loi Loi Guest House
Loi Loi Guest House
#295 of 719 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Sun Ying Hotel
Sun Ying Hotel
#220 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Mong Kok
Fortune Hotel
Fortune Hotel
#222 of 719 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Mong Kok
Johnson Hostel
Johnson Hostel
#355 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oi Suen Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oi Suen Guesthouse

Property: Oi Suen Guesthouse
Address: R811-812, 8/F Sincere House, No.83 Argyle Street, Mongkok, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Mong Kok
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #261 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,520 - ₹ 4,588
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oi Suen Guesthouse is located at Hong Kong shopping center, Mongkok.We are newly established,comfort,clean and tidy,providing free computer Internet access,WIFI,cool and hot water,towel and personal appliances etc.All railway and bus stations can be reached within 5 minutes which is convenience for you to travel,visit and stay with us. Mongkok is crowded for 24hours,so the eating,shopping……all are surroundings.Even Hong Kong People ourselves also tend to book a hostel for our relatives in Mongkok as it is too convenience!We believe that nothing is more important then communication. We are pleased to be a travel consultant and solve your doubt with email, msn, facebook for communication. We wish the relationship between us is friendship. Our staffs are friendly and keen to make a recommendation about shopping and eating for you.So, OiSuen Guesthouse is your best choice! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and HostelWorld so you can book your Oi Suen Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oi Suen Guesthouse Hotel Hong Kong
Oi Suen Guesthouse Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing