We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great Hong kong experience.”
Review of Hop Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hop Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great Hong kong experience.”
Reviewed 16 May 2012

I didn't realize accommodation in hong kong was so expensive. It is so crazy to find a hotel within budget, Luckily I discovered Hop Inn. It had a great feel to it, really trendy and new. My room was tiny, but I was absolutely fine with that, and to be honest, If you don't like small compacted places, do not go to Hong Kong. It was a great retreat from the chaos of the city below, the common room and outdoor courtyard were lovely places to relax and have some space. The staff were the most lovely people in the world, very helpful and cheerful.

You can also borrrow dvds for free, which I thought was a great idea, when some nights all you want to do is sleep and watch tv.

overall, the price was great, next time I go to Hong Kong, I will absolutely be staying at this place.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lordbrickwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    239
    51
    12
    9
See reviews for
65
137
106
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Stayed in Hop Inn Hankow for 5 nights in Apr/May 2012, traveled as couple.

There are pros and cons.

Pros:
Good location, 2 mins walk to tsim sha tsui MTR, very near to the shopping mall isquare.
Clean and modern decorated.
Staffs are very friendly and accommodating.
A few restaurants on the same row of road, easy to find food for supper as well.

Cons:
Super hard mattress, like sleeping on the wood, not good for the back.
Funky smells from the plumbing in toilet.
Very old air-con, a bit hard to control and a lot of noise.
Do not really have good sleep quality.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YenYean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012 via mobile

My sister and I stayed in Hop Inn - Carnarvon last Jan. And we both loved our stay there. Our reasons are cheaper than hotels but better quality than other inns, very clean (they changed our sheets and towels everyday), very near MTR (just 2 mins away!), very near with shopping places like walking distance with harbour, very helpful and accommodating staff, love the artsy rooms, very safe even when going home late, and we love the dessert place across hop inn! A must visit! Just down side small rooms but most of the rooms in HK are small though.

We will definitely stay here when we go back to HK!

Stayed January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Lianne Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

I stay here every time I go to Hong Kong. Great location, right at the heart of Tsim Sha Tsui, very near Nathan Road. Rooms are tiny but clean. Staff members are very accomodating.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyC0120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Hop Inn Hankow is great. Room and toilet are tiny but clean. We got the Landscape with Traveler's Palm room. Do close the toilet door at night. There were funky smells coming from the plumbing. Might bother you while you sleep. Bed was so so. Not so great for the back. It's also a bit small so only 2 Asians would fit.

Hostel is quite artsy/modern in design. Staff are also very nice and helpful. Oh and the location is very good. It's in the middle of everything. MTR is just a short walk away. Room rates are ok.

Overall, it's a great hostel. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Can't choose a room. The staff will place you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JongLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Butterfly on Prat
Butterfly on Prat
#50 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,813 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
#85 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,626 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Urban Pack
Urban Pack
#2 of 158 in Hong Kong
405 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Yesinn Causeway Bay
Yesinn Causeway Bay
#4 of 158 in Hong Kong
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hop Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hop Inn

Property: Hop Inn
Address: 9/F James S. Lee Mansion, 33-35 Carnarvon Road, | Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 158 Speciality Lodging in Hong Kong
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,741 - ₹ 6,514
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hop Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tripadvisor's CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE 2015 / 2013 / 2012 Tripadvisor's TRAVELER'S CHOICE 2013 WINNER - Top 20 Bargain Hotels in China Tripadvisor's TRAVELER'S CHOICE 2012 WINNER - TRENDIEST HOTEL Most Popular Hong Kong Hostel 2012 by Hostelworld Voted the No.1 HONG KONG HOSTEL 2012 / 2011 / 2010 By Hostelworld ~ Recommended hostel by Lonely Planet / Fodor’s / Petit Fute ~ Located in TST, each living space is unique – designed and transformed into living artwork by a different talented local artist or illustrator. Whether you are travelling with only one backpack or lugging along a couple of suitcases, we are pleased to offer you a comfy, modern and clean, yet affordable, living space while offering friendly and helpful service. HOP INN is more than just lodging -- HOP into a living art space! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hop Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hop Hotel Hong Kong
Hop Inn Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing