We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We have booked for Germany Hostel and paid for the money But the Staff here cheated Us and put us in the worst different hostel ” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Germany Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Germany Hostel
Ranked #100 of 158 Speciality Lodging in Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We have booked for Germany Hostel and paid for the money But the Staff here cheated Us and put us in the worst different hostel ”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

We are shocked with the services provided here at City Guest house. Block D,D3 & D7 & D8/ 7 Floor 36-44 Nathan Road, TST , Kowloon, Hong Kong . We had stayed here on 02/10/11 and checking out on 04/10/11. We checked out early in the morning at 0920 hrs and as confirmed with staff Raman regarding our another booking Germany hostel for checking in on 04/10/11 midnight time as we are leaving to shenzhen and coming back at midnight .We had made the payment and confirmed the Germany Hostel room to be given once we r back. Staff Raman had promised us to help us Park our 2 luggages in our Germany Hostel Room after checking in time 12noon. To Our Horror when we are back, our 2 luggages are still park outside the corridor. According to staff Raman that he forgot. When we ask for our Germany Hostel Room key, staff Raman and staff Amanda told Us Germany Hostel are fully Booked???? We had book the RoOm online 2 weeks ago and is all confirmed. I had paid all money in the morning 0930hrs and all written down black and white payment and what is call Fully booked??? Staff Raman and staff Amanda just give us the leftover room for us. This is consider a cheating Scam.. How could such things happened to a so call award wining hostel in Hong Kong???

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frieght
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    11
    12
    8
    13
See reviews for
3
8
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

Booked the hostel from their very own website www.germanyhostalhk.com form submition form. They replied with the price 20% more than what it is published on their website. I agree with it and send them my flight detail for the confirmation of the booking.

When i was there, they told me that i did not have any booking with them and they don't have room for me as that was a summer peak season where room are rare and expensive.

In the end, they throw me to a sister/brother hostel (australian hostel) Dom which they charge me 40% more then the published price.

Happily i stayed for the night and went out eaily that morning to the famous Shan Ding(the peak). When i came back i was thrown out from the dom. When i went back to them, they said the dom was occupied and offered another hostel room which is another 120% more from the price they published and whith the price i could get a hotel single bed room if i have booked from the internet earlier. Lucky i went back ealier to check my room and wanted to get freshen up, if not in the middle of the night and no accompandation i would be in deep trouble. And knowingly knew that sometime you have no choice but to take their offer, they try to play all kind of dirty tricks. There are a few hostel under the same roof but called the different name such as germany hostel,austrailian hostel,paris hostel,singh hostel etc. So beware......

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lonetraveller l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Seoul, South Korea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

had advised of my late arrival and paid the down payment. my room had been rented to someone else. they put me in another hostel, in bad condition, which was renting for less.. finally reimbursed me part of the difference. dirty, aunts in the bed. told me to leave if I was not happy: it was 1 am. I was calling the police and then they calmed down.
This is a place to avoid.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles29200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2011

.. yuck. The amenities at Germany Hostel--which appears to be same as Paris Guesthouse, City Guesthouse, Singh Guesthouse, Holiday Guesthouse (why so sketchy????)--are theoretically good compared with other hostel accommodations. You get AC, TV, wifi, en suite bath etc.

Yet, never at a hostel has my gag reflex been so sorely tested. My tiny room REEKED of curry and fish paste from the Indian and other restaurants downstairs in the cheap market that makes up the ground floor of Chung King Mansions. The toilet/hot water barely worked, sheets were dirty (upon request were changed for still-stained sheets), rooms were of course not serviced or cleaned even if staying for multiple nights, the room itself JUST fit the bed and the bathroom was the old Asia standard: a showerhead installed directly above the toilet. OK for a night, but all in all, just kinda gross.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2011

quite disappointed.

to start with, directions provided on the website weren't fabulous. the address states 6th floor but the direction asked for us to go to the 7th floor. it matters because the lifts goes to odd number floors and even number floors separately. we later found out that the reception itself is called 'paris guesthouse' and is on 7th floor, but our room is on 6th floor.

booked a private twin ensuite, room was super small. we're two fairly small sized asian girls and even we find ourselves quite crammed. toilet was beyond imaginable small, shower is on top of the toilet bowl and the space really only allow u to shower while sitting on the toilet bowl.

service was... horrible. we asked for a hair dryer on the first day, the guy said it'd come in 2mins but it never came. same goes with the 2nd day. the 3rd day we couldn't find towels and asked for it to be send up again. but it didn't come, i had to go to the reception myself. cleanliness was average too. our bin weren't cleaned out.

itz fairly cheap though, there's a lot of ppl downstairs at night trying to get u to buy things, can be somewhat dangerous. I probably wouldn't recommend ppl to go unless u're really short on money.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jayjaypan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Day and Night Hotel
Day and Night Hotel
#77 of 158 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Days Hotel
Days Hotel
#90 of 158 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Apple Hostel
Apple Hostel
#24 of 158 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kamal Deluxe
Kamal Deluxe
#98 of 158 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Shanghai Hostel HK
Shanghai Hostel HK
#114 of 245 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Super 7 Hostel
Super 7 Hostel
#61 of 158 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Germany Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Germany Hostel

Property: Germany Hostel
Address: Block D & E, Flat D8 & E2, 10th Floor, 40 Nathan Road, TST, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 158 Speciality Lodging in Hong Kong
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,310 - ₹ 5,371
Hotel Class:2 star — Germany Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Germany Hotel is conveniently located just a 2-minute walk from Ocean Terminal and Kowloon Park, and provides affordable accommodations with free Wi-Fi. It also features currency exchange and luggage storage services. The hostel is a 45-minute taxi ride from Hong Kong International Airport and a minute's walk from Tsim Sha Tsui MTR subway station. It is located a 5-minute walk from Victoria Harbour and Star Ferry Terminal. The rooms at Hostel Budget are air-conditioned and equipped with a flat-screen cable TV and a fridge. They all have a private bathroom with a hot shower. The hostel has free local calls. It also has a 24-hour front desk and a tour desk. The hostel provides laundry services and a shared pantry equipped with a microwave and tea/coffee-making facilities. Tsim Sha Tsui is a great choice for travelers interested in cold weather, shopping for makeup and fast food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Germany Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Germany Hotel Hong Kong
Germany Hostel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing