We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What can I say, it was great!”
Review of EAST Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
EAST Hong Kong
Ranked #33 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What can I say, it was great!”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

I booked my 5-day stay at EAST mainly because of the reviews and photos I read here in TripAdvisor, as well as a look at the hotel website... and I got what I was expecting!

The location is not in central Hong Kong, but is situated next to the Tai Koo subway line as well as a large shopping centre, CityPlaza, which has a busy food court, restaurants, cinemas, as well as branches of most of the major retail brands you will find across Hong Kong... there is even a large MUJI at street level which always has interesting stuff. My point is that you can stay at EAST and still have a comprehensive shopping and dining experience in the local area. In terms of safety it is a clean and safe neighbourhood.

The hotel design is very modern, which was great! The modern design sensibility of the lobby and public spaces is extended to the rooms, which are also very modern. It is true that the standard guest rooms adopt an open-plan attitude towards differentiating between the bedroom and the bathroom, but the materials and hardware used is top-notch, so I don't mind to use EAST's approach to room layout because it is so well-executed. I loved the rainshower, the extensive suite of electrical controls of manipulating room lights and blackout shades, large LCD tv with a great compliment of local and international channels, and comfy bed! I tried the in-room dining, and its true, keeping in the hotel's spirit of environmental sustainability, the in-room dining is delivered in biodegradable packaging and recyclable cutlery... one would think it would reduce the cost of room service, but apparently not...

What can I say about the staff... good enough. Yes, they are dressed in casual attire in the style popularized by Apple. But like any large hotel, you will find average service by average staff. Some of the staff were particularly nice and polite, others were not really any better than what I would expect in a 2 or 3 star establishment. But I didn't really care, because my hotel room was so good!

In short, you should stay at EAST if you are looking for a modern, well-appointed hotel to stay at. I enjoyed my stay very much and definitely would stay here again!

Room Tip: Standard rooms are great, so I don't see the need to pay more for 'upgraded' rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eastsidehirise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCheung, Manager at EAST Hong Kong, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Thank you very much for your comments. We are glad to learn that you have had an enjoyable stay and probably some good shopping nearby too.

We look forward to welcoming you back to EAST, Hong Kong.

Jennifer Cheung
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    581
    437
    68
    15
    10
See reviews for
87
244
107
530
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Being in the East of Hong Kong Island, this Hotel is a little "out of the way" in terms of serious shopping. But, it is a gem! A modern, young & vibrant, chic Hotel that has everything you will ever need. The Harbor view rooms are amazing and the whole experience was great. It is above the Tai Koo MTR, which is a long way east of anything, but there is a "secondary" shopping community here. From coffee shops to Label stores and even a "Western" supermaket for you all your imported goods. The Hotel staff were amazingly efficient and polite and the breakfast was an interesting mix of A La Carte (for hot food) and Buffet (for cold food) - certainly not your traditional hotel buffet breakfast but excellent all the same. I have stayed there twice and ready for the third visit. Excellent!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCheung, Manager at EAST Hong Kong, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Thank you for your review and we are glad to learn that you have had an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again at EAST, Hong Kong for the 3rd time.

Best regards

Jennifer Cheung
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

It was convenient for shopping and restaurants in the area. The rooms were quiet and comfortable. The view was good. The hotel was kid friendly, although kids can't go to the outside bar on the top of the hotel. The pool was big and well designed. Nice hotel for business in Quarry Bay and Tai Koo Shing, but the hotel isn't in the central business district. Overall, we would come back.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jazzyNYC_278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCheung, Manager at EAST Hong Kong, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Thank you for taking time to write to us. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you and your family back to EAST. To keep the children busy on your next visit, perhaps we can suggest a visit to Quarry Bay Park where there is a large playground and jogging trails. We are located 10 mins by foot from the park and our Guest Experience team would be happy to assist.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
226 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I spent a week at the hotel with my son (4.5 yrs old) and had a great time. The only observation (not a complaint!) is lack of a kids channel in the room. The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to be friendly to my son. The hotel is clean and well maintained, near all facilities and the distance to Central is doable and there's more to Hong Kong then Central. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matthijs K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauritius
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I am an hotelier in South Asia and I travel often for business. I decided to stay at EAST last week and I have to say it was the right choice. Although I dont like very much the area where it is located, the nearby MTR makes everything so easy and it is not a problem to be a bit far away from everything. Stunning views (ask for a high floor), rooms are very small but great.
Free Wifi (so rare and so important!) , very nice and helpful staff, I loved the Sugar bar on the last floor and lunch (buffet) at their restaurant was affordable and truly good.
Well done EAST ! I will be back ! Keep the rates as it is please!

Room Tip: High floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sai Wan
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
#62 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,660 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Park Lane Hong Kong, a Pullman Hotel
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
#29 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Excelsior, Hong Kong
The Excelsior, Hong Kong
#81 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,404 reviews
TUVE
#28 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#15 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to EAST Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EAST Hong Kong

Property: EAST Hong Kong
Address: 29 Taikoo Shing Road, Taikoo Shing, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Quarry Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#32 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#32 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#49 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,979 - ₹ 17,247
Hotel Class:4 star — EAST Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EAST is a lifestyle business hotel from Swire Hotels, designed primarily for savvy business travellers. The 345 rooms and suites offer harbour or urban views of Hong Kong. Complimentary broadband / WiFi internet throughout the hotel. EAST also features a 24-hour gym Beast (Body by EAST) and an outdoor swimming pool. Dining is highlighted by Feast (Food by EAST), the all-day dining restaurant and rooftop bar Sugar (Bar.Dec.Lounge) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your EAST Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing