We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of EAST Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
EAST Hong Kong
Ranked #33 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

I did have some doubts about booking this hotel for 4 nights as it is not central and it is a business hotel but we had no complaints at all. It is right next to the MTR station and using this makes it very quick and easy to get around the city. We bought an Octopus card and it cost us $HK100 (£8) for 4 days of use on the trains and on the busses.
The hotel is very modern and stylish. We were amazed by our room, a wall of glass so a great view; the bathroom also had glass walls so you need to be with someone you know well. The shower was great, very spacious and the toiletries of a high quality.
Breakfast was a real feast with a huge choice of hot and cold dishes but we mainly chose the continental buffet as it was so tasty. The dinner menu was also good and very reasonably priced with lovely food.
The staff were helpful and friendly and we manged to retain our room for an extra 9 hours, at the half-day rate, as our flight was at midnight. That gave us a whole extra day in the city. We'd thoroughly recommend this hotel and wish that the rest of the hotels we've stayed in had been as good. It was excellent value for money.
Only one tiny niggle - the Senseo coffee making machine in the room made awful coffee - or was it me?

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up to get great views. The harbour view was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret13Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    561
    427
    65
    14
    11
See reviews for
85
236
104
514
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
103 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Very nice hotel in the north part of HK.

Rooms are a little small, but very nice. Style is modern and sleek.

Loved the overhead shower.

Bed was very comfortable.

Staff is friendly and helpful.

Try the bar on the top floor. Great Views.

Room Tip: Get a harbor view, corner room on the 21st floor or higher. I sat and watched the lights come on in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 10RatsRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

The hotel is a little off the beaten track from the hub and sights of Hong Kong, but if you're willing to travel (and get a cheap price), it's not a bad place to stay.

The rooms are ok - but if you're staying on any floor lower than the 20th, you'll be looking into all your high-rise neighbours apartments, and they look STRAIGHT into yours! There is absolutely no privacy in the lower rooms.

Rooms higher up are nice, but watch-out as the hotel try to charge you more for these. They do offer them to some people for free though, so push your luck!

The services in the hotel are poor. No meeting rooms. The restaurant often gets fully booked early (even for hotel guests), and the bar doesn't open until 6pm.

But the rooftop bar is a nice place to hang out on an evening - though given the choice, you're better off heading into the heart of Hong Kong for a better (and cheaper) night out.

In short, it's clean and tidy - but nothing out of the ordinary. If you get a cheap deal (and a high up room) then it's worth staying this far out of Hong Kong's heartland.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up with Harbour views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelexpertdotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

My wife and I stayed at East for four nights in November 2011, at the beginning of a round the world holiday. We were attracted by the position in a quieter part of Hong Kong island, the ultra modern design, clean lines, light airy rooms, reasonable prices but mostly the high rating this hotel achieves in Trip Advisor (and other sites too!!).

It was an easy transit from Chek Lap Kok Airport via the city express train and then the subway (from Central) to Tai Koo on the western end of the island where the East Hotel is. The hotel is actually right beside the eastern entry to Tai Koo subway station which was sooo convenient!!

Unfortunately we arrived way too early to check in at about 10 am (the hotel was apparently fully booked) so we went off sightseeing for the day. When we returned at about 2:30 the room was ready and we moved in.

Shock! The room is really suitable for just one person! A king bed OK, but just a single chair to sit on and this is an office chair at the desk! The room is small by world traveller standards. There is no bathroom as such, just a partition across the room from which the shower and toilet open and both have glass doors. Absolutely no privacy. And a single bathrobe (message there!!). On request we were given a second bathrobe and another (kitchen) chair...

In fairness, on revisting both the Hotel's site and the reviews it became obvious that it was a hotel DESIGNED for single business travellers, it had been made quite clear and this was our oversight. Blinded by the light perhaps...

On the positive side, the place was scrupulously clean, the view over the western end of Hong Kong Harbour was to die for, the maid service was impeccable and the breakfast (inclusive in our tariff) was world class. Also, all the staff were most welcoming, courteous, helpful and, well, just professional.

So we do recommend a stay at East....alone!! And go in the winter when it's so easy and comfortable to get around without Hong Kong's notorious heat and humidity...

Room Tip: Pay the little extra for full harbour view and ask for a high level floor...mesmerizing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cornucopia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

I reserved a guest room during the Chinese New Year via Hotel.com.hk but unfortunately the travel agency mistakenly wrote an incorrect check-in date. When I came to the front desk at the Hotel, I was told that there were no booking under my name. However, the East team were very patient and helped seek out the problem for me.

I think in terms of hardware, East Hong Kong is as good as the other five to six-star hotels in town. But in terms of software, I believe the service quality of your team is excellent. From the perspective of a guest, this is the only reason to re-visit.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hnkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
#28 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Sai Wan
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
#65 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,608 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Park Lane Hong Kong, a Pullman Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TUVE
#22 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Excelsior, Hong Kong
The Excelsior, Hong Kong
#79 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,308 reviews
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong
#12 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to EAST Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EAST Hong Kong

Property: EAST Hong Kong
Address: 29 Taikoo Shing Road, Taikoo Shing, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Quarry Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#32 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#32 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#49 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,939 - ₹ 19,783
Hotel Class:4 star — EAST Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EAST is a lifestyle business hotel from Swire Hotels, designed primarily for savvy business travellers. The 345 rooms and suites offer harbour or urban views of Hong Kong. Complimentary broadband / WiFi internet throughout the hotel. EAST also features a 24-hour gym Beast (Body by EAST) and an outdoor swimming pool. Dining is highlighted by Feast (Food by EAST), the all-day dining restaurant and rooftop bar Sugar (Bar.Dec.Lounge) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your EAST Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing