We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Butterfly On Morrison
Ranked #80 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Causeway Bay in Hong Kong is a very expensive area. I really wanted to stay in Causeway Bay, but didn't want to pay $200+ per night for a room. Hoping to find something nice and cheaper I read reviews for Butterfly on Morrison and went with this hotel. (120/night)

What a mistake.

Walking into the room you will notice how tiny it is. I stayed there with my mom and there was not enough space for 2 tiny women and 2 luggages. 1 regular sized luggage already takes up 80% of the walking space.

The foot of the bed was at the window. Literally at the window. My mom had to crawl over me every time she got up. Comfort of the bed was acceptable, not the best, but I've had much worse. You can feel the springs though.

The bathroom was the absolute worse. The shower is so small that if you turn full circle, you'll hit a wall and definitely hit the tray to hold your shampoo. I knocked over the shampoo 5 times in 15 minutes before I gave up and left the shampoo in the corner of the floor. There is very little space for your toiletries and there are no power outlets in the bathroom.

Under closer inspection, the rooms are not clean. The walls have dirt and god-knows-what plastered on it. The carpets look like they hadn't been vacuumed in a while. It's disgusting.

The wifi cuts out after 5 mins of being idle. You have to go back and login every single time which becomes annoying quickly.

The hotel is located on a block full of lighting store. But thankfully, times square, a fruit market, and the MTR are very closeby.

For $120/night, you'd expect much more. Given that space is very limited in HK, I guess that explains the size. But for the cleanliness, it's unacceptable.

I say... Fork over the extra money for a nice hotel if you're going to stay in Causeway Bay. You won't regret it. You'll get the much needed space and cleanliness. If I could have gone back, I would have spent the extra money. At least then I would have felt like it was well spent.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jswong22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    464
    670
    178
    21
    13
See reviews for
188
400
156
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

My SO and I stayed in Morrison Executive Room on the highest floor with paranomic view of Happy Vally Racecourse, 2 nights stay. Terrific and pleasant. Bed was super comfortable and the room is simply beautiful.

Did not have much interaction with the staff as their reception is situated on Level 3 or 4. Hence, would not need to go pass the reception when we go out.

Location wise, it's still quite a walk to Times Square, about 8 mins walk. Nearby, there are nice eateries, especially the one that sells takeaway sushi, yummy! Transportation can be tricky as the walk to the nearest MTR station need about 10 mins. There is a busstop just in front of the hotel, but not much choices.

Even it may not be that convenient, would still recommend the hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cashewnutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I am the Marketing Manager of DISINI Luxury Spa Villas Bali and traveled to Hong Kong and stayed for 3 nights at Butterfly On Morrison... very short vacation. what i found at the moment was unexpected hotel, when i enter the room yes it small, but it really clean.but i was taken the package include wi fii in the room which so much help for me. the most i satisfied about this hotel is the helpful staff, he (maybe Steven the name) was not only show me direction to go, but give some advice where to go. so my first experience for Hong kong so Amazing due i am traveling with my love... just wanna say thanks to Steven for show me how to get to Macau....

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alfie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

After some research I decided to book this hotel for my business trip. It's conveniently located near to the Wan Chai area, and a short taxi drive from the Central area if you arrive by airport express.

The hotel has a very friendly check in - and when I checked in late, I got offered a complimentary upgrade to the suite on the 28th floor. Normally extra costs would be 55SGD.

The room is small - but has *stunning* views on the racecourse. Internet and TV works perfectly. It has ipod docks and all lights can be regulated from your bed. The showers are hot and comfy.

Two areas for improvement: More plugs for charging stations needed. And I couldn't empty the washing basin(?!) after using. Probably my fault.

Did't use the breakfast - also not sure if there was a breakfast area.

Definitely commendable for business or leasure.

Room Tip: get the upgrade to the 28th floor suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bertjanvanessen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Stayed in Butterfly Hotel for 3 nights recently and loved it so much. Beds, pillows, furnishing and bathroom - all good.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZoeMoe8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tin Hau
Butterfly on Victoria
Butterfly on Victoria
#65 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Hollywood
Butterfly on Hollywood
#93 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Waterfront
Butterfly on Waterfront
#81 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Butterfly on Prat
Butterfly on Prat
#51 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,714 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Pennington by Rhombus
Hotel Pennington by Rhombus
#69 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butterfly On Morrison? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly On Morrison

Property: Butterfly On Morrison
Address: No.39 Morrison Hill Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#46 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#50 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#63 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,731 - ₹ 11,600
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Butterfly On Morrison 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining contemporary comfort with a classy dose of European pizzazz, Butterfly on Morrison cannot enjoy a better location than where it is at Causeway Bay. That means 5 minutes away from the heart of shopper's Hong Kong (think Times Square, Sogo and the brand new Hysan Place); 5 minutes from the high-octane actions of the Happy Valley racetrack and the Hong Kong stadium; 10 minutes from the nightlife and heritage cool of Wan Chai and the same number of minutes from the chic and quirks of Star Street Precinct. In short, everything that makes Hong Kong buzz and hum with energy is right outside. Inside, 98 guest rooms are filled to the brim with sophisticated amenities, offering every comfort for both work and play, including a free smartphone offering unlimited local calls and 3G data, Wi-Fi tethering, a city guide as well as all sorts of interesting info and features. However busy the night gets, the hotel will be your refuge. So when you're tired from a day of non-stop shopping, Rugby Sevens watching or nightlife exploring, return to us, relax and lounge. Our 24-hour front desk and 'Local Ambassadors' have got you covered. How well connected are we? - 6-minute walk to Causeway Bay MTR. - 15-minute taxi ride to the Airport Express Hong Kong Station for direct train connection to Hong Kong International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotel.de, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Butterfly On Morrison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butterfly On Morrison Hotel Hong Kong
Butterfly On Morrison Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing