We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Urban Oasis!”
Review of The Upper House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Upper House
Ranked #1 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Troy, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Urban Oasis!”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

This hotel really wows me, truly extraordinary!

It's conveniently located in Place Place complex in Admiralty, the heart of happenings and close to everything...but the hotel itself feels like a sanctuary: contemporary, clean, zen and refreshing.

The room is spacious, features minimalist design enhanced with key abstract decors. It has stunning views of the lush mountains and the harbor. Same for the bathroom, which is open and has a sleek, cozy standalone tub, separate shower area, and a mirror with TV embedded.

Complimentary non-alcoholic drinks and snacks (almonds, chocolates, mints, etc.) in the room replenished daily.

Stay at this hotel makes me feel relaxed and recharged - it's a real urban oasis that keeps you calm and away from the chaos.

Highly recommended for both business and leisure.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Knapweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcel T, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We are happy to know that you were “wowed” by “our house”.
We hope to see you hopefully back soon again. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly in the future if I may assist with any reservations at The Upper House or any other Swire Hotels.

Sincerely,

Marcel Thoma
Hotel Manager
The Upper House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,953
    127
    29
    7
    6
See reviews for
268
762
169
615
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

my real Home away from Home in Hong Kong. Most spacious rooms, perfect service and all you need. Much more Boutique than the large Hotels in the city and much more personal.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goetz79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean_Winter, General Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. Such feedback is invaluable to us and, as a young and growing business, we are delighted that you have chosen us over the many other wonderful hotels in the city.

Thank you again and kind regards

Yours sincerely,

Dean Winter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Coast Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

My husband & I recently celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary at The Upper House & highly recommend it. We were upgraded to the honeymoon suite consisting of a huge bedroom with the bed being in the middle of the room & a dressing/wardrobe area behind. A large lounge/dining area with magnificent views over to Kowloon. The bathroom was enormous with a huge vanity area separate to the bath & shower. Very modern, with Ren products (from eye cream to cleansers etc) even a lovely small wooden hairbrush. The only thing that was missing was a make-up mirror. Free access to wifi & the mini bar except for the wine & jars of m&m’s, biscuits, mentos & nuts to nibble on. We had a plate of chocolate coated strawberries waiting for us when we first arrived too.
Unfortunately we both contacted the flu & needed to see a doctor. They were able to have a doctor in our room within ½ hour.
There is a lovely garden area to sit & have a coffee but the downfall is it’s a smoking area as well.
On our last night we ate at Café Grey…. unbelievable. The setting & atmosphere is just perfect. The food delicious, pricey but worth it.
We had the use of a lovely shopping bag they left in our room as well as an IPod touch system for ordering room service etc.
The attention to detail & the attitude of the staff are very high.
We were given a scented candle, a leather bound diary & a perfumed room spray which was a nice touch to leave on.
This hotel is a 5 star plus so expect to pay top dollar, but it’s so worth it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cobba19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean_Winter, General Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review of The Upper House.

We are even more delighted, given that it was your honeymoon and we were able to play some part in making it memorable. We very much hope you will consider us again when you return to Hong Kong - in the meantime, we have made a note of your preference for a make-up mirror.

Thank you again and kind regards

Dean WInter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
307 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I stayed for the first time in the Upper House in HK, which was recommended by a friend. It will not be the last time.
The rooms are spacious and well-equipped, the staff is super friendly and the location is just great. It feels like home away from home. This boutique hotel is just perfect.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaKe72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcel T, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We are happy to know that your friend recommended us to you and you left also with a positive impression.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly in the future if I may assist with any reservations at The Upper House or any other Swire Hotels.

Sincerely,

Marcel Thoma
Hotel Manager
The Upper House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

We had 3 nights at The Upper House and loved it. Room was huge and very well appointed and as others have mentioned full of surprises. Service was great especially helpfull when the gentleman who drove us from the airport offered to drive us to help us make our dinner reservation when a taxi was not available.
Scrambled egg with caviar on brioche with great coffee and amazing view in Cafe Grey Delux was a morning treat as was the nightcap cocktail in the bar after a day of adventures.
Could not fault and can't wait to go back.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank smclagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcel T, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Thank you very much for your review and your mentions of the service highlights during your stay.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly in the future if I may assist with any reservations at The Upper House or any other Swire Hotels.

Sincerely,

Marcel Thoma
Hotel Manager
The Upper House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 719 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,529 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Central
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central
Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#13 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Upper House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Upper House

Property: The Upper House
Address: Pacific Place, 88 Queensway, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Admiralty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#2 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price range (per night): ₹ 31,545 - ₹ 50,549
Hotel Class:5 star — The Upper House 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Upper House is a highly individualized small luxury hotel designed by Hong Kong architect Andre Fu. The hotel’s 117 rooms (including 21 suites and 2 penthouses) start at 730sq ft – the largest in Hong Kong. They feature wonderfully spacious bathrooms and dressing areas, and offer either scenic harbour or island views. Calming and contemporary, the rooms are designed to provide a sense of relaxation, warmth and understated luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Preferred Hotels, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Upper House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Upper House Hotel Hong Kong
The Upper House Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing