We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Upper House
Nearby Hotels
The Peninsula Hong Kong(Hong Kong)
US$ 936
US$ 684
The Peninsula
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Royal Garden(Hong Kong)
US$ 702
US$ 463
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Conrad Hong Kong(Hong Kong)
US$ 479
Conrad
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 533
US$ 454
JW Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 792
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Cordis, Hong Kong(Hong Kong)
US$ 523
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 729
US$ 476
Renaissance Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 482
US$ 386
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 460
US$ 390
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$ 411
US$ 328
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (2,516)
Filter reviews
2,516 results
Traveller rating
2,325
144
31
7
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,325
144
31
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscafe greymaxi barguest experiencepacific placemarcel thomaren productsandre futop floorhome away from homerooms are hugebest hotels in the worldespresso machineroom checkfour seasonshong kong parkfavorite hotelother hotels
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,991 - 1,996 of 2,516 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2012

my real Home away from Home in Hong Kong. Most spacious rooms, perfect service and all you need. Much more Boutique than the large Hotels in the city and much more personal.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goetz79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean_Winter, General Manager at The Upper House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Thank you for your kind comments. Such feedback is invaluable to us and, as a young and growing business, we are delighted that you have chosen us over the many other wonderful hotels in the city.

Thank you again and kind regards

Yours sincerely,

Dean Winter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

My husband & I recently celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary at The Upper House & highly recommend it. We were upgraded to the honeymoon suite consisting of a huge bedroom with the bed being in the middle of the room & a dressing/wardrobe area behind. A large lounge/dining area with magnificent views over to Kowloon. The bathroom was enormous with a huge vanity area separate to the bath & shower. Very modern, with Ren products (from eye cream to cleansers etc) even a lovely small wooden hairbrush. The only thing that was missing was a make-up mirror. Free access to wifi & the mini bar except for the wine & jars of m&m’s, biscuits, mentos & nuts to nibble on. We had a plate of chocolate coated strawberries waiting for us when we first arrived too.
Unfortunately we both contacted the flu & needed to see a doctor. They were able to have a doctor in our room within ½ hour.
There is a lovely garden area to sit & have a coffee but the downfall is it’s a smoking area as well.
On our last night we ate at Café Grey…. unbelievable. The setting & atmosphere is just perfect. The food delicious, pricey but worth it.
We had the use of a lovely shopping bag they left in our room as well as an IPod touch system for ordering room service etc.
The attention to detail & the attitude of the staff are very high.
We were given a scented candle, a leather bound diary & a perfumed room spray which was a nice touch to leave on.
This hotel is a 5 star plus so expect to pay top dollar, but it’s so worth it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cobba19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean_Winter, General Manager at The Upper House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review of The Upper House.

We are even more delighted, given that it was your honeymoon and we were able to play some part in making it memorable. We very much hope you will consider us again when you return to Hong Kong - in the meantime, we have made a note of your preference for a make-up mirror.

Thank you again and kind regards

Dean WInter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I stayed for the first time in the Upper House in HK, which was recommended by a friend. It will not be the last time.
The rooms are spacious and well-equipped, the staff is super friendly and the location is just great. It feels like home away from home. This boutique hotel is just perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaKe72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcel T, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Thank you very much for your review. We are happy to know that your friend recommended us to you and you left also with a positive impression.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly in the future if I may assist with any reservations at The Upper House or any other Swire Hotels.

Sincerely,

Marcel Thoma
Hotel Manager
The Upper House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We had 3 nights at The Upper House and loved it. Room was huge and very well appointed and as others have mentioned full of surprises. Service was great especially helpfull when the gentleman who drove us from the airport offered to drive us to help us make our dinner reservation when a taxi was not available.
Scrambled egg with caviar on brioche with great coffee and amazing view in Cafe Grey Delux was a morning treat as was the nightcap cocktail in the bar after a day of adventures.
Could not fault and can't wait to go back.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank smclagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcel T, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Thank you very much for your review and your mentions of the service highlights during your stay.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly in the future if I may assist with any reservations at The Upper House or any other Swire Hotels.

Sincerely,

Marcel Thoma
Hotel Manager
The Upper House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I stay in quite a few hotels and don't really take the time to write reviews but Upper House deserves a special mention.

This visit was like "going home", very sleek, calm , serene, romantic and luxurious, the staff are superb.

Ofcourse genuinely looking forward to returning with my fam

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NiL0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcel T, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Thank you very much for your review and your extra effort to write a note on tripadvisor. We are happy to learn that you felt like “going home”.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly in the future if I may assist with any reservations at The Upper House or any other Swire Hotels.

Sincerely,

Marcel Thoma
Hotel Manager
The Upper House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews