We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A Second Home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Upper House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Upper House
Ranked #1 of 703 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Second Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

I've been to the Upper House on a number of occasions and every single time has been perfect. The staff are superb, the rooms are beyond comfortable and the level of service is second to none. On top of this I'm always made to feel as if I'm coming back home whenever I visit. This is definitely one of my favourite, if not my favourite, hotels I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Omar F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcel T, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear Omar

Many thanks again for your kind review. We appreciate your loyalty towards “our house” very much. We are honored to know that we are one of your favorite hotels in the world knowing that you travel so frequently.
Please do return soon again and let me know personally if I may assist with anything in the future.


Sincerely

Marcel Thoma
Hotel Manager
The Upper House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,938 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,778
    118
    28
    7
    7
See reviews for
226
696
154
575
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012 via mobile

We actually live in Hong Kong, but after seeing the hotel room of a visiting guest we decided the next special occasion we had we would treat ourselves. The rooms, staff, and hotel are all simply extraordinary. There is not a thing that The Upper House have not thought of here - personalized iPods, luxurious & plentiful toiletries, complimentary room refreshments, iPad check-in, even complimentary weekend yoga! The attention to detail, quality of design & beyond 5-star service are complimented by the exceptional Cafe Grey restaurant & bar, making it complete and utter luxury. Even the smallest rooms on offer give the feeling of your own apartment!! Both Marcel and Nicholas looked after us generously throughout our stay - with early check in, late check out, personal messages & complimentary gifts - we didn't want to leave. I hope to return very soon, there's simply nothing else like it.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DMidalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcel T, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
We appreciate your kind review and are glad to hear that your stay with us was a memorable one. It is wonderful to know that you did not want to leave anymore, especially since you call also Hong Kong your home.
Please do return soon for another weekend getaway and let me know if I may assist with anyting.

Sincerely

Marcel Thoma
Hotel Manager
The Upper House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
113 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012 via mobile

A great hotel our favorite

Great design and features everything is good about the Upper House

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mitchpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcel T, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Many thanks for your review. We are happy to know that you had a pleasant stay and that you are rating us so positively.
Please don’t hesitate to contact me in the future if I may be of any assistance for any your upcoming visits at Swire Hotels.

Sincerely

Marcel Thoma
Hotel Manager
The Upper House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

The hotel and staff made our Hong Kong stay of 4 nights ones to remember. We had a corner suite that was fantastic. I thought at first I would be disappointed not facing the Bay, but after seeing it at night and morning, we were definately happy. (The staff did call after about 15 minutes to say there was a cancellation of a hotel room on the Bay side. We decided to keep our suite and are so happy we did.) As the others have said, this is the best hotel ever!!!!

Room Tip: Try to stay in a corner suite on the Bay side, but if it is not available, it is fine to stay on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovestotravel2747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcel T, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Many thanks for your tripadvisior review. To be called “the best hotel ever” is very flattering indeed. We are thrilled to hear that you had a good stay at The Upper House.
Please do contact me personally if I may ever assist you for a future reservation at The Upper House or any other Swire Hotel.

Sincerely,

Marcel Thoma
Hotel Manager
The Upper House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

So this was my third stay at The Upper House and it never fails to surprise and delight. From the seamless check in to the quality of the room and the service throughout TUH is undoubtedly my favourite hotel experience in the world. Cafe Gray was as buzzy and yet quality as possible; the drinks were superb and I cannot find a single area in the hotel where they can improve...maybe Nespresso machines in place of the one's in the room already?

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angus w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcel T, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Dear Angus

We are very glad to know that we are able to surprise and delight our guests even after several visits. To be considered your favorite hotel experience in the world is a great honor – many thanks that you keep coming back!
Please do let me know if may assist with any future reservation at The Upper House or any other Swire Hotels

Marcel Thoma
Hotel Manager
The Upper House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#3 of 703 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,017 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Central
Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#12 of 703 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,489 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#13 of 703 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Upper House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Upper House

Property: The Upper House
Address: Pacific Place, 88 Queensway, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Admiralty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#1 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#2 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price range (per night): ₹ 34,778 - ₹ 1,81,910
Hotel Class:5 star — The Upper House 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Upper House is a highly individualized small luxury hotel designed by Hong Kong architect Andre Fu. The hotel’s 117 rooms (including 21 suites and 2 penthouses) start at 730sq ft – the largest in Hong Kong. They feature wonderfully spacious bathrooms and dressing areas, and offer either scenic harbour or island views. Calming and contemporary, the rooms are designed to provide a sense of relaxation, warmth and understated luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your The Upper House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Upper House Hotel Hong Kong
The Upper House Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing