We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regular visitor: I love this hotel”
Review of The Upper House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Upper House
Ranked #1 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I work one week per month in Hong Kong and have stayed in this hotel seven times. The rooms are really comfortable, the staff are extremely helpful and the views are amazing.

And nothing beats a few beers in the bath after a long day in the office looking out over the harbour and watching the telly.

At HK$150 the cheese and ham toastie in the 48th floor bar (not on the menu but available) is ridiculously expensive but this is Hong Kong!

Room Tip: Pay for the harbour view.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexs_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,256)
There are newer reviews for The Upper House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,782 - 1,786 of 2,256 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

I have been visiting Hong Kong for nearly 18 years (and lived there for some of that time). Over the years I have been a regular at The Mandarin Oriental and have also used The Landmark Oriental, The Island Shangri-La, The Conrad and The Grand Hyatt. What makes The Upper House special is the sheer size and luxury of the rooms and the outstanding staff. This was our second stay and we had booked a 70 square metre harbour view room. We were upgraded to an 80 square metre harbour view but asked to be downgraded again. The 80 sq. m. rooms are at the ends of the building and the one we were shown looked out on to other tall buildings - by contrast the 70 sq. m. rooms we have used were in the centre of the building with very good views of Victoria Harbour. The "maxi bar"is well stocked and the bathroom and dressing room are great for wallowing in. If you want large marbled reception areas and big pools and gyms, this hotel is not for you but if you want a centrally located luxury hotel and really don't need much more than the room this is worth considering. It is not cheap but prices are in line with the other centrally located hotels on Hong Kong Island and the rooms are much bigger.
The staff are young and enthusiastic. Somehow they seem to remember your name and nothing is too much trouble.
Breakfasts in Cafe Gray on the 49th floor are not cheap - around USD 68 for two - but are from an a la carte menu (no buffet) and cooked to order. If you want a cheaper option there is a coffee shop (Cova Coffee) on the 4th floor of Pacific Place mall on top of which the hotel stands. There is also a cafe that serves breakfast at geEAT (that's how it's spelt) which is attached to the food supermarket in the basement of the mall. The rooms have kettles, coffee maker, toaster, cutlery and crockery so you could always buy your breakfast from the supermarket (the shop opens at 10.00 a.m. but the cafe opens much earlier) and eat it sitting on the sofa of your room gazing out over the harbour.
We'll be back in March for our third visit. What more can I say.

Room Tip: Go for a Harbour View room.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SCP888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

This hotel should be up to your standards, if you like spacious well designed rooms, huge bathrooms with panoramic views, if you would like to step into a Wallpaper-kinda world od architecture nd design, if you work in fashion or luxury, if you like michelin-star restaurants.

The location is great - just above the Pacific Place which is fun for shopping and dining.

The staff are all very frindly, well-mannered professionals with various international background. The attitued is very different from grand hotels. You really feel like you're surrounded by sencere attention and can rely on these people

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OlgaSergienko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I love this hotel! It ranks as one of my top five for sure. Great location, free snacks and beer, the amazing bath tub and fantastic service. Do I wish it had a pool? Yes. But it's Hong Kong, they are tough to come by. Do I wish the gym was a little bigger? Yes, but it was totally fine for my needs. OH and the restaurant. So good. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: If you can upgrade one level, its worth it!
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Singmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We stay in Hong Kong 6-7 times year and this is by far the best hotel on the island. The service is great and the rooms fantastic. The only gripe? A spa would be fantastic

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whistleforit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 721 in Hong Kong
5,948 reviews
Central
Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#12 of 721 in Hong Kong
4,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Upper House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Upper House

Address: Pacific Place, 88 Queensway, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Admiralty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#1 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#2 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: ₹ 39,958 - ₹ 54,341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Upper House 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Upper House is a highly individualized small luxury hotel designed by Hong Kong architect Andre Fu. The hotel’s 117 rooms (including 21 suites and 2 penthouses) start at 730sq ft – the largest in Hong Kong. They feature wonderfully spacious bathrooms and dressing areas, and offer either scenic harbour or island views. Calming and contemporary, the rooms are designed to provide a sense of relaxation, warmth and understated luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, Ostrovok, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Upper House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Upper House Hotel Hong Kong
The Upper House Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing