We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunny Day Hotel (Mongkok)
Ranked #260 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed 5 December 2011

The family room we stayed in was perfect for a family of 5. My husband and I plus my three kids. It was difficult to find this kind of hotel that would allow 5guest in a room. The bed linens were clean. The bathroom especially the shower is nice.
I would highly recommend this to family travelers that is lookng for a clean and accessible hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Family_of
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (119)
There are newer reviews for Sunny Day Hotel (Mongkok)
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 46 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2011

3 star hotel right in the middle of bustling mongkok. 3 minutes from nearest mrt station, a lots of eateries nearby and market just behind the hotel. mini bus interchange station in front of hotel and langham place shopping mall 1 block away.
reclaimation street with people working 24 hours a day.
a nice restaurant below the hotel chuen mun kei offers good pot rice too

Room Tip: good location to taste local mongkok lifestyle
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank limky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

located next to Langham Hotel. 3 min walk to mongkok station (Langham Place Exit). Have food shops that opens till the wee hours in the morning. there is a morning market nearby, opens after 8am, turn right when u exit the hotel, turn right again at the first junction. A convinience shop is located at Langham Place.

10min walk to ladies market, sport shoe market. A short stroll from these markets will lead you to soy street, where you can find lots of local food there.

We took the family room, it comfortably fits 4 people. the "spa" shower is definatly a plus point! This is a better hotel compared to the other budget hotel pictures that I have surveyed for this area.

As for the stairway to the reception area, its just a short fleet of stairs, once up, there is a lift to bring you to the higher floors. No complains.

The thing i hope they improve is the receptionist attiude, not so friendly and unwilling to give us more info about the area around the hotel.

Room Tip: The air cond is not cold enough in my room, but its fine in the other. So during check in do check t...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoanneCfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

First, if you are NOT a light traveler, do not stay here. There's a flight of stairs you have to climb to reach reception. When i inquired about booking a bus for airport- the staff told me to take the cityflyer bus which is a 3 min. walk to bus stop. NO porters to help with luggage so be prepared to carry your own stuff. I consider the HKD1000/night i paid for way overpriced. True, there's free wifi. But you can stay in a better hotel and just pay the wifi charge. The decor and size of room is ok. Clean linens, etc. It's kind of a turn off to see there's a price listed for all the stuff in the room- like if you take the notepad holder, this is what you pay. Like this hotel expects their guests to steal stuff or something.
The plus of this hotel is free wifi, close to MTR, close to ladies market. If you book, be sure to print a map, if you're coming late night, take a taxi. It's very close to MTR if you know which exit (C3 or C4) and direction to walk- you can get lost easily and locals don't know where reclamation street is. The area is brimming with local flavor, good local restaurants which I liked. But I will not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank anne8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

1. Location: Fantastic location. 2~3min from Mongkok MTR Exit C4. 5~10min walk to the night markets (Ladies Market etc), Nathan Road, Argyle Street and all the good places. Mongkok MTR is strategic as it is an interchange. You have a choice of 2 train lines which saves you a transfer whether its travelling up or down the lines.

35min via MTR to Tung Chung. 15min via MTR to Central. Absolute best location ever I can't say it enough. Lots of food stalls and shops that open till 12~1am. The whole place comes to life after 5pm haha!

2.Cleanliness: No complaints. Everything is in order, towels are changed everyday and the new ones are sealed in plastic bags (not very environmentally friendly though... I would rather use the same towel for a couple of days.) Complimentary shower and shampoo as well as a bottle of water, coffee, tea etc. The toilet has really cool shower stuff as well. You'll find out what I mean when you stay here haha!

3.WIFI: FREE. IT WORKS! AWESOME!

I would not hesitate to stay in this hotel again. I stayed in the Family room which is relatively spacious (Hongkong hotels can be really tiny.) and there's sufficient walking space as well as luggage space. The family room has a queen and a single. Very comfy.

One tiny peeve. The flight of stairs leading to the lobby. Small issue IMO as I only have to carry my luggage up and down once during the trip. Without the stairs, I would have awarded perfection for the combination of location, comfort and price.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Angela_K09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Sunny Day Hotel (Tsim Sha Tsui)
Sunny Day Hotel (Tsim Sha Tsui)
#224 of 721 in Hong Kong
119 reviews
Mong Kok
H1 Hotel
H1 Hotel
#377 of 721 in Hong Kong
57 reviews
Mong Kok
Le Prabelle Hotel
Le Prabelle Hotel
#167 of 721 in Hong Kong
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Minimal Hotel-Bazaar
Minimal Hotel-Bazaar
#265 of 721 in Hong Kong
96 reviews
Metro Winner Hotel
#204 of 721 in Hong Kong
31 reviews
Mong Kok
Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Mongkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Day Hotel (Mongkok)? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Day Hotel (Mongkok)

Address: No.419 Reclamation Street, Mongkok, Kowloom, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Mong Kok
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #260 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range: ₹ 5,392 - ₹ 14,682 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunny Day Hotel (Mongkok) 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Ctrip TA so you can book your Sunny Day Hotel (Mongkok) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunny Day Hotel (Mongkok) Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing