We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic meal with a spectacular view.”
Review of Hutong

Hutong
Reserve with OpenTable
Hutong is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #108 of 10,837 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 32 - US$ 90
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, View, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Tsim Sha Tsui
Description: Reminiscent of an ancient family courtyard in one of Peking's fast disappearing hutongs (courtyard houses set between narrow lanes), Hutong's interiors are set against the most breathtaking skyline of any international metropolis. This is not the only surprise. The sense of adventure and sheer avant-garde creativity continues in the innovating cuisine inspired by the culinary styles of Peking and Shandong province.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Definitely worth a trying out if you’re in Hong Kong. Food was excellent with some great choices to suit most palates. Good wine list and great service.

Thank BenNamiUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aqua R, Guest Relations Manager at Hutong, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear BenNamiUk,

Thank you for the 5* review!

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Nicole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,695)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 38 of 1,697 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

We have been here many times and come away with the same feeling- wish the food was better. With the wonderful view this place has to offer, maybe they do not have to bother to excel in food. Don’t get me wrong, the food is quite acceptable, but then that is all. We selected the place since we had friends visiting from London for the first time and wanted Chinese, and we thought we should take them to a place with a nice view of HK. We ordered some dumplings (nice) and crispy duck (have had much better for half the price). This was followed by steamed cod (nice but not great). The crispy beef was the biggest disappointment- it was too think and too deeply fried- it was all crispy and no beef. The prawns cooked in chillies was the highlight- really nice and tasty. On the whole a pleasant setting for a dinner with friends- better food would make this place unmatchable.

Thank BobGview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aqua R, Guest Relations Manager at Hutong, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear BobGview,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.

As a frequent visitor of Hutung we loved hearing how much you enjoy the restaurant however, we were very sorry to read your comments with regards to the dishes that you had on the evening, although very pleased to read the our "Red Lantern" soft shell crab dish was a highlight.

Please do contact me directly when you next wish to reserve, I would be delighted to make the arrangements Nicole.Gilmore@aqua.com.hk

Kind regards,

Nicole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Hutong is on the 28th floor of the Peking Road Shopping Arcade in Kowloon, in walking distance from the Star Ferry Terminal. A great atmosphere with breath taking views of Hong Kong Harbor set the stage for a wonderful dinner. The Northern Chinese menu has a great selection of both seafood and meat dishes and no dinner is complete with a good selection of their delicious dumplings. The wine list is certainly worthy of the place.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PHS50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aqua R, Guest Relations Manager at Hutong, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thank you PHS50!

Kind regards,

Nicole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We had dinner here for our anniversary tonight. The food is equaled only by the magnificent view of Hong Kong at night! We enjoyed all of the five dishes we ordered and shared. Service is very fast for a good restaurant here. It was one of the best meals we’ve had here so far. Prices are not inexpensive, but it’s worth it.

Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aqua R, Guest Relations Manager at Hutong, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear William P,

Thank you for taking the time leave such great 5* feedback!

Once again congratulations on your anniversary and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Nicole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Went for brunch on a Sunday and it was amazing. 18 different dishes brought to the table, which was great as we got to try lots of different flavours and textures and dishes we wouldn’t normally try. It was great value with the free flow drinks package and the service couldn’t have been better. Will definitely be going back soon

Thank Lordydordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aqua R, Guest Relations Manager at Hutong, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Lordydordy,

We look forward to welcoming back you back again!

Kind regards,

Nicole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hutong? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing