We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coolest Restaurant in Hong Kong”
Review of Gough's on Gough

Gough's on Gough
Ranked #416 of 10,357 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Price range: US$ 76 - US$ 102
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Sheung Wan
Description: British elegance, craftsmanship, style and hospitality – this is the air that Gough's on Gough lives and breathes. A 2-storey modern British restaurant helmed by Chef Arron Rhodes on 15 Gough Street. Dining at Gough's on Gough is a rustic experience, with a menu filled with Modern British classics, British seafood at the raw bar, and classic drinks at the moonstone and crystal bar.
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

My wife and I came on January 1st to avoid NYE crowd and to celebrate our wedding anniversary, and we absolutely were not disappointed by the rumors we had heard about this restaurant. From the warm greeting at reception to the amazing handcrafted cocktails to the stunning Gatsby-esque Art Deco decor and the attentive service, this restaurant should be on everyone's "Must Eat" list. Our experience went totally beyond our already high expectations.

When we arrived we were greeted by name and led upstairs to the dining room and wooooooow, where the hell are we?! Hard to believe that such a ridiculously beautiful restaurant is hidden on Gough street next to the grimy noodle vendors and hipster boutiques.

The restaurant manager warmly greeted us at the top of the stairs and led us to the bar where our bartender, Kay, dazzled us with her liquor knowledge and cocktail craftmanship. My wife was directed to the Sgt. Pepper, and for my drink Kay went rogue and created a custom bourbon drink for me on the spot. The cocktail list was curated by rising star Alex Ko and is long, creative, and engrossing. Perusing the list is like Pokémon but better and drunker: Gotta Try Them All!

For dinner we opted to share a variety of dishes and were not disappointed by any of the dishes from chef Arron Rhodes. Oysters, mushrooms, gnocchi, pork belly (the whiskey sage sauce was beyond compare), Norwegian cod, and topped off with two desserts. First, a mouthwatering array of chocolate mousse, chocolate ganache, and brownie crumbles, followed by spiced creme brûlée accompanied by rosemary apricot sorbet. Speechless.

Clad in tweed waistcoats and bow ties, the servers were fun and cheeky but refined armed with VERY detailed knowledge of the dishes and provenance of ingredients. Our server, Marcus, was the perfect steward for our special dinner out and deserves twice whatever it is they are paying him.

I cannot say enough good things about this restaurant: the decor, the service, and the food & drinks are all top-notch. Don't be surprised if it becomes harder and harder to get a booking, this will be HK's new "It" restaurant. Gough's is totally mental and totally worth the trip, get in there now while you still can.

Thank greghead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, Hospitality Manager at Gough's on Gough, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Dear Greghead,

Thank you so much for your visit to Gough's on Gough and for so kindly taking the time to write a review.

I was so delighted to read that you and your wife so enjoyed your experience and that you were left with such a positive impression of the restaurant. Your kind comments are most gratify and highly motivating to the whole team and we all look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back very soon.

In the meantime our thanks again.

Kind regards,

Peter Davies
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2018 via mobile

Having been on Saturday for the fourth time to this hidden gem of a restaurant, I thought it was well worth updating my review of this restaurant that started middle of last year.

I don’t hand out a five star review easily and even more difficult is to find a restaurant that deserves one after each and every visit.

We had the latest tasting menu and each and every dish was unfussy, clean and completely thought out and developed as a stand alone dish.

The sommelier knows his cellar and advises rather than forces you down a road you don’t really want to go down.

Aaron runs an amazing kitchen that is point perfect on consistency and makes the whole evening a delight.

I continue to find this to be the only real 5 star restaurant in Hong Kong.

Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, Hospitality Manager at Gough's on Gough, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Dear Simon,

We were delighted to welcome you back to Gough's on Gough again this last weekend and thank you for so kindly taking the time to write a review of your latest experience.

I was so pleased to read that you once again enjoyed your dinning experience and that we were able to provide you with the same high level of consistency in all aspects of the restaurant and in particular the new tasting menu. We are most appreciative of your kind comments which are greatly rewarding and motivating to Chef Arron and the whole team.

We very much look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

In the meantime our thanks once again.

Kindest regards,

Peter Davies
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018 via mobile

What a find! We did have a lovely dinner here, everything was perfect: the setting, the decor, the food, the wine and the service (so attentive).
The decor is such fun: Art Deco meet French Brothel (in the most positive way!) and the fun of having un assorted crockery and tea lights in “silver” presentation cups!!!
The food we had was so good...not too much but cooked at perfection.
The price is not for everyone but Hong Kong is a very expensive place so we were not surprised.
Will go again.

Thank Travelaround59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, Hospitality Manager at Gough's on Gough, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Dear Travelround59,

Thank you so much for your recent visit to Gough's on Gough and for so kindly taking the time to write a review.

I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your dining experience and were left with such a positive impression of all aspects of the restaurant. Your positive comments are of great reward and motivation to the whole team.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

In them meantime our thanks again.

Regards,

Peter Davies
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018 via mobile

This is a perfect place to enjoy fine dining and exciting food. Although the oysters were were well presented, they had come a long way from France and seemed more jet lagged than we were. Once we got onto the main course , this restaurant hit its stride and the presentation, flavor combinations and exciting restaurant design lift this restaurant to a top level. Perfectly cooked pigeon and the dessert of the Lygee garden was a great ending.

Thank Noangel51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, Hospitality Manager at Gough's on Gough, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Dear Noangel51,

Thank you so much for your recent visit to Gough's on Gough and for so kindly taking the time to write a review.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your dining experience. We have certainly made note with regards to your comments on the oysters and appreciate this useful feedback. That said, I was very pleased that all other aspects of the restaurant left you with such a positive impression and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again

In the meantime our thanks again,

Kind regards,

Peter Davies
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018 via mobile

Having lived in HK for nearly seven years, I have searched for a Sunday roast without success. Bravo Gough's! What an amazing lunch from the service to the delicious artic char to the wonderful roast beef and just about fitted in the chocolate mousse and cheese platter ! Free flow cocktails and drinks came in at 700 bucks - amazing value for money and will be back. Thank you

Thank andygraftonhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, Hospitality Manager at Gough's on Gough, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Dear Andygraftonhk,

Thank you so much for your recent visit to Gough's on Gough and for so kindly taking the time to write a review.

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your brunch experience and that you were left with such a positive impression of both the food and service.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again in soon.

In the meantime our thanks once again.

Kind regards,

Peter Davies
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gough's on Gough also viewed

 
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to Gough's on Gough? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing