We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and great beds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gateway Hotel Hong Kong
Ranked #40 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2012

You stay at Marco Polo Gateway for the location! right in the middle of the super tourist area of TsT and part of the Harbour city complex, one of hong kong leading shopping destination.

The hotel is old, I have been staying here for nearly two decades, and the room is still the same decor!! That being said, I always get great sleep here with the very comfortable huge beds (even in the double beds room), and the furnitures are all in good conditions.

The only thing I wish they would change is the room key, they are still using the old style physical key to access the room. Which we would need to drop off at the reception everytime we leave the hotel. It makes it extremly inconvenient when you are sharing the room with someone who might have different dinner plans, etc.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank csorakraikit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

737 - 741 of 1,281 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2012

i just came back from a 4 days vacation with my family last week. we stayed at the continental club room floor of marco polo gateway. the room was still so-so nice and clean. housekeeping service was good. i like staying in the club rooms because we were with our 2 small kids and we can go to the club lounge for food and drinks almost anytime the whole day plus it has free wifi and buffet breakfast but best reason for staying in marco polo gateway for me is it's direct access to so many shops just behind the hotel.. it has citysuper supermarket for grocery needs, it has so many medium to high end shops for men, women and kids, it has many electronic shops, and for our kids they have a big "toys r us" store at the end of the mall plus it has all kinds of good restaurants as well. i also like to take a 5 minute taxi ride to nearby elements mall which i feel is one of the best malls i've seen anywhere. lastly, its also good to stay here because it is near to so many movie theaters which i enjoy doing when on vacation. the minor drawbacks of this hotel is its too far from the nearest mtr station which is about 10 minutes walk, it also has no gym or swimming pool inside the hotel. nevertheless, i would love to stay here again on our next trip to hongkong.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winston a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

I have been staying at Gateway (alternating with MP Hong Kong) with my parents. Years later, I now pass on my love for this location to my kids. I love the efficiency of their staff. At times, when I would make a booking months before my intended stay, all details to my arrival and check in requirements are followed thru without making follow up reminders.

It's perfect for everything! Shopping, Business Meeting Venue, Banks, Movie Theatre, Great eats, close accessibility to the MTR station, Ferry Terminal (to China & to Hong Kong side.)

I recently stayed this May 28 to 31, 2012 with my family. Again, we left satisfied and well rested!

I would be coming back again and again and again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjckit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

This is the second time I stayed at Marco Polo Gateway, this time for a business trip. We arrived at the hotel at 4pm so check-in was a breeze.

ROOM
PROS:
-The room is really big.
-Lots of rooms for luggages and shopping bags.
-Ample drawer space and enough close space.
-The double bed is exactly a full bed (not the twin bed some hotels advertise as "double or full").
CONS:
-Still the same old room. Badly needs renovation.
-Stuffy, old-room-smell.
-Threadbare carpets -- use slippers!
-Air conditioner was too cold, even though we've put the thermostat on high. Eventually, we turned it off. I thought it was just our room but during breakfast the next day, we heard other guests complaining about their rooms being too cold.

BATHROOM
PROS:
-Really old bathroom -- the bathtub surface is already chipping off.
-Water stains everywhere.
-Old shower.
CONS:
-Big bathrooms space.
-Big counter space.

CUSTOMER SERVICE:
PROS:
-Years ago, during our stay, their customer service was blah. But this time, I noticed that their customer service has greatly improved. (I guess to make up for the physical condition of the hotel.) We were constantly calling for housekeeping (room was too cold, needed extra blankets, needed another extra blanket, etc, etc) -- and they would send someone to our room immediately.

LOCATION:
PROS:
-The reason why we still chose the hotel -- LOCATION! It is located INSIDE Harbour City and a 5-minute walk to the ferry.
CONS:
-A bit far from MTR stations.


I always come back to this hotel really because of the location. It's the best hotel for shopping in Hong Kong!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arriadne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Hotel with history, but have been face lifted in recent years. Rooms are 5 star level with 4 star rates.

Room Tip: Choose room with harbor view. Harbor view is magnificent. Rooms facing Tsim Sha Tsui is interestin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NineDragons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Prince (Marco Polo Hotels)
Prince (Marco Polo Hotels)
#47 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,253 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel
Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel
#80 of 726 in Hong Kong
2,861 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Luxe Manor
The Luxe Manor
#56 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,449 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Perkin Hotel
The Perkin Hotel
#41 of 726 in Hong Kong
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Hotel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Hotel Hong Kong

Address: No.13 Canton Road, Harbour City, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#24 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#31 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#39 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: ₹ 13,202 - ₹ 39,028 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gateway Hotel Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising over Hong Kong's commercial and entertainment district of Kowloon is Gateway Hotel, a Marco Polo hotel. Housed in Harbour City – Hong Kong's largest shopping complex – Gateway Hotel, the ultimate in leisure accommodation and shopping experience. In September 2013, Gateway Hotel introduced a brand new 360-degree redesigned property that defined a totally innovative design concept. All 400 guestrooms and suites underwent the redesign, which won a Global Excellence award for Best Hotel by The International Interior Design Association in December 2012. Wi-Fi is complimentary throughout the entire hotel. Complimentary mini-bar service in every room will be replenished daily. The essential refreshments vital to enjoying the dazzling energy of Hong Kong will be restocked daily in the free mini-bar.Enjoy your journey in Hong Kong to the fullest with a handy, a complimentary smartphone for travellers with the power to keep guests totally connected while exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gateway Hotel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway,Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Gateway Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing