We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GARLIC, GARLIC AND MORE GARLIC”

Under the Bridge Spicy Crab
Ranked #328 of 8,058 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Price range: US$ 39 - US$ 63
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“GARLIC, GARLIC AND MORE GARLIC”
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Brought my family to this restaurant since I have tried it several times. Ordered the usual spicy crabs (medium spicy) with garlic. It was a bit salty this time... Still it was an experience dining here. The vegetables which we ordered with prawns on taro basket was excellent and so was the clam soup with vermicelli noodles.

The ambience is average, waiter was not so helpful! Crabs are a bit overpriced but I had to order it since it is the restaurant's specialty.

Overall, I would still recommend this restaurant if one fancies crabs. Other good dishes here are: sea mantis with garlic and chili, bamboo shell with black bean, Chinese chives with garlic.

It is suggested to book a table as it is popular both for locals and foreigners. There are 4 branches in the same block but the branch along Lockhart is the newest and most presentable.

It is always an experience coming here!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank anamarie0223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    195
    84
    36
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food with fast service”
Reviewed 13 May 2012

The spicy crab and spicy shrimp were cooked exactly the same, so next time I will order a different type of shrimp. I loved the fried garlic on top! Both food and drinks were delivered to our table fast. One thing we noticed is that the waiters brought out watermelons on the house to all the Chinese patrons but not to the foreigners once we finished our meal. Also, when our check was brought to our table, the waiter kept saying, "tippy, tippy," and would not leave our table side until we tipped him.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 365dragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chipping Norton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't Judge a Book by its Cover!”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Not having read up on restaurant reviews for HK, we stumbled across the Under the Bridge Restaurant by chance. This restaurant appears much the same as many of the others in Wan Chai/Causeway Bay area, and the little man outside doesn't seem over-enthused to entice you inside. However, we gave him the benefit of the doubt and was rewarded with very good food at a comparatively reasonable price. Didn't opt for their speciality spicy crab, but were very pleased with out choices and the tasty way they were served. English wasn't their stong point, but service was good and we were made to feel very welcome. Would happily recommend this restaurant to all, and be sure to go again if we get back to HK.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ExDuckOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Delicious & Satisfying!”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

The spicy crab was completely covered in garlic…heaven. We also dined on pork leg, deep fried tofu, steamed broccoli & scallops, and a local delicacy- conch shell…..not horrendous but not my favorite either; it’s similar to the meat of a mussel, yet more rubbery. A perfect seafood filled meal!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Intlnabers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Overpriced and overhyped food!”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Came here under the impression of must try food in Hong Kong. Generally price is a bit on the high side. Try to see if the food really justified the price. Ordered the ever famous spicy crab. Come covered with overcooked garlic. Overcooked garlic meant bitterness in food. Ordered mantis prawn with nicely cooked garlic this time round. Fried noodles came tad too dry. Generally I won't recommend to any other and for the price I guess there are much more choices out there!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CK G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Under the Bridge Spicy Crab also viewed

 

Been to Under the Bridge Spicy Crab? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing