We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for seafood and dessert lover”

Clipper Lounge - Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Ranked #28 of 10,847 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central
Description: Whether it's Sunday champagne brunch in Hong Kong or a 5-star dinner buffet with the family, Clipper Lounge is where the city's social elite come to meet. Something of an institution, Clipper Lounge is a long-established favourite with Hong Kong locals and hotel guests alike and a wonderful place to meet at any time in the day. Clipper Lounge has a timelessly elegant feel with mink, taupe and mandarin furnishings enhanced with subtle Oriental accents. While popular for breakfast and dinner buffets, as well as our Sunday champagne brunch Hong Kong locals love, Clipper Lounge is best known for afternoon tea. Elegantly presented, the spread includes delicacies such as finger sandwiches, sweets, scones and our signature homemade rose-petal jam. We also offer extremely popular seasonal themed teas.
Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

Taste fresh with the oysters and crab! Love the cheese cake! Nice! Appreciated the great service for Johnny and Angel and surly will return!

1  Thank Ferrari H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOHKG, Director of Food & Beverage at Clipper Lounge - Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Ferrari H,

We’re delighted that you had a wonderful experience at the Clipper Lounge. We will be sure to share your kind words to Johnny, Angel and rest of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Michael Groll
Director of Food & Beverage
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

123 - 127 of 438 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2017

Having tried most brunches in Hong Kong, Mandarin Oriental Clipper Lounge Brunch is by far the best! A very very large selection of food, different cuisines and desserts - free flow champagne rose or normal. I find the quality of the food for brunch is by far more superior than other hotel brunches in HK. They only serve freshly shucked oysters from the kitchen - the waiter will ask how many oysters and it will be delivered from the kitchen rather than the oysters sitting on ice outside. The service is great and we expect nothing less from the Mandarin Oriental. It's not a rushed brunch unlike some places in HK where there are 2 seatings and they rush you through. Mandarin Oriental Clipper Lounge is relaxing, chill for brunch.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOHKG, Director of Food & Beverage at Clipper Lounge - Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Dear JC C,

Thank you very much for dining at the Clipper Lounge and at our best kept secret – The Krug Room. We’re certainly honoured that you consider Clipper Lounge to be the best brunch in town, and for your positive comments at The Krug Room. Please let us know if we can be of any further assistance and hope to see you again soon.

All the best,
Michael Groll
Director of Food & Beverage
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

I was went there for my breakfast. The food taste so good! The staff are helpful, they suggested what's the best to us. Especially Johnny and Chris, thanks for the help.

Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOHKG, Director of Food & Beverage at Clipper Lounge - Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Dear Susan L,

Thank you for having breakfast with us at the Clipper Lounge. We’re truly pleased that you were well taken care of by the team, and we will share your positive feedback to Johnny and Chris. Please don’t be a stranger and see you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Michael Groll
Director of Food & Beverage
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

Perfect service in clipper lounge, meticulous service let me feel like as in home, especially staff Chris Li. He recommended their signature dim sum to us, so warm!!!:):)
Food quality was good, I will come back again with my family, since all performance was good.

Thank cereliaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOHKG, Director of Food & Beverage at Clipper Lounge - Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Dear cereliaw,

We’re excited that you had a wonderful experience in the Clipper Lounge and will share your great comments with Chris and the rest of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home.

With warmest regards,
Michael Groll
Director of Food & Beverage
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

Great food, convenient, gracious, linen tablecloths and napkins, wonderful fresh lunchtime salads but the tables are a bit low for tall westerners.

1  Thank Eileen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOHKG, Hotel Manager at Clipper Lounge - Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Dear Eileen E,

Thank you very much for your unfailing support ever since you have started doing business in Hong Kong, and for being our loyal ‘fan’!

It was wonderful to learn that you have recently visited many of our restaurants including The Captain's Bar, Cafe Causette, Clipper Lounge, The Chinnery, as well as The Mandarin Salon, and for your positive and detailed reviews on all of them. I was really pleased to see that our team members were able to satisfy you with our high level of services time and time again, and are able to welcome you ‘home’ throughout the years. The timing of your last visit was perfect in that you were able to enjoy our wonderful harbour views and the splendid National Dayfireworks - your compliments are highly appreciated.

Thank you again and on behalf of my entire team, we look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully in a not too distant future for another memorable stay.

With my warm regards,
Richard Langonne
Hotel Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Clipper Lounge - Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong also viewed

 

Been to Clipper Lounge - Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing