We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Hidden Hutong”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Ranked #110 of 6,606 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2012

I stayed at the Sihe Courtyard hotel with my parents in mid-April 2012. We had quite a pleasant stay. In a city where everything is changing in the blink of an eye, this hotel provided a glimpse into old-world Beijing. It was down a hutong, or narrow passage way, and is somewhat hidden, despite the short distance to the Forbidden City (about a 25 minute walk). Just walking down the hutong to the hotel, you are able to see old men playing cards and children running freely.

The hotel is intimate and small. There are rooms of assorted sizes circling a quiet courtyard. Our room was uniquely decorated with traditional Chinese furniture, yet still had a modern bathroom, which made my mom happy! Also, the beds are super comfortable, which is kind of a rarity in China. The only downfall was that there were quite a few ants that came into our room.

The hotel also included a breakfast (!). It consisted of toast, fruit, baozi (steamed buns), but they also made eggs to order.

I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MyColorfulLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (439)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

196 - 200 of 439 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2012

Stayed in April 2012 for 6 days in room 10 and we had a great time there! Found them here on TripAdvisor after reading the reviews. Was able to contact them via email to arrange a shuttle ride from Beijing airport. One of our bags got delayed and we had to file a claim and the shuttle driver patiently waited for us while we got that sorted out so the first instance of great service! Got to the hotel no problem, now given that this was the hotel's shuttle they actually drove into the Huotong to the hotel, what they write on the site is true if you are getting a cab they pretty much will not drop you off at the hotel's doorstep because it's crazy narrow from the main streets to the hotel, but the walk to any of the main streets from the hotel is not too far and while lighting is somewhat of a problem my family and I never felt anything but safe regardless of the time of day/night we went out. It really is a family neighbourhood with kids playing around during the day and small shops all around.

The receptionists and other staff were all quite helpful and had decent English. We stayed in room 10 and it was quite lovely. Bed was large enough for 2 adults and a 5 year old. It was a poster bed type with all the drapings on it. The bathroom was definitely modern looking. Word to the wise do not throw toilet paper into the toilet! While the bathroom is modern looking the underlying plumbing is who knows how old! We didn't realize this at first and after 2 plugged toilet incidents they told us not to throw toilet paper into the toilet. They had said this is basically true across Beijing. So as long as you're comfortable with the idea of throwing all your toilet paper into the waste basket you'll be fine. The water pressure for the shower and sink were pretty good. The hot water lasted about 15-20 minutes. One negative was the fact that the shower curtain was never aired out properly so the it had built up some mildew at the bottom of it. This naturally left a funky odor in the bathroom so this combined with the toilet paper made us keep the bathroom door closed at all times.

Breakfast was nice a mix of bread, cereal, fresh fruit and various Chinese dishes. These were all self serve. You could also order a variety of omelets and other things from the kitchen in the morning as well.

The location is quite good as there are plenty of shops and restaurants to go to. You can walk to the Lamai temple a few km away or the Night Market. All in all the hotel provided great service and we definitely would recommend it to others who want to try a hotel with a more local feel!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nhoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

the receptionists were very helpful, breakfast was simple but enough to fill you up. its about 5 minutes walk to the main road, but the street is safe and semi-lit, so you can still find your way. the room isnt very big but enough for us, as we are not staying in during the day. we went during winter, so it was dry and a bit hard to breathe, i asked for a humidifier, which was brought to our room in a second. really very accommodating staff.over all, we had a wonderful stay and it was a unique experience, unlike staying in a hotel. its an experience of old china living. oh and we loved the cats' companies :)

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lainecruz2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

I stayed here for four nights in August 2011 with my boyfriend. It was really nice to get off the plane and be taken here and be able to relax. The hotel is in a quiet authentic Chinese Hutong and there are lots of friendly locals around. You can really see and experience Chinese life around here.

The room itself was lovely and had all the mod-cons that you would need. There was air-con and hot water, a TV with one English channel, a comfy double bed (albeit a Chinese size one) and tea and coffee making facilities including some complimentary green tea! Yum!

The hotel itself only has a few rooms and they are all set around a courtyard in the centre which is a really nice place to relax. The hotel was really peaceful and quiet which you wouldn't expect being in Beijing but it really is like you escape all the hustle and bustle of the city as soon as you step in.

The breakfast was quite nice too.

If you are looking for an authentic hotel that is peaceful and relaxing then this is the place!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sophia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We stayed at the Sihe Courtyard Hotel for five nights, December 17 to 22. Overall our experience was very good but it was tainted by the fact they had double-booked our room. Instead of the VIP room we had booked (in writing, several months in advance) for my wife and I and three young children we were split between two rooms on opposite sides of the courtyard.
The impression I got that this wasn't a mistake as such but they had taken a more lucrative offer for the VIP room. Having the kids (age 7,10 and 11) on the other side of the courtyard had some compensations but we were uncomfortable leaving the kids alone in a room in a strange country – and with day time highs of 1 degree C and night time temps below 0, tripping between the rooms in our robes/pyjamas was more than nippy. Instead of the VIP room they offered us two executive rooms for the same rate as the VIP room. I had to haggle hard and explain that while the two executive rooms might be worth more to them, being charged the same as the VIP room rate for what, to us, was an inferior option seemed unfair. They agreed to charge us just the rate for one executive room.
After we had booked I had read a Trip Advisor review similarly blighted by a botched booking at the Sihe. It's a shame these errors will make people think twice about staying at what is a very friendly, comfortable hotel.
The staff were friendly and spoke serviceable English, the rooms were clean, comfortable and warm and the complementary breakfasts were great for our crew: toast, jam, something like coco pops, omelets, yummy dumplings and other hot things.
We found great food everywhere we went – the best place nearby the Sihe we found was a noodle house at 69 Chaonei Nanxiaojie – their roast pork buns were superb but everything there was good.
The hotel location was good – we liked the rustic/messy alley and it seemed remarkably special to be staying in a single-storey traditional courtyard dwelling in a city of apartments and skyscrapers. The subway – five to 10 minutes walk away- was easy to use and spotlessly clean. We had trouble with taxis because they were designed for just 4 passengers and our family of five were not welcome passengers. We took to hiding our youngest behind us when we flagged down cabs, piling in when an empty one eventually came past and smiling through the driver's protestations when he counted heads.
The hotel arranged a driver to take us to the Great Wall and Ming tombs in a one day tour costing a total of 800 RMB.
Overall: a great place to stay that needs to sort out its booking systems.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VigorBrownies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing 161 Hotel Hulu Courtyard
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#47 of 6,606 in Beijing
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Houhai
Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Cote Cour Beijing
Hotel Cote Cour Beijing
#62 of 6,606 in Beijing
264 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
#196 of 6,606 in Beijing
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel

Address: No.5 Dengcao Hutong Dongsi South Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#31 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#75 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: ₹ 3,216 - ₹ 6,689 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is Beijing Courtyard Hotel has been built up base on 400 Years historic construction Si He Yuan, The said place was the former residence of famous Chinese artist Mr. Mei Lan Fang. 10 minutes walking distance from WangFuJing, the travel and commercial center of Beijing. The spacious guest rooms are sharing the beautiful inner and outer courtyard and patio with each other, and decorated by the antique furniture those are carved with dragon and phoenix, the symbol of Chinese ancient nobility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld and Ctrip TA so you can book your Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Beijing
Beijing Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing