We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly small courtyard hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Ranked #111 of 6,563 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2011

This was the first place we stayed in on our holiday in China. It was a good place to start. We had a luxury room, where the bed was nicely decorated with curtains. And it had airco, important in the hot summer in Beijing. The courtyard as a whole was nice. The front desk staff was friendly but spoke little English. The location in the hutong was very nice, and it was a short hop to the main street. A large supermarket was about 5-10 minutes walk. We even walked from here to the Forbidden City, though that takes about half an hour to the entrance. Breakfast had eggs but also traditional Chinese.

Room Tip: The luxury rooms have nice old fashioned poster beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissMloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

211 - 215 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2011

Beijing is a very big city and one can easily get lost, or worse, commoditized. At Sihe one is treated as a valued guest. Staff members from the front desk personnel to the driver bend over backwards to accommodate every guest. (And they refuse to accept tips, at least when we were there)!

The furniture in the guest rooms are high quality Ming-style which lend an "authentic" touch to the old style home in an authentic hutong. Bathrooms are modern, thankfully, and service is also "modern" and world-standard.

My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would stay again over any 5-star mega hotel-resort that is common in this mega-city.

Room Tip: Rooms in the farther inner courtyards would be more quiet as guests would not have to pass your door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank SoundFrequencies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

My husband and I traveled to Beijing along with our two children ages 9 and 14, and my brother. We enjoyed our stay at the Beijing Sihe Hotel. It was everything we thought it would be. It is located down a narrow hutong alley where taxis would not drop us off in front of the door. However it is not a Marriot hotel, one cannot come here with the expectation of service and style that one would get at a Marriot or similar hotel. The rooms were clean and simple, with typical hard Chinese beds. We had one standard and one deluxe room, I would splurge for the deluxe as the standard was pretty small. The staff was friendly and accommodating and spoke enough English to get us what we needed. The breakfast served was a typical Chinese breakfast of various vegetables, eggs, steamed dumplings along with some toast and cereal. The experience was priceless. Having an opportunity to walk through the streets of the hutong and see Chinese people going about their business gave us a rare glimpse into the lives of the ordinary Chinese. Learning about the history of the Hutong’s was fun as well. While some reviewers had complained about the location we thought it was pretty convenient. It was a short walk down the main alley then down the road to the nearest subway station, a 10-15 minute walk at the most.

Room Tip: I would splurge for the deluxe room as the standard was pretty small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brneyegirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Charming guesthouse , friendly staff, breakfast although basic was hearty. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. Hotel is also well located to key Beijing sites

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank renee080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

All rave reviews are spot on...We had a wonderful stay at the hotel (of course the beds were quite hard as we found out throughout China but the room was lovely and the staff was delightful). I highly recommend this lovely hotel located in a Hutong close to all sorts of public transportation, DaDong’s newest restaurant, the night food street and Wangfujing Dajie (shopping streets). Everyone is more than helpful and extremely pleasant. Breakfast starts your day off on the right foot - both American and Chinese breakfasts (eggs to order the way you like them). Every night we would sit in the peaceful courtyard and share a bottle of wine while speaking with other fellow travelers...eveyone in our group truly enjoyed this lovely courtyard hotel.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are very roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nala22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#45 of 6,563 in Beijing
579 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing 161 Hotel Hulu Courtyard
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Houhai
Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Jade Garden Hotel
Jade Garden Hotel
#105 of 6,563 in Beijing
471 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
#184 of 6,563 in Beijing
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel

Address: No.5 Dengcao Hutong Dongsi South Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#31 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#50 Family Hotel in Beijing
#75 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: ₹ 3,641 - ₹ 6,379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is Beijing Courtyard Hotel has been built up base on 400 Years historic construction Si He Yuan, The said place was the former residence of famous Chinese artist Mr. Mei Lan Fang. 10 minutes walking distance from WangFuJing, the travel and commercial center of Beijing. The spacious guest rooms are sharing the beautiful inner and outer courtyard and patio with each other, and decorated by the antique furniture those are carved with dragon and phoenix, the symbol of Chinese ancient nobility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA and HostelWorld so you can book your Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Beijing
Beijing Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing