We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There are probably better places to stay”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Tang Yue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tang Yue Hotel
Ranked #2,885 of 6,450 Hotels in Beijing
Perth
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“There are probably better places to stay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

I only stayed here for one night and for one night it's bearable but I wouldn't want to stay here a week. The rooms are tiny for a start and the bed is hard. The bathroom is dirty and they are stingy with the toilet paper. The walls are quite thin and you can pretty much hear the next room not to mention people in the hall way. The place looks funky and cool but it's really cheap and nasty. I would never want to stay at this place again and would rather pay extra to stay somewhere more comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HelenK_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    33
    20
    12
    8
See reviews for
5
14
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bowen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2011

Extremely short walking distance to Tiananmen Square and The Forbidden City , then two blocks opposite direction to all of the best street food stalls , shopping districts etc.
Hotel does not necessarily have showers but a hand held on the bath , Buy extra toilet paper or ask for more, otherwise one can not complain .
Ching-Pavilion restaurant back on corner , managed well by Michael with excellent menu and service , great little restaurants across the road from Hotel too.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whiteheatheriii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2010

I stayed at the Tang Yue hotel from 6th - 9th Nov'10. We had made my bookings through the internet and had payed in advance (two rooms, no window). We reached early at about 10, but they managed to give us the rooms early. The rooms are extremely old and dirty. Upon entering in my room, I realized that the room door does not get locked! After telling the guys at the reception, they said, we will fix it tomorrow!! I was aghast to hear that especially since all my luggage would have been in the room while I was gone. The bed was extremely uncomfortable to sleep in, the mattress was probably a 100 years old with all the springs producing different sounds while you sit on it. The bathroom floor was totally dirty, the tiles had stains on it. The entire floor in the room was scraped off and would make it difficult for anybody to walk barefoot. The walls are so thin that we could hear a chinese couple staying in the next room talk!!

The staff does not speak english at all and it becomes difficult to even ask them for a match box. We asked them to keep all our bills ready early at the time of check out and they could not understand that as well. There is no provision of a kitchen/in room dining. The only saving grace was the 24 hr supermarket next door.

The plus points of the hotel are:

Close to forbidden city (5-10 mins walk)
Close to Temple of Heaven (20 min cab ride)
Close to the ICBC bank (foreign currency exchange)

The hotel was no doubt cheap but its definitely not a 3 star property as various websites suggest. Do not stay here unless your budget is very very tight.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler_1983_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Beijing hotels

UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2010

In a super position minutes walk from the Forbidden City/Tiannemen Square,also at the end of the main street {Donghuamen daje) in the main city area in two minutes walk,food strret etc, Loads of restaurants nearby,try typical chinese opposite £4 inc a beer for two!!!),they have english picture menus.Hotel is very clean,welcoming and very unusual design,ultra modern,Dont stay out of it on the ring roads stay here!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cleveleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2009

Diffrent style and quite cool. Also quite a lot of money- but just worth it.

  • Liked — quirky
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank froghop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Miyun Scenic Resort
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#159 of 6,450 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Yitel Beijing Yayuncun Niaochao
#1,900 of 6,450 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
#74 of 6,450 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Wancheng Huafu International Hotel
Wancheng Huafu International Hot...
#3,539 of 6,450 in Beijing
3.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Wangfujing Donghua Hotel
Beijing Wangfujing Donghua Hotel
#1,683 of 6,450 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
No photo provided
Hanting Express Beijing Tian'anm...
#1,286 of 6,450 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tang Yue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tang Yue Hotel

Property: Tang Yue Hotel
Address: No.52-54 Donghuamen Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,885 of 6,450 Hotels in Beijing
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,652
Hotel Class:3 star — Tang Yue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Also Known As:
Hotel Tang Yue
Tang Yue Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing