We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beijing Hotel NUO

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beijing Hotel NUO
Ranked #23 of 6,442 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Sherbrooke, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Spectacular!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Totally classy and refined, the Raffles is the nicest hotel I've been to in a long while. If others are 5-star, this hotel is more than 5-star. We took the executive club package which includes a luxurious breakfast and a cocktail every night from 6-8 in the executive lounge on the 4th floor. The rooms have been completely redone but still keep the old "manor" style, with all the amenities of a modern hotel. The service is outstanding from greeting to goodbye. A wonderful experience in Beijing. Raffles is about 3 blocks from the Forbidden city and just next door to a great outdoor and indoor shopping area. Excellent downtown location. Free wifi everywhere in the hotel and in your room.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golferdeluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raffles B, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Dear Sir,


First, I would like to express my personal gratitude for the time you have taken to share your thoughts with us on TripAdvisor.


Second, on behalf of my entire team at Raffles Beijing Hotel, I would like to express my sincere appreciation for you staying with us.


It is always a great pleasure and extremely rewarding to receive positive and encouraging remarks such as yours. We are delighted to learn that we exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed your time with us and the culture, history and shopping in the Wangfujing district our hotel is located at. We will certainly share your report with all our colleagues and we are convinced that accolades such as yours will entice them to further improve their services.



Warm regards,


Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,113
    351
    130
    41
    14
See reviews for
312
591
109
333
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
54 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

This is a great, shopping central location with large, albeit slightly tired looking, rooms. However service is poor and the Hotel just doesn't live up to the Raffles brand. Whether it is the caviar blini station in the restaurant that comes without caviar, the doorman who is too busy reading to summon a cab, or the general language difficulties, this place is more fawlty towers than five star. It felt like we were the only guests roaming around the huge, empty, lifeless spaces. Needs better management and an injection of atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NLB101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raffles B, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at Raffles Beijing Hotel. We appreciate and value the time you have taken to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor. Your feedback regarding our all-day-dining restaurant and the challenges you faced concerning the language barrier have been discussed internally and your comments will certainly help us to continuously improve our services and facilities.

We also noted your comment regarding the design of the rooms. We understand that some of our guests prefer the colonial style rooms in our heritage building others like the contemporary designed rooms in the auxiliary wing better. Hence, may we kindly suggest to you booking a room in the auxiliary building the next time you are staying with us?

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to Raffles Beijing Hotel.

Warm regards,


Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

This was my fifth time in China but my spouse's (and our baby's) first time in Asia. The fast-changing pace of China never ceases to amaze me. I've learned to expect something new(er) every time I visit but this time I was really anxious because I wanted my husband to really enjoy his first Asian excursion. AND, we were bringing our 10-MONTH OLD BABY (and about 6 large pieces of luggage, 5 of which were for the baby! lol) so my anxiety level was HIGH. First, the location of Raffles is the BEST. The only other hotel that rivals this location is the Beijing Hotel (right next door) but I had heard from other colleagues that service and decor at the BH has gone down despite the increasing room costs. Second, Raffles has the best location in terms of being able to walk to sights, shopping and restaurants quite easily. Getting a taxi on Donchang-An boulevard is next to impossible unless it is from a hotel. Plus, we didn't want to have to take a taxi everywhere to go anywhere so this hotel held the maximum amount of sightseeing and eating capabilities in walking distance. *WARNING TO NON-CHINESE SPEAKERS: staying at a handfull of well-known hotels is vitally important as most taxi drivers do NOT speak a lick of English so being able to say "Raffulo Hotel" (pinyin for Raffles Hotel) got us BACK from the restaurant -or whatever site we were visiting- to the hotel. Third, we really needed a room that had a separate bedroom from the living room so the baby could take her naps in peace and Raffles had a large Executive Room that suited our needs perfectly without adding much to the price of a regular room. Although we brought our pack-n-play, it was completely unnecessary as the hotel had a Graco Pack-n-play and a beautiful crib set of frilly sheets and blankets all set up for us when we checked in! The mini-bar had a medium size fridge which allowed us to store our one-week supply of baby formula (from the U.S.) as well as an ample supply of bottled water to mix it with. Oh, this in ADDITION to greeting us at the airport with a valet that actually COLLECTED ALL OF OUR LUGGAGE (yes, all six pieces, plus the stroller, our pack-n-play, and our portable bassinet) and SPED us through an "expedited" Customs line to a VIP parking lot underneath the airport where a chauffeur-driven, luxury, large Audi WITH AN INFANT CAR SEAT awaited us! This hotel REALLY knows how to accommodate infants and parents! We felt like celebrities staying here (we aren't). The breakfast buffets were fantastic, with a nice mixture of Asian and Western offerings, self-serve and made-to-order. The seating and service was immediate every morning, with coffee served piping hot immediately and with utmost courtesy (and English-speaking staff). In fact, after the first morning, the staff would fetch the infant seat upon our entering the breakfast room every morning after that. They never rushed us out, either, especially since feeding a baby makes breakfast a two-hour event! Our executive room was always in top notch condition after maid service and any requests were acted upon within 5-10 minutes. Our room had a large foyer, a living room, separate bedroom and large bathroom with two entrances with separate toilet room and bidet. We didn't eat dinner here because there are so many other choices in Beijing for traditional fare such as Peking Duck and Mongolian hot-pot that we wanted to get to. And, at the end of our stay, we got the same VIP treatment going back to the airport as we had on our arrival. I cannot recommend this place highly enough. The only upset was on the last night of our stay, some heavy and LOUD construction work went on until 2AM!! We called the Front Desk and the manager apologized but said there was nothing he could do about it since it was construction belonging to another building (unrelated to the hotel) but sent up two pairs of earplugs for us and offered to change our room. But with a baby changing rooms at 2am was not an option. I guess there are some negatives to the industriousness of the Beijingers (2am?) but all in all, the best place to stay for location, pampering comfort and letting someone else do all the planning and forethought! Will definitely come here again next time in Beijing!

Room Tip: Call ahead and speak to someone at the hotel to ensure getting a room in a good location with any sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wrldtrvlrNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raffles B, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Dear Madame,

We would like to thank you for having chosen Raffles Beijing Hotel as your preferred accommodation in Beijing as well as for your feedback following your recent stay. We very much appreciate and value the time you have taken to share your experience with us on Tripadvisor.

Here at Raffles we strive for being an “oasis for the well-travelled” by creating emotional luxury. We agree that location and the condition of facilities are extremely important to our guests but we also believe that in the end it is the personal touches that make the difference. We are in “the people business” after all. Hence, we were happy to read that you felt that Raffles offers the best location in terms of restaurants, shopping and tourist sights. BUT, we were even more delighted to learn that you enjoyed our personalized services, e.g. airport pick-up and drop off, baby car seat and baby amenities.

On the other hand we were disappointed to learn about the upset on your last night with us. Construction noise at 2 a.m. in the morning is certainly an unpleasant experience and we would like to sincerely apologize for that. We hope that this will not prevent you staying at Raffles Beijing again in the future. We certainly are very much looking forward to welcoming you again.

Warm wishes,

Matthias Al-Amiry

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
160 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

It's hard to resist the name Raffles! As part of a Virtuoso Tour of Tibet my last destination was Beijing and the wonderful Raffles Hotel. Every part of the hotel lived up to it's legendary name, the rooms, food and service were all excellent and set in immaculate surrounds.
The Beijing Raffles is situated within walking distance of the Forbidden Palace and Tian'anmen Square and when you need a break from all the amazing history and culture the shopping is only a street away. I can't wait to go back 3 days is not enough for this amazing city.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnkiGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raffles B, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Dear Madame,

First, I would like to express my personal gratitude for the time you have taken to share your thoughts with us on TripAdvisor.

Second, on behalf of Raffles Beijing Hotel, I would like to say a belated “thank you” and express my sincere appreciation for your stay with us.
It is always a great pleasure and extremely rewarding to receive positive and encouraging remarks such as yours. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your time with us at Raffles and the culture, history and shopping Beijing has to offer. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alamo, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

We stayed at Raffles Hotel for about 4 days in Beijing in June 2011. Bella Bai, the concierge was wonderful. All the hotel employees were so nice and kind to my family of 3 children, a grandfather and us. When my sister had a late check-in (10pm) they were extremely helpful. The breakfast buffets were wonderful. The bowling alley was fun. The ambiance was wonderful. Most of all, the service was impeccable at every level.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alix_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raffles B, General Manager at Beijing Hotel NUO, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Dear Ladies and Gentlemen,

We are delighted to learn that our services and facilities exceeded your expectations during your stay with us in June 2011. We have noted your positive comments about Bella and we are certain Bella will be extremely happy to learn about your words of praise. We are hoping to welcome you back to Raffles Beijing.

Warm regards,

Matthias Al-Amiry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#13 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
#34 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,700 reviews
NUO Hotel Beijing
#2 of 6,442 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#27 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,303 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
#10 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beijing Hotel NUO? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing Hotel NUO

Property: Beijing Hotel NUO
Address: 33 East Chang An Avenue, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100004, China (Formerly Raffles Beijing Hotel)
Region: China > Beijing > Xidan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#10 Family Hotel in Beijing
#21 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#21 Business Hotel in Beijing
#96 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,033 - ₹ 19,112
Hotel Class:5 star — Beijing Hotel NUO 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and Prestigia so you can book your Beijing Hotel NUO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Hotel Beijing
Beijing Raffles Hotel
Raffles Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing