We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small Ritz with local flavor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Beijing
Ranked #7 of 6,449 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson AZ
Level Contributor
194 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Small Ritz with local flavor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

It's all you expect from a Ritz, from the Rolls Royce pickup to excellent dining to nicely appointed rooms. This Ritz is a bit smaller than many I've been to, but that is a good attribute.

Service is what the Ritz chain was built on and this could be a training ground.

There's enough nearby, including a mall, to keep you occupied if you like to walk and many good restaurants around (including Nobu at the Marriott). The hotel Chinese restaurant is excellent, however there are less expensive and more interesting local places outside. Skip the Italian, it's just okay and since you're in China why not eat local?

The buffet breakfast kept me sated until dinnertime. Overall, this is a "Ritz experience" and well worth the stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prince_of_Peas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    681
    173
    37
    10
    4
See reviews for
95
122
50
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ft. Laud, Florida
Level Contributor
139 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

We stayed 5 nights and were very pleased with the hotel. The staff was superb...very helpful and courteous. Buffet breakfasts and dinners offered excellent choices, both Western and Asian.

Our room was extremely comfortable and in excellent condition. The bathroom was gorgeous and had lots of nice amenities.

We had dinner one evening at their Italian restaurant....Barolo. The food was very bland and I would not recommend this place.

On two evenings we enjoyed our dinners at the Chinese restaurant in the hotel....Yu. The service was excellent as well as the food preparation.

The hotel is not too close to the main tourist attractions. It requires a taxi or subway ride. Mostly we took taxis but once we tried the subway and this was fine.

We very much enjoyed the quiet luxury feel of the hotel. We would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pacosmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Aftertravelling from the airport in the hotels rolls Royce I was greeted by hotel management and reception staff waiting with my key already , I had only to sign my registration and I was in bliss for 3 night strip to thegreatwall coutresyoftgehotels rolls Royce again , the staff from rooms service to restaurant to concierge where brilliant it was a very comfortable leisurely stay quite different to being ritz Carlton financial street which is more business style I absolutely lived the individual service of this hotel and it's attention to evu detail right down to chilled water and snacks provided by the driver after climbing the great wall lived it.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank W0rldcitizenkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
115 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Was here on one night business. The hotel seemed to be a bit old, but classically decorated. The rooms were large and comfortable. The furniture in the room looked a bit "tired", but it wasn't anything that would deter me from staying again.

There was a mall nearby in case you want to shop. As far as nearby Western cuisine, the CRU restaurant at the JW Marriott next door was quite good. (And a Nobu at the Marriott too).

Service level was okay, but for China, it was to be expected.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdchick1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

I stayed here four nights in club level room and was impressed. The property is nearly five years old but is very maintained and is decorated in a traditional style, setting it apart from many newer Ritz-Carlton properties. The location is fairly central as its a 25 minute drive to the airport and conveniently located on Subway line 1 offering easy access to Tiananmen Square, The Forbidden City, and other attractions.

The rooms are well laid out with ample closet space, large desk area, sitting area and large bathroom. Bathrooms are all marble and feature double vanities, soaking tub, rain shower head, and separate toilet area. I was slightly disappointed to find generic Ritz-Carlton amenities with this being a club room rather than Bulgari or Acqua di Parma as is customary at other locations (suites and club rooms receive upgraded amenities).

The club lounge staff were fairly attentive and pleasant despite the language barriers. There is a large selection of breakfast items laid out in addition to made to order waffles, pancakes, eggs, omelets, etc. Light lunch is served mid-day followed by afternoon tea which was phenomenal. Light canapes were offered in the evening and each night had a large variety Chinese, Japanese and western selections.

The spa area on the 17th floor is another high point in this property. I had a 60 minute aromatherapy massage and was very pleased with my therapist and the treatment room. Gym features Technogym cardio equipment with integrated LCD TVs, strength machines, and dumbbells. Mosaic swimming pool is rather serene and well decorated with an additional outside terrace.

Overall, this property is a solid Ritz-Carlton location and I will definitely return when my travels bring me to Beijing.

Room Tip: Reserve a club level room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 737823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#3 of 6,449 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,449 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
NUO Hotel Beijing
#2 of 6,449 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guomao
JW Marriott Hotel Beijing
JW Marriott Hotel Beijing
#14 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,447 reviews
Guomao
Kerry Hotel Beijing
Kerry Hotel Beijing
#5 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,627 reviews
Rosewood Beijing
#6 of 6,449 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Beijing? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Beijing

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Beijing
Address: No.83A Jianguo Road, China Central Place, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100025, China (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton Beijing)
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#7 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#9 Business Hotel in Beijing
#17 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#34 Family Hotel in Beijing
#151 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,233 - ₹ 22,036
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Beijing, is centrally situated in one of Beijing's most thriving business area - China Central Place, the hotel is 30 minutes from the Beijing International Airport and offers easy access to the city's historical and cultural landmarks. In the classic timeless and elegant Ritz-Calrton style, the hotel, designed by HBA design consultants, features 305 well-appointed guest rooms and six exquisite award winning restaurants and bars including Barolo, serving authentic Italian Cuisine; Yu, serving fine Cantonese Cuisine; Aroma, serving international cuisine throughout the day; The Ritz-Carlton Bar; The Lobby Lounge and The Davidoff Lounge. Other exclusive facilities include The Ritz-Carlton Spa, fitness centre, indoor pool with balcony, 1,100 sq.m. meeting and conference space, 648 sq.m. ballroom and the only wedding chapel inside a hotel in Beijing.Behold the Ritz-Carlton, Beijing, architecture and decor classically inspired. Whether from the full-bodied taste of Ritz-Carlton traditional afternoon tea or a refreshing spa treatment, your senses are entranced by experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Hotel Beijing Huamao Beijing
Ritz Carlton Hotel Beijing
Ritz Beijing
Ritz-Carlton Beijing
Beijing Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing