We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Price for a Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Ranked #25 of 6,464 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great Price for a Great Location”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

As with any place to call home there are 3 rules: Location, Location and Location. The Park Plaza, from this point forward referred to as PP, is definitely in the right location. Many of the big attractions are within walking distance. Well, walking distance for those of us who choose not to eat a McDonalds more than 2 times a month. I am not trying to be prejudicial against those who “have thyroid issues.” I am just trying to make sure that you all realize that to me walking distance is anything less than 3km. If you really aren’t up for walking there is a subway station right outside and around the corner. If you are more of a driver than a public transportation user there are Maserati, Ferrari and Rolls Royce dealerships right outside the front entrance. That’s not a joke. We had to endure the economic humiliation every time we walked in and out of the hotel. It was like they were teasing us!

The area the surrounds the hotel is new, vibrant, full of people and full of shopping. Just like in the western world, a combination such as that means everything is more expensive then it is in other parts of the city. The prices may be higher, but this is still China. If you live in any major city in the western world it is still far less than what you are going to pay at home. If you venture off of Jinbao and Dongdan (those are streets B.T.Dubs) there are side streets that offer more affordable fare and activities. A massage on Dongdan runs about $50USD, or 300RMB. A massage on a side street runs about 100RMB or $15USD. It might seem a little shady, but it is just as good at 1/3 the price. Walk towards the Forbidden City and there are restaurants everywhere. Dinners normally ran around 140RMB or $21USD for appetizers, 2 entrees, a large fried rice and 4 large Tsing Toa beers. If you stick around the hotel, dinners ran us 600RMB or around $92USD.

Time to get off the commentary and down to the review. We have stayed at the PP brand hotels in London which was nice. The PP in Beijing was great. The staff was more than helpful. All employees we encountered spoke English. Some were better than others, but that rings true here in the US too. The rooms were big. My wife and I had no trouble getting around in the room or bathroom. There was never a time when I was thinking, “Can you get out of the way I have to pee!” The décor was pleasing. The modern look mixed with the Asian flare was cute. There is not much of a night life in Beijing so we actually enjoyed the room. And, after a 12.5 hour flight and a 15 hour time difference we needed to catch up on some sleep. There was even english TV; 6 station all in english. There was really no negative about the hotel. Would I stay there aging? Well, yeah. We are looking to go back in October.

The best part about this hotel was the value. We only paid $100USD a night for 5 nights. Other hotels were running $175USD to $225USD a night.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cgarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,826 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,697
    968
    130
    18
    13
See reviews for
594
973
271
475
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

After a bad night in a different hotel I was pleasantly surprised to arrive to the Park Plaza. The location is very good, surrounded by restaurants and some luxury shops. The staff is very friendly, especially the bell boys. The room I got is nothing special, but is modern and clean. And it has free broadband internet access, very important if you need to work with your laptop.
The restaurant at the lobby serves really nice Japanese style noodles!
Great value for money, I recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sabriconga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei
Level Contributor
46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I stayed here for five nights due to the raving and spectacular reviews here. Of course, you have to try it before you really know if everything is true!
Upon our arrival, the concierge was really efficient and polite on removing our luggage from the taxi while we went to check in. Staff were friendly and had really good English. There was no problem in communicating. We upgraded to the Club room due to a promotion they had.
Then we entered our room... well.. to be honest, i was quite disappointed, because the check in lady had talked about the advantages of the Club room and how spacious it was and such.. but it was .. hmm.. well.. large, with two bathrooms, one with just the toilet, and one with the shower, bathtub...etc. Well... don't expect too much from the Club room.. especially if you have stayed in other Club rooms before.. this one might just really disappoint you.
One fault with the Club room was.. two Club rooms seem to be joined.. with a door in between, perfect probably for family, but not so perfect when you don't want to find out when your next door neighbor gets in or what they are talking about...........had to turn on the TV to drown out some noises.. I am not sure if all club rooms are joined, make sure to ask for one that is not in the form of a family room.
The hotel itself was located in a really good spot, right next to the subway station, making it really easy to travel around the city.
Breakfast selection was ok.. food was not bad, just a bit repetitive with the same thing over and over again, but again service was excellent, and i do appreciate that. If you are travelling in Beijing.. the service in other places just don't compare to this place... SERIOUSLY. Wait till you leave the hotel... and.. oh well...
One of the perks of the Club rooms was the Business Lounge Happy Hour, from 5-7:30 PM.
There was a great selection of wine, beer, cold drinks, snacks.. and really relaxing place to stay after a hard day of work or tiring day after walking around the vast palaces.

PROS: service and location, which are essential if you are travelling in Beijing.
CONS: adjoining rooms for Club rooms... can be pretty noisy.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fleurbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

My wife and I visited Beijing for the first time in March 2012 and we trusted other reviews from TripAdvisor to book at the Park Plaza.

It's a great hotel in a great location. We walked around everywhere and enjoyed the sights and sounds around the hotel. All the staff are very friendly and they have a very affordable chauffeur service from the hotel to the airport and vice versa.

All the major sites are within walking/short distance from the hotel.

Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vachek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buenos aires, argentina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Great hotel, incredible service. Until last time the guest service is asking for complaints, suggestion and how was the stay. I booked a Club Room, at eleven floor. Nice and confortably room, with all the amenities. Clean service is Ok, always trying to give you a better service.
Club floor is good, maybe at Happy Hour is a little crowdy. Nice to take a bit and drink something after work.
Second floor restaurant is very good. The breakfast is very good and the dinner also. The guest service at the whole hotel is something that exceed my expectation. I will recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gustavoarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#14 of 6,464 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#17 of 6,464 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#63 of 6,464 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Regent Beijing
Regent Beijing
#29 of 6,464 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,484 reviews
Xidan
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#23 of 6,464 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,679 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#24 of 6,464 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Wangfujing? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Wangfujing

Property: Park Plaza Wangfujing
Address: No.97 Jinbao Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Beijing
#12 Business Hotel in Beijing
#12 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#23 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#41 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,107 - ₹ 10,788
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Wangfujing 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Plaza Wangfujing Hotel is a modern oasis, ideal for both leisure and business guests with 216 rooms. Centrally located in the heart of Beijing's bustling and developing cultural, commercial, business and entertainment district, the hotel is within walking distance of the Tiananmen Square, Wangfujing shopping street. Rooms all feature stunning views of the city skyline and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Plaza Wangfujing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Beijing Wangfujing Hotel Beijing
Park Plaza Hotel Beijing
Beijing Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing