We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home in an excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lee Garden Service Apartment Beijing
Ranked #55 of 6,464 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Home away from home in an excellent location”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

My husband and I and our teenage girl spent one week at the Lee Garden Service Apartment during March Break 2012. We love this place and will definitely stay there again. It's like our home away from home. Location is excellent - just 2 buildings away from Wangfujing Shopping Street. There's the newly renovated APM Mall (previously called Sun Dong An Plaza) around the corner (http://www.beijingapm.cn/en). There's a Western-style supermarket in the basement level of the Mall where we bought our groceries. Subway stop was about 15 minutes walk down Wangfujing Street. The Peninsula Hotel is just a block away on the same street.

I booked a 2-bedroom apartment through Agoda. It's about 1,200 sq.ft. One king bed in Master Bedroom, and one queen bed in the 2nd bedroom. Master bathroom had tub & shower plus a separate walk-in shower. The 2nd bathroom had tub & shower. Lots of closets and drawers and plenty of hangers in both bedrooms. There's a safe in the Master Bedroom.

The kitchen had a fridge/freezer, microwave, stove, washer/dryer, electric water kettle. We ate out every day, so we didn't use any of the cooking utensils. We only used the drinking glasses and coffee cups. It would be helpful if they had more dishes and cups for bigger families. Free bottled water (1 per guest) was provided everyday.

If you've travelled in Asia before, you know their washer/dryer is very small compared to the North American models and they're one piece of equipment with both washing and drying functions. We had to do our laundry every night, due to the washer capacity. Instead of using the dryer, we hung all our clothes near the vent in the living room, and they were all dry the next morning. Very convenient. The hotel didn't supply dishwashing or laundry detergent though.

Wired internet was available in the Master Bedroom. There's a network cable in the desk drawer. We brought our own portable wireless router, so all 3 of us could use our iPods and iPads in the apartment. There's no WiFi in the hotel.

We had buffet breakfast at the hotel restaurant twice. It's about RMB90/person. They served standard stuff like scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages, breads, juices, fruits, cook-to-order omelettes, plus some Chinese congees, steamed buns and dim sums. Quality was pretty good. We also had dinner at the restaurant twice (too tired to go out), and both times we were the only guests. Nothing fancy or interesting on the dinner menu.

The employees were all friendly and polite. The 3 Bellmen we met were the kindest, most pleasant and helpful we have seen in all our travels around the world.

There's a gym, indoor swimming pool, children's play room, and business centre in the basement level.

I agree that the hotel is getting old, and some areas of the apartment (ie. window frames, door frames, kitchen cupboards) need renovation. Having said that, it's still a comfortable, safe and clean place to stay, and the spaciousness of the apartment, the price and the location cannot be beaten. I will not hesitate recommending Lee Garden to my friends.

Room Tip: There's a school on the south side of the hotel. You can hear announcements, children singing an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JobeeMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    146
    25
    11
    4
See reviews for
191
50
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johor Bahru
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

The doormen were the best I've ever met. They greeted everyone who walk through their doors and are very, very knowledgeable. They gave very good advise on where to go and how to get there, all these, even without us asking.

The room was a surprise to us. From some of the travelers' photos, I was expecting slightly run-down furniture. But it was not. The room was clean and every single one of their staff was courteous. They greeted us when they saw us at the corridor and their smiles seems to be planted on their faces permanently :)

Location-wise, I have not much complain, only that it is quite a distance to walk to the subway stations especially when you have been out walking the whole day, I'll rather cab back (the cab fares are quite cheap too - airport to the hotel, cost us around RMB80 - RMB100). The hotel is somewhat in the middle of 2 subway stations : Wangfujing Station - turn left at the hotel entrance and turn left again at Wangfujing Road. Walk all the way to the end, and you'll see the sign on the right. Dengshikou Station - turn right at the hotel, cross the road at the traffic light junction and cross again to the left. The station entrance is behind Regent Hotel.

But do be aware that the Forbidden City / Tiananmen Square is a 'short 20 minutes walk away', according to the locals. It took us 30 minutes. We tried to get a cab back to the hotel, but could not get one, as most of the drivers said they are not sure where the hotel is. My guess is that the distance is too near for them, that's why they refuse to take us.

Plenty to eat around the hotel and also shop.

Can't comment on the hotel's other facilities, as I did not use them.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoddessEneri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New City, NY
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

This was the perfect hotel to meet our needs. Our 2 BR unit was big ebough for two adults and two children (although it's supposed to hold six --- that would have been tight). There are several other good hotels nearby with a pedestrian shopping area just around the corner. It was by far the best price for a room that size in the area. The Forbidden City is about a 15 minute walk. The room (515) was clean and comfortable. The staff was very helpful and all spoke enough English to get by. The health club/pool/spa was nicer than I'd expected. My only gripe is about the free Wifi. It only works in the lounge and is only available when the lounge is open. So, you can't check e-mail after dinner --- just as the business day is starting in the U.S.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GlobeTrotter186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of April 2012 with my niece and my cousin. We asked for 3 beds so were given a free upgrade to 2 suites; one with a full kitchen. My niece and I stayed in one suite, which had 2 king beds, and my cousin in the other. The beds are very hard (which is apparently typical in China) and the carpets throughout the hotel could do with a good clean but otherwise it was fine. The front desk staff were not very friendly or helpful, actually sighing when we asked them a question. All other staff, especially the doormen, were absolutely lovely and couldn't do enough to help us during our stay. Our room faced the main road and I didn't find it noisy at all, even with the Waldorf Astoria being constructed just across the road. It is in a very good area also, with good shops and a stroll to Tianamen Square and the Forbidden City. There's a supermarket just around the corner where you can buy bottled water, wine and beer.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Hotel is getting old but at least sheets and towels are clean and fairly new. Stayed in a studio which is just right for two adults with two small children (we asked for a free extra bed). Washing machine and kitchen were useful for 7 day stay. Cable connection to laptop was alright. Double glass windows kept cold and noise out. Heater control was practical. Room cleaning was not very thorough - they didn't vacuum daily. Facilities are just right - one cafe with wifi service, indoor lap pool/jacuzzi, gym and small play area for kids. English at front desk was very basic, doormen were very friendly especially to the kids and knew basic directions. Local convenience store on the side of the hotel, and banks at the ground floor were useful for foreign exchange. Location couldn't have been bette - same street at Peninsula, Novel, Hilton with some nice restaurants and a short block away from busy pedestrian street Wangfujing for all the malls and local and international shops, some of which had good restaurants, cafes, groceries. Also on our street was the famous row of food night market selling barbecued scorpions and the like. They do have regular food for the unadventurous. Rest of Wangfujing has the night market, also with food, local shops and pretty St. Joseph Cathedral. For the 50% deal we found on agoda.com, it was worth it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MunchkinTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
#69 of 6,464 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Legendale Hotel Beijing
Legendale Hotel Beijing
#35 of 6,464 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#24 of 6,464 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#25 of 6,464 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,826 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#63 of 6,464 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,338 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
#11 of 6,464 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lee Garden Service Apartment Beijing? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lee Garden Service Apartment Beijing

Property: Lee Garden Service Apartment Beijing
Address: No.18 Jinyu Alley, Wangfujing, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Beijing
#39 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#49 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#132 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,717 - ₹ 16,926
Hotel Class:5 star — Lee Garden Service Apartment Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
∙ Distinctively located within Beijing’s Central Wang Fu Jing Commercial District ∙ Adjacent to the world-famous Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square ∙ 5 minutes step away to the Wang Fu Jing Avenue and the Oriental Plaza Office buildings ∙ 5 minutes steps away to the Beijing City Subway Station Line# 5 and Line#1 ∙ 10 minutes drive to the Beijing Railway Station ∙ 40 minutes drive to the Beijing Capital International Airport Re-Opening: Match 1st. 2014 Comfort & Life Style Prime Living Residential Environment Contemporary design and spacious Space Personalized Services Airport Shuttle Service to the Beijing Capital International Airport 200 stylized apartments with Studio, 1 to 4 bedroom- most with private balconies Ample closet space Cable and wire-less internet Fully-equipped kitchen and dish washer, washing machine and dryer Voice mail, fax lines, IDD & DID cordless telephones ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lee Garden Service Apartment Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lee Garden Service Apartment Beijing Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing