We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Pleasant enough” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Xiyuan Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Xiyuan Hotel
Ranked #194 of 6,165 Hotels in Beijing
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Pleasant enough”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2010

Helpful staff, nice enough rooms. Say away from the imported Wine & Champagne........ no on second thoughts, look and laugh at the prices!
Food.......buffet breakfast above average, in that it caters for European taste, evening meal standard, not so much variety, although I only tried the main resturant, and there was at least one more. There was however a resturant outside of the hotet, just to the right of the main door, of which I heard good reviews. Whilst ther you must vist the Great Wall and the "Spice market" is also interesting, although nothing to do with spices (do not forget to bartar, start at a 10th of the asking price and agree as low as possible).

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mik4647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    240
    102
    26
    9
See reviews for
15
31
12
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
155 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

Average hotel with average quality of rooms in a rather uninteresting location; it is close to a metro station though and this makes things easier. Rooms have enough space but are nothing special. There is a revolving restaurant in the 25 or 26 floor with good views but the food there was quite disappointing.

Big variety but average quality in the breakfast. No real bar except of the lobby cafe in which you have to order something even if you are a guest and even if you want to stay there for 5 minutes for a short discussion.

The internet is ridiculously expensive but at least it is fast.

In the opposite site of the hotel (just crossing the road by the underground passage) there is a very nice night club (Dao) with good drinks and music.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trip_Datum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
73 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2010

I chose this hotel because it was located near the companies I wanted to visit. Last time I had experience in staying in this hotel in business floor but it was a little bit high. So this time I asked for standard room. The room was clean but too worn. The accessories in the room and bathroom were very old and out of date and the room seemed empty. So again I paid double the price and changed to the business floor. I will never come back again. The only good thing that it is near Xingjian hotel and you may find there HALAL food. This hotel is quiet and far from touristic area. The hotel breakfast is served at the last floor for whom are staying at the business floor which there is no much variety and its quality is very low. The only good thing is free internet. Judging on the service, I could give only three or even two stars to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank citoyen-du-universe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
332 reviews
318 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2009

I stayed in the Xiyuan Hotel on a recent business trip to Beijing, as it was located near to the offices of our business partner. I wasn’t expecting that much going in, but it turned out to be far better than my expectations. Upon arrival, it looked a little like a war zone out front, with all the paving torn up, obviously under going some kind of renovations.

It isn’t all that well located actually, a long 1 hour drive from the airport. It is right across the street from the zoo, but far away from the central city where most tourist attractions are located, thus not the handiest spots for tourists. There are however a few good restaurants and shops within short walking distance, including a few western ones, like Pizza Hut, Pizza Factory, and a Carrefour supermarket. There are a few good opportunities for walking/running nearby, around the quiet tree-lined canal beyond the zoo.

Check-in and check-out were very smooth and efficient. Most of the front desk staff spoke reasonable English so communication wasn’t a problem, however service in general was very ordinary. The hotel is mainly geared toward Chinese businessmen, so not really up to international standards that you’d expect from this category of hotel.

The rooms were of average size with comfy king size beds and a small work desk. The rooms were very clean, bright, quiet, and appeared to be reasonably modern and well-maintained. Non-smoking rooms/floors are available so you can escape the tobacco stench common to Chinese hotels. The bathroom was nice enough, however it smelt musty, as if there were a water leak somewhere. Also the stone counter top around the sink was stained and marked, either needing a thorough polishing or replacement. The fruit basket upon arrival was a really nice touch. Free internet was available in the room but it wasn’t very fast.

The breakfast, included in the price, was nothing to rave about, but it was sufficient. We didn’t try any of the other restaurants. I went down to use the hotel gym but found it to be “closed for renovation”, a common theme in Chinese hotels in my experience. I had a look through the window and it seemed to be fairly well equipped with both cardio and weightlifting equipment. There is also a lap pool there.

Overall my experience there was very good, and much better than expectations. Would I stay there again? Well, for tourism, no. But if I had business in the area, yes I would most definitely stay there again, no complaints. Likes: comfortable good quality rooms. Dislikes: musty bathroom, lack of attention to service, poor location

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanO68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2009

I stayed one night in the Villas section at the back of the hotel. The room was a bit dated but clean and spacious with fast internet. I paid only 298 RMB (about US $42). No CNN on the TV, but it is fairly quiet. The Sizhimen subway station is about a 20 minute walk or a 10 RMB taxi ride. The zoo is very close and Beijing University is not too far away. If you are looking for elegant lodgings, this might not be the place but I found it quite acceptable. There is a Carrefour right across the street where you can buy almost anything you might need in food, clothing, or gear.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tkleeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Zoo
Hotel Nikko New Century Beijing
Hotel Nikko New Century Beijing
#137 of 6,165 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Beijing Zoo
Xinjiang Hotel Beijing
Xinjiang Hotel Beijing
#533 of 6,165 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Beijing Zoo
Xindadu Hotel
Xindadu Hotel
#1,981 of 6,165 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Zoo
Hubei Hotel
Hubei Hotel
#738 of 6,165 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Beijing Zoo
Beijing Friendship Hotel
Beijing Friendship Hotel
#188 of 6,165 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Xizhimen
Grand Metropark Yuantong Hotel
Grand Metropark Yuantong Hotel
#172 of 6,165 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xiyuan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xiyuan Hotel

Property: Xiyuan Hotel
Address: No.1 Sanlihe Road, Beijing 100044, China
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#191 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,314 - ₹ 5,527
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Xiyuan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1000
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Xiyuan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xiyuan Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing