We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good staff, poor room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hongdu Shijia Hotel
Ranked #18 of 982 Speciality Lodging in Beijing
Reviewed 30 November 2014

Stayed here for couple of nights in September. Decent location, about 5 minutes walk from the subway.

The staff were very helpful, giving us tips how to reach the bus station to Mutianyu and where to get good inexpensive Beijing duck.

The bar was OK with decent food and cheap happy hour beer. I just didn't get why they started playing hit lists at 08 AM during breakfast.

The room we got was back in the small alley behind the main building. The small building consisted of two double rooms and a shared bathroom in the middle. Our room was rather not so good - full of mosquitoes, dirty dusty floor, the door didn't work properly (stuck all the time with the lock being super hard to use). The lightning was very dim and there were no sound proofing at all. There was free WiFi but it didn't quite reach our room. Still, in the bar it worked fine.

I would propably not come here again if I could find other place with the same price.

Room Tip: Do not take a room from the small house behing the main huilding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 33 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2014

stay there for few nights, really like the hostel, the stuff can speak english,and very friendly ...... they have a nice bar which is very easy to meet people from everywhere, you can drink in the garden till 10pm, very nice, will be back next time.

Room Tip: rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peach w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Saga was the first place we stayed in China so we had lots of questions, needed a lot of advice and some help with booking and planning our trip. Fortunately for us the girls at reception excelled in there customer service. They were fantastic and helped us a lot. We had no idea before we arrived that we would need to book transportation so far in advance and were left with very little options for the start of our trip.

The hostel is large, we had a big double room with shared bathroom facilities. It was nothing fancy but was good. The roof deck was nice. The main downside was the main communal area of the hostel was a very overpriced bar on the ground floor. It only sold western food so didnt appeal to us, especially when the local area is full of really good cheap eateries. Along with local shops, ATM's and the metro. We even walked to the main city attractions from there.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank tomjessett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Clean and tidy room, hot water work well, great wifi, great food. Almost staff can speak english, so no need to worry.
Walk around 10 minutes to subway station Dengshikou
Very recommended for reasonable price!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yusi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We picked this place for two reasons: it was fairly close to the other hostel we stayed and couldnt book extra nights + the price was reasonable for a double ensuite.

The location was convenient although about a 10-15 min walk to either of two metro stations (2 different lines). The room we stayed in was a good size, wifi was free and they have a roof-terrace for a late afternoon drink (buy your beer at reception or any of the small shops around). Lots of small restaurants around with a good choice (Hotpot, Peking duck and your regular places).

The room didnt look very clean though, lots of black smudges on the walls and the ensuite bathroom wasn't up to standard either. We're backpacking so not really picky, but black mould between the tiles and on the sink isn't good. Reception was helpful depending on the girl sitting there. Some speak english, some don't, some are friendly, some are not.

There was a lot of renovating happening (during the day, no noise at night) when we were there and if they manage to do the rooms, bathrooms and roof, I believe this will be a very nice place to stay. Otherwise there are better places to be found for a similar price.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkManama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Peking Yard Hostel
Peking Yard Hostel
#114 of 6,563 in Beijing
189 reviews
Chongwenmen
King's Joy Hotel
King's Joy Hotel
#195 of 6,563 in Beijing
318 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Happy Dragon Hostel
Happy Dragon Hostel
#133 of 6,563 in Beijing
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Peking International Youth Hostel
Chongwenmen
Leo Hostel
Leo Hostel
#6 of 982 in Beijing
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hongdu Shijia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hongdu Shijia Hotel

Address: No.9 Shijia Hutong, Chaonei Nanxiao Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 982 Speciality Lodging in Beijing
Price Range: ₹ 976 - ₹ 3,123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hongdu Shijia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hongdu Shijia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing