We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing fancy. Just another hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Presidential Beijing
Ranked #170 of 6,531 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed 18 February 2012

The lobby area looks promising, it looks like a luxury hotel. Then, when you go up to your room you realize that it was not as good.
Rooms are not bad however they could use a nice refurbishment, specially the heating system and the carpets.

I had dinner at the hotel (Buffet) and even if it was not bad, it was far from good.

If you are a bit picky then try some western hotel. If you are OK eitherway this hotel is as good as any.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gorkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (297)
There are newer reviews for Presidential Beijing
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

59 - 63 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2012

Lets be absolutely clear......this is a local Chinese owned hotel and for many years has catered for higher social Chinese citizens and business traveler as well as the "overnight stay" for airline crews. Therefore, it does not have all the facilities and creature comforts that normally is associated with a Western owned 5* hotel. Therefore, you need to expect the following:- strange room smells, faulty plumbing in the bathroom, Chinese dishes at breakfast buffet, smoking even in the no-smoking areas, noises in adjoing rooms, etc. However, having said all of this, this hotel is trying to reinvent itself into a hotel to cater for the international traveler.....they have recently refurbished most rooms and have upgraded breakfast facilities and extended the buffet choices. So, in summary.........this hotel is good value for money for the facilities provided however, its not ideally located (West Beijing) for the tourist traveler.

Room Tip: Try and get a room as far away from the elevators as possible!
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DB_Cooper_inHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

I have stayed at the Presidential before and I was not impressed with the rooms as they were quite tired but I stayed here for business last week and all the rooms have been re-designed with all new décor.

I especially liked the large plasma TV’s and the couch which was very comfy. I had a suite room and they were especially large (well, large for me anyway)

Check in was easy and the staff were quite polite. I think the lobby has been re-done as well.
Breakfast was included but there could have been more variety for the western dishes

Overall I was very impressed with the stay and I would recommnd this hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a suite room
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gab76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We stayed at the Presidential Beijing for a week over New Year 2011/2012 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We stayed in one of the newly refurbished suites which was extremely comfortable- plenty of room, nice interior, everything one would expect from a 5 star hotel. The lobby of the Presidential is very impressive, very high almost cathedral like ceilings, big staircase and a great area for a quiet drink after a long day of siteseeing. The buffet breakfast, which was included with our room, was offered in the cafe on the ground floor- a diverse mix of Asian and Western foods and a great way to start a day! Probably the best aspect of our stay, however, was the quality of service we received from the hotel staff. From the front desk, to concierge desk, doormen and restaurant staff (try the hot pot at the Chinese restaurant!) everyone was very helpful and willing to go out of their way to help. Of particular note was one of the senior foreign managers working at the Presidential, from Australia I think going by the accent. On arrival, we were obviously very tired from our long flights and seeing this he went of his way to streamline our check in...the quickest and most pain free check ins I've ever experienced! During our 1 week stay he would continually check on how things were going, even personally helping us organise a car to take us to the Great Wall, 10/10 for service! Would we return? Definately!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

We had quite a bad experience staying in this '5-star' hotel. To start off, we made a total of 2 room changes. The first change was due to the room door being faulty. We couldn't get the door open even after tapping the room key and turning the door knob repeatedly. We had to seek help from the front desk who told us that they will send a staff over to check.

When the staff came, she initially couldn't get the room door open as well. But later on, she managed to get the door open, but I noticed that she had used her leg to slightly kick open the door when turning the door knob! I asked the staff whether she had used her leg to kick the door open. She flatly denied and told us that there was nothing wrong with the door!

We thereafter requested for a room change at the front desk. Imagine our surprise when the front desk staff gave us a pissed off look and mumbled 'A change of room again?!' when this was our first room change request! What kind of staff attitude is this? I presume there may have been a number of room change requests from the other occupants of the hotel due to problems with their room as well.

Our room change was anything but good. The room was smaller as the front desk said they had no other rooms of the same size. More importantly, the aircon seems to be faulty as the room was still warm even after we had set the aircon to high speed and set the temperature to the lowest possible setting of 15 degrees celsius.

We thus resorted to calling the assistant manager and highlight our grievances and disatisfaction. The assistant manager immediately responded by giving us a second room change and a bigger room at no additional cost. The aircon in the bigger room was slightly better. However, setting the aircon to high speed and temperature to 15 degrees celsius still did not cool off the room as what was desired. We did not want to go through the hassle of another room change so we grinned and bear it for the next 3 nights.

My comments about the room besides the aircon issue is that the furnishings seem dated for a 5-star hotel. The shower in the bathroom was also not strong enough and it takes a longer time for us to bathe and clean off our soap. In addition, the shower area always floods when we take our showers.

The only thing good about the hotel is that the room was relatively big. So a '5-star' hotel? If you asked me, it is more of a '1-star' hotel disguised as a '5-star'.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skquek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Xidan
Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing
Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing
#115 of 6,531 in Beijing
350 reviews
Beijing Zoo
Hotel Nikko New Century Beijing
Hotel Nikko New Century Beijing
#149 of 6,531 in Beijing
482 reviews
Xizhimen
Grand Metropark Yuantong Hotel
Grand Metropark Yuantong Hotel
#571 of 6,531 in Beijing
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gongzhufen
Yulong International Hotel
Yulong International Hotel
#210 of 6,531 in Beijing
205 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Zhaolong Hotel
Zhaolong Hotel
#178 of 6,531 in Beijing
340 reviews
Xidan
InterContinental Beijing Financial Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Presidential Beijing? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Presidential Beijing

Address: No.9 Fuchengmenwai Road Xicheng D,, Beijing 100037, China (Formerly "Presidential Plaza")
Region: China > Beijing > Xidan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#137 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: ₹ 5,002 - ₹ 8,965 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Presidential Beijing 4*
Number of rooms: 505
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Presidential Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Presidential Beijing Hotel Beijing
Presidential Hotel Beijing
Beijing Presidential Hotel
Presidential Plaza Hotel Beijing
Presidential Plaza Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing