We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,631)
Filter reviews
3,631 results
Traveller rating
2,981
499
105
24
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,981
499
105
24
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews horizon club nancy cao aria restaurant shopping mall beautiful lobby hotel lobby is business trip silk market summer palace excellent stay choose this hotel beautiful hotel fitness center business district star hotel subway station chinese restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
232 - 237 of 3,631 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2017

Comfortable and quiet place for a stay in Beijing. Recommended for businesd with dedicated budiness center and some meetng rooms. Professional staff to help.
Good location near subway line 1 and with direct connection with the luxury World Center Mall.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank francois305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWHGM, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear francois305,

Thank you for your kind words on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that you were impressed by our facilities and the service provided by our team. Indeed, we take pride in the work ethic and enthusiasm of our staff in serving our guests. We do hope to welcome you back to stay with us in the near future.

Best regards,
Christopher Chia,
Vice President/General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

This hotel is located in a shopping mall and it is also very close the train station. The rooms were okay but they could use some upgrades (carpet/furniture looked a bit worn out). The staff were very friendly and helpful. The large lobby was pleasant and had live music. The cafe at the lobby level was fine for breakfast but I would go out for lunch/dinner to get more variety. Overall I was satisfied with my stay but, if I had to do it all over again, I would stay at the Park Hyatt on the other side of the highway which is a bit pricey but a lot nicer.

Date of stay: September 2017
Thank travelpro1918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWHGM, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear travelpro1918,

Thank you for choosing China World Hotel, Beijing and for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. Your compliments on our staff will continuously challenge us to improve and deliver high standards of service. Thank you for your feedback on our rooms and indeed we are in the process of refurbishing our rooms in phases. We look forward to welcoming you to our new rooms on your next visit and we sincerely hope to have a chance to restore your confidence in us and make us your home in Beijing.

Best regards,
Christopher Chia,
Vice President/General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

We stayed in a Premier Room (15th floor) with Club Access. From the moment we arrived till the time we left, we were made to feel like royalty. The hotel was extremely busy with VIP, high profile guests and some of the athletes for the Beijing Marathon were around. Despite all of this and the high security in place, the staff made us feel as if we were the only two people around.

It was my birthday and I had a wonderful surprise of a delicious birthday cake and balloons in my room when checked in. Thank you again!

The staff:
They are the people who make the Shangri La stand out from the rest of the hotels we have stayed in. The staff in the Club Lounge were attentive to all our needs. Always smiling and always ready to help. We would like to extend our thanks to everyone in the Club Lounge.

Club Access:
There was a variety of food to choose from in the evening. The al la carte breakfast menu was outstanding. If you can afford it, do not hesitate to book the Club Access. You will not be disappointed.

The Premier Room:
Our room was out of this world! Huge, spacious and spotlessly clean. The room was modern and beautiful. We had a turn down service each night. There a "walk-in area" where all our luggage and clothes were kept. Lots of drawers and cupboard. The bathroom was massive. Double sink and luxurious amenities.

Location, location, location:
You cannot go wrong if you're looking for easy access to the subway and walking distance to Silk Market etc. I used the subway 90% of the time. It was a lot faster than being stuck in traffic. The subway system is exactly like the London underground system. I studied the map online and familiarized myself with the various stations. It was so so easy and I highly recommend using the subway instead of taxis. There is a huge mall underground and then the subway. The hotel is conveniently located for all your tourist attractions. Line 1 and Line 10 interconnect here. For e.g. Tiananmen Square was a short 5 stops away from Guomao Station where the hotel is situated. Sanlitun, another popular night spot area was only 3 stops away. A lot faster than a taxi for sure! If you decide to take the subway, you must make a note of which exit to take, depending if you are on Line 1 or Line 10. We got so lost in this huge mall.

If you are looking for a top class hotel, with staff who treat you like royalty, and a great location with easy access to the subway, then I highly recommend the China World Hotel. You will not be disappointed.

Thank again to all the staff at the hotel for making our stay so special.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Indiandelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWHGM, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear Indiandelight,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. It is gratifying to receive such a positive feedback of our attentive service. I will happily share your compliments with my Horizon Club team. Thank you again for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you once more to our property during your trips to Beijing in future.

Best regards,
Christopher Chia,
Vice President/General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

The hotel is nice. Clean. But certainly doesn't feel like a 5 or even 4 star hotel. The rooms are in need of an upgrade. The hotel itself is just "ok". I will say that the staff is outstanding and go way out of their way for the customers. Excellent staff. The rest is just "ok". Much better hotels for the price.

Room tip: Most rooms seem to need an upgrade
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelguruguyperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWHGM, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear tritonfilms,

Thank you so much for staying with China World Hotel during your recent visit to Beijing and for taking time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. Thank you for your feedback on our rooms and indeed we are in the process of refurbishing our rooms in phases. We look forward to welcoming you to our new rooms on your next visit and we sincerely hope to have a chance to restore your confidence in us and make us your home in Beijing.

Best regards,
Christopher Chia,
Vice President/General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

Our first time to China and immediately experiencing luxury and great service. This hotel has it all, traditional but modern enough. Elegant but comfortable. The food at the restaurant was supreme and the coffee and pastries the best we had in China and 4/5 of the world. The hotel is centrally located, although Beijing is a very large city. There is a new underground mall with access from the hotel that has just opened if you feel like shopping or dining. The rooms are a good size and sound proof.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walker14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWHGM, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear Walker14,

Thank you for choosing China World Hotel, Beijing and taking your time to write a review on TripAdvisor! Yes, our hotel is strategically located in the central business district and is part of the China World Mall. Your compliments on our accommodation and quality of our food and beverage offerings will continuously challenge us to improve and deliver high standards of service.
We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Beijing.

Best regards,
Christopher Chia,
Vice President/General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews