We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute top of the range hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
Ranked #18 of 6,448 Hotels in Beijing
Masterton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Absolute top of the range hotel”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

I agree with others that this is the best hotel I have stayed in anywhere, and I have travelled to most parts of the world. I have stayed here at least twice a year for about five years, and I always enjoy coming back. Service is superb, rooms extremely comfortable, and Horizon Club a great place if you qualify. The pool and gym are far better than any other hotel I have stayed in, and very easy to use. The hotel is in a very central location and although you look out on the junction of two major freeways, you can walk easily around the area either at ground level or through the almost endless underground upmarket shopping areas that radiate out from the hotel area. There is also a station below the shopping areas five minutes walk from your room, and if you learn to use the underground system (actually quite easy) it is a very cheap (2 RMB to go anywhere other than the airport) and efficient way to get around the city, much better than taxis if you know where you need to go. I have stayed in several other ShangriLa hotels, and while they are all excellent hotels, China World is a level above the rest. I first visited Beijing and several other parts of China in 1978 when there were only two hotels in Beijing which would accept foreigners, and the accommodation then throughout China was very third world. In some places I now visit it hasn't changed a lot, but at China World they have reached the peak of global hotel standards. They could teach a lot to some of the better known hotel brands.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,657
    450
    87
    21
    20
See reviews for
206
159
70
1,086
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I've stayed in many great hotels in my long life but the China World Hotel topped them all. It was paradise. The staff are amazingly (but unobtrusively) attentive and make guests feel very pampered and special. For example, they remember how you take your coffee. The entire hotel is gorgeous. Our room had every facility we could have wanted. (It's worth opening all the drawers and cupboards to find these.) The bed was so comfortable we slept better than we had in ages. We had a club room which gave us access to a lounge on the 22nd floor with an amazing view and daily happy hour with drinks and fantastic Chinese canapes. Breakfast, both in the lounge and in the main restaurant downstairs, was super. (If you're an adventurous diner, I recommend the chicken congee with century eggs, roasted peanuts, dried fish, pickles and spring onions -- but the toast and poached eggs are fantastic too!) Beijing's metro system is excellent and there's a station beneath the hotel. If you like to shop, there's also a luxury mall under the hotel, but it specialises in western (rather than Chinese) designer goods.
Most of the main attractions are within easy reach and the concierge is very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greencourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Mayo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We knew that we had chosen well from the moment we entered into the luxurious world of China World Shangri La as we were greeted by smiling, courteous staff who made our long trip very worthwhile.
The lobby is spectacular, rich and oppulent with some staff in chinese dress with comfortable lounging areas where traditional teas can be enjoyed with piano music playing in the background.
The waiting staff in the Club Horizon deserve special mention as they were friendly, professional and intuitive to our requirements. Actually, include all departments in this comment.
Our room, on the 20th floor, was very quiet and well serviced. The aircon worked well and we were most comfortable. If I was to nitpic, the room carpet is a little tired but clean!
The Aria bar, off the lobby, is worth a visit with interested staff who enjoy their jobs.
The swimming pool, tennis, pingpong and gym looked good but we had no time to use them. Next time!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happyart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
82 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

was there for a week... and never stepped out :)
the hotel is clean and tidy.. i have a club room that gives u access to the daily happy hour.
they offer a great airport pickup where they meet u at the finger at the airport and take u thru the immigration. a drop off service is available as well.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shadz1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

The moment you walk in the Hotel, you have every staff members' attention! The Guest Relations Manager walked to greet personally my kids with 2 Panda figures! How cool is that! Beautiful, elegance with taste! I will stay here again for sure! Great big rooms, all the restaurants are excellent and service fit for royals in all of them. Perhaps, only one thing that needs improvement, we had an early flight and needed to check out at 5.30 am and had to wait 20 minutes as other guests needed to check out too and only one person was at the reception to check out guests.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#13 of 6,448 in Beijing
1,239 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,448 in Beijing
702 reviews
NUO Hotel Beijing
#2 of 6,448 in Beijing
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xidan
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#23 of 6,448 in Beijing
1,662 reviews
Guomao
Kerry Hotel Beijing
Kerry Hotel Beijing
#4 of 6,448 in Beijing
1,619 reviews
Guomao
Shangri-La China World Summit Wing, Beijing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's China World Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's China World Hotel

Property: Shangri-La's China World Hotel
Address: No.1 Jianguomenwai Avenue | Chaoyang District, Beijing 100004, China
Region: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Beijing
#7 Business Hotel in Beijing
#11 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#17 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#19 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#131 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,267 - ₹ 19,626
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's China World Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 716
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the heart of Beijing's diplomatic and central business district, China World Hotel, Beijing is a major component of the China World Trade Center complex, which includes two other Shangri-La hotels, two 38-storey office towers, two international residential apartment buildings, an array of restaurants and a highly prestigious shopping mall. Evoking the grandeur of Imperial China, China World Hotel, Beijing's lobby is welcoming and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La's China World Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Beijing
China World Beijing
China World Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing