We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central location, excellent service, ok rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Peninsula Beijing
Ranked #51 of 6,462 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Allendale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Central location, excellent service, ok rooms”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

The hotel is in a great location for tourists- walking distance to Wangfujing, Forbidden City, and Tienanmen Square. High end shopping arcade just downstairs- it's amazing how many fancy, name brand watch, fashion, and auto stores are in Beijing nowadays. Tons of traffic in Beijing so factor that in accordingly for travel to the airport, or restaurants and sights not immediately nearby. The service was up to Peninsula standards, with exceedingly polite staff with a decent grasp of English. However, the rooms, while completely adequate, don't quite meet the "luxury hotel" standard. The bathrooms and rooms are relatively small and showing some wear. The bathtub plug was not operative, the bed reading light flickered, and the wall button showing the outside temperature was broken. All minor annoyances, but indicative of a dated room. The gym was fine, and the indoor pool excellent. Did not use the spa, but have heard that it is fantastic. Ate at Jing for breakfast each day- the buffet has a large selection of Western and Chinese foods. Pastries and baked goods are not it's strong suit (or anywhere really in China), and the staff were easily confused. Considering that the rates are reasonable for a luxury hotel, I would recommend the Peninsula, particularly for sightseers.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BTmaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    699
    424
    147
    29
    20
See reviews for
194
336
86
271
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
237 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We have stayed in Peninsula properties around the world. We love Tokyo, Shanghai and New York and the one in Hong Kong is a must for us. This property has the same level of service and attention to detail as its sister properties.

Our rate included transfers. Also, the hotel sends someone to get you from the gate at the airportand take you through immigration. It is all so easy! We stayed in a duplex room which was great and had access to the concierge level lounge. We had coffee and snacks during our stay.

My only (very) small problem is the rooms are slightly dated and wear is starting to show- a couple of wall panels were starting to separate from their backing for example.

I knew that it was a little dated coming in to our stay having read extensively of the reviews, so I knew what to expect. Why did I choose it then? The position, for the tourist, is absolutely unbeatable. The newer hotels over in the business district are not within walking distance of the Imperial Palace, night markets, Pearl Markets and Hutongs, the Peninsula Beijing is. The hotel has all the big name luxury shops in its building as well. There is also a Bank of China ATM in the L2 basement which takes international cards - very convenient! I decided to go with an older hotel that was in a more convenient location.

Room Tip: Go with the duplex room - they are at the top of the hotel. We had one facing the back which was fin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tania_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Nice hotel. Great breakfasts in 'Jing' restaurant. A few min walk to central Wangfujing, night markets etc. restaurants nearby including directly across road. Big name boutique shops underneath. Indoor pool nice. Gym adequate. Central location. e.g ~RMB12 to Silk Market. Would stay again if in Beijing.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I stayed in Beijing for an Easter break. As time was limited, I focussed on a centrally located hotel with all amenities.
The great plus of the Peninsula is that it is only a few blocks down from two underground train stations which makes getting around town extremely efficient. Also, the Forbidden City and Tiananmen Sq as well as a main shopping street are only c. 20 mins walk. If you want to get a taste of the capital, everything from culture to art and entertainment, shopping and nightlife are on the door step.
Service at the hotel is attentive and to the standard you would expect for a Peninsula or top 5 star hotel.
However, the only major downer is the dated 1980's interior in the hotel, which has only been upgraded with an LCD TV. There certainly are much better and much newer hotels around. However, given location and service, this certainly compensates the age.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank epicentre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level Contributor
266 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

The Peninsula is a chain that speaks to the luxury traveler. In this case i does just that. The location is perfect for the tourist, the shopping area is right there, the Forbidden City a short walk. We stayed on the Concierge floor, which meant there was breakfast, snacks throughout the day.
The Chinese Restaurant on the property is amazing - and has great Peking Duck, one of the things one must do in China.
The only issue for us was that in the early morning we could not get someone who could translate well for us, only during the regular hours. This meant we could not find a place for diapers for our toddler - and we have a funny blog about that in our website EatPackGo.com.
I would stay here again without hesitation, and recommend it. Just know that during working hours get what you need done, unless you speak the language

Room Tip: Stay on the Concierge floor - 12 and 13
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
#9 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Legendale Hotel Beijing
Legendale Hotel Beijing
#36 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Regent Beijing
Regent Beijing
#30 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#25 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,354 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
#39 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Beijing? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Beijing

Property: The Peninsula Beijing
Address: No.8 Goldfish Lane, Wangfujing, Beijing 100006, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#27 Family Hotel in Beijing
#31 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#46 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#47 Business Hotel in Beijing
#167 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price range (per night): ₹ 16,784 - ₹ 28,060
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by China's imperial architecture, exquisite art and cultural traditions, newly opened The Peninsula Beijing combines timeless Chinese artistry and craftsmanship with cutting-edge Peninsula technology and service to set spectacular new standards in design, luxury and comfort. The hotel's 230 stunning new guest rooms (including 61 suites) starts from 60 square metres, the largest luxury hotel rooms in Beijing and among the most spacious in China. As one of first hotel in Beijing to offer a 24-hour check-in and check-out service to all of its guests. We also provide a seamless check-in process personally managed in each guest room or suite without guests having to wait at a reception counter or front desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotel.de, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Peninsula Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Beijing Hotel Beijing
Peninsula Beijing
Beijing Peninsula
Peninsula Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing