We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs to improve”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center
Ranked #71 of 6,464 Hotels in Beijing
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Needs to improve”
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Overall, the hotel has been quite a disappointment. The main positive aspect is that the bed is quite comfortable. However, the rooms desperately need to be renovated. I stayed on the Executive Floor and the bath area was very small, making it hard to move around. In addition, there was mould growing in the grout of the tiles, and the lighting in the room is not conducive to business travellers who need to do work. The worst part was how the staff at the executive lounge failed to liaise with the concierge to book my departing airport transfer and I had to resort to finding a cab to the airport in the early hours of the day. Surprisingly the manager did not take the initiative to make amends until I asked for it. It is unlikely that I will return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Perle23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StellaYu, Manager at Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Dear Perle23,

Thank you for taking the time to share your candid experience. We value your comments very much, especially the details are the most appreciated.

Overall, it is sad to see that we failed to impress you with our hospitality, nevertheless we do hope that you could allow us another change to demonstrate that we are able to make things right. Would appreciate if you contact me via jason.wang@swissotel.com for arranging your next trip to Beijing. Looking forward to welcome you at Swissôtel Beijing in the near future.

On behalf of Swissôtel Beijing Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    608
    243
    86
    29
See reviews for
110
194
147
534
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wagga Wagga
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Stayed just 1 night (Sat 8 Sept). Was surprisingly check run in from Beijing airport. Its on that side of city, trip took 25 minutes to cover 24 kms). Return trip took 40 mins though due to traffic.

Speedy check-in, friendly staff and was ugraded to a suite room. Very spacious and much appreciated. Gym was reasonable, didn't eat in hotel but the lobby bar/lounge always looked busy and popular. Great location with Yashui Markets and Sanlitun Bar and Embassy area only 15 minutes walk.

Only negative is that they charge 95rmb a day for net access which bordered only slow at times. This is one of the very few hotels in China where I have ever been charged for this!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rakas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StellaYu, Manager at Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are very glad that you had enjoyed your stay at Swissôtel Beijing.

Recently, the newly designed Swissôtel website has been launched where you may find various attractive packages available online cover internet access, laundry and buffet breakfast etc.

Again, we thank you for your patronage and looking forward to welcome you back to Swissôtel Beijing soon.

On behalf of Swissôtel Beijing Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2012

I paid extra for a room on an Executive floor and I was bitten by bedbugs. They changed my room in the middle of the night when I went downstairs to tell the manager. The next room they moved me to filled with noxious odors that hurt my throat and gave my daughter a headache the next evening. The third room is run down (peeling wallpaper, gaps in window sides where you can see daylight through, a chair with upholstery so filthy I asked housekeeping to remove the ottoman), but no odors or bugs. We can hear the kitchen noise, banging, etc. all day from the executive lounge above. The service at this hotel is much worse than when I stayed here in April 2011 and the hotel is in need of renovation.

Room Tip: Only stay on an executive floor, but there might be bed bugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onatripCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StellaYu, Manager at Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to share your candid feedback with us. Please allow us to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay.

We take your comments very seriously as it is one of our core values to guarantee life & health safety to all customers. It is rather an unusual encounter to us being confronted by a guest claiming to be allegedly bitten by bed bugs in the middle of their stay. We immediately checked your previous room for any signs that might support this serious allegation, but could not find a trace of bed bugs in this room. We at Swissôtel do understand that bed bugs are a serious threat to any hotel worldwide, but take constantly actions to prevent bed bugs from finding their home in our rooms. We do check and disinfect bed frames, mattresses, head boards, carpets, seating areas and furniture frequently. We follow corporate programs for bed bugs prevention and have professional companies treating our rooms and train our team religiously on how to spot bed bugs.

Please be rest assured that life & health safety is of paramount importance to us and that we implemented various measures and actions to prevent bed bugs from nesting in our guest rooms.

We hope for your continuous support and would be more than happy having the pleasure welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Swissôtel Beijing Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anstruther, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

On my previous trip I stayed in the Regent , and the Swissotel certainly can't match that for location and is not quite up there in the quality of the rooms. The service in the Regent and the English language skills of the staff in the executive lounge area are also superior.

However leaving comparisons aside I had a very pleasant stay in the Swissotel. Although it overlooks a busy traffic circle, my room was soundproof, the bathroom was excellent with a tub and a separate walk in shower. Nice quality bathrobe. Wifi is essential on these trips and the hotel service worked well.

The breakfast array is western (but definitely not a patch on the Regent with its freshly cooked omelettes). You can ask the staff for coffee but what they bring looks pretty much the same as the coffee out of the machine in the breakfast room.

The location may not be central but it is great for getting to the airport. I was charged 70 RMB for the journey - only 10RMB more than I was charged for coffee and a mineral water in the hotel!

Room Tip: Aim high if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bosh
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Absolutely loved this place, the staff were amazing and super helpful. The rooms are amazing and I really enjoyed the breakfast. They have a great system where they give you some cards to take out with you during your day, one side English, the other Chinese, and it's perfect for showing to the taxi drivers to get around town.
Truly exceptional.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boshwell81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StellaYu, Manager at Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Dear Boshwell81,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We are extremely delighted that you had enjoyed your stay with us at Swissotel Beijing.

Again, thank you for your patronage and looking forward to welcome you back to Swissotel Beijing soon.

On behalf of Swissotel Beijing Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#68 of 6,464 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,554 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Asia Hotel
Asia Hotel
#124 of 6,464 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#56 of 6,464 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Prime Hotel
Prime Hotel
#60 of 6,464 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Kuntai Royal Hotel
Kuntai Royal Hotel
#93 of 6,464 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center

Property: Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center
Address: No.2 Chaoyangmen Beidajie, Beijing 100027, China
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#43 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#47 Family Hotel in Beijing
#62 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#79 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,555 - ₹ 8,275
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center 4*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European style and warm Asian hospitality characterize this charming downtown hotel. You will love the personalized service, fine dining created by chefs from all over the world, efficient business support and those extra touches for which Swissôtels are renowned. Truly international staff and clientele, located in the commercial and diplomatic district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Beijing Hotel Beijing
Swissotel Hotel Beijing
Beijing Swissotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing