We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but Cold”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Happy Dragon Courtyard Hostel
Ranked #7 of 1,434 Beijing B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in a private room with en-suite for a week in March. Pros: clean room, comfortable bed, hot water, kettle, good location in Beijing, helpful English-speaking staff and the hostel runs tours. Cons: No heating, smelly toilet. We don't know what we would have done without our sleeping bags and hot water bottles to sleep at night - it was frigid! The atmosphere was nice in the little courtyard heated restaurant/bar. Party-goers actually moved to other hotels because they thought the Happy Dragon Courtyard was boring - we liked the laid-back vibe.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 87 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2012

We stayed in this hostel during Lunar New Year. The hostel staff were so friendly and helpful and it was in a good location and so close to the subway.
However, we stayed in a private room for the first few nights and it was absolutely freezing. The heating system didn't work, although the staff claimed it was on. Also, anytime we ordered food it was cold before it got to us.
On our last day they asked us to move into a dorm room which we were glad to do as we hoped it would be warmer. It was.
It had its own bathroom aswell, the private room had a shared bathroom outside which was not very clean.
Overall, it was cheap and in a good location, but I wouldn't stay there again, especially if you're looking for any kind of warmth, hot food or a clean bathroom!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanceWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I spent 2 days there with my 2 children (7 and 10 yo). We really had a good time. People are nice, restaurant is good.
The hostel has a really good location (close from Subway)
Don't hesitate to go there

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manu R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

A great relaxed Courtyard Hostel in a Traditional Chinese Hutong.

The Girls working there are very helpful and friendly, they speak English. The Courtyard cafe area is a great place to meet fellow travellers. The hostel staff can organise trips to the Great Wall, Peking Opera, Acrobatic shows and more.

The Subway station is a 3 minute walk away at the end of the Hutong and for a flat fee of RMB2.00 per trip, you can make your own way to other Beijing sites with ease.

After a full day of travelling, it was always great to come back to the Hostel to unwind, have drinks and dinner at their bar. The staff have fun with events like Dumpling-Making Parties.

Room Tip: If you any problems with your room, ie: Super sticky door, or tough locks, let the staff know. One o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

This hostel is located in a great spot for tourists being near a subway station and a few major attractions. The hostel itself is located inside a fairly traditional looking hutong where cars are not allowed (although I did still see cars every now and then driving through). Although our taxi driver from the airport had likely never spoken a word of English in his life we had the address printed out in Chinese and he got us there with no trouble.

The staff consists of a bunch of cute Chinese girls who all speak English and are very friendly and helpful. When we arrived we found the lock on our door was broken. We told one of the girls about the problem, some men immediately arrived and started fixing the lock. The staff will also help you book tours. I was happy that the tour we booked through happy dragon did not include factory visits, which is a scam that is all to common in asia.

The girls also run a restaurant/bar/cafe type establishment in the courtyard. The meals are good and priced well.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Projectilefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Happy Dragon Hostel
Happy Dragon Hostel
#127 of 6,596 in Beijing
316 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Peking Yard Hostel
Peking Yard Hostel
#122 of 6,596 in Beijing
189 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Siheju Courtyard Hostel
Siheju Courtyard Hostel
#5 of 1,434 in Beijing
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Houhai
Red Lantern House
Red Lantern House
#4 of 1,434 in Beijing
319 reviews
Chongwenmen
RJ Brown Hotel
RJ Brown Hotel
#6 of 1,434 in Beijing
109 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Nostalgia Hotel Beijing Yonghe Lama Temple
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Dragon Courtyard Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Dragon Courtyard Hostel

Address: No.51 Dongsi 9th Tiao, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100007, China
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 1,434 B&Bs / Inns in Beijing
Price Range: ₹ 1,015 - ₹ 4,751 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Happy Dragon Courtyard Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Happy Dragon Courtyard Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing