We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brickyard Retreat at Mutianyu Great Wall
Ranked #1 of 1,391 Beijing B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful retreat”
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We spent two nights at this lovely little retreat in late May. The room was beautiful - open design with a quiet, private patio. The staff was courteous and helpful. All spoke English well, and we were given good recommendations for dining and hiking. We spent most of one day hiking up a back trail to the Wall, hiking along the Wall, ending with the toboggan ride back down. The staff also arranged transportation for us both from the airport and back to Beijing. I highly recommend the Brickyard for a quiet break from Beijing.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elsiemn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    82
    30
    8
    6
See reviews for
118
163
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westchester, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Recently I spent two nights with my family at Persimmon Court which is a house that is part of the school house rental program. The house was well appointed including a gas grill that we used to bar-b-que at night and then eat out on the deck that overlooked the village. The house was a short walk from the entrance to the wall. My three boys ages 9,7, and 4 loved the whole experience. The house is across the street from the school house restaurant which was convenient for grabbing a beer, latte, or quick snack.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

A friend who had lived in Beijing suggested that, at the end of our week's visit to that hectic city, we might appreciate a quiet, picturesque retreat near the Great Wall. That is the Brickyard: manicured lawns, blossoming plants, fountains and pools, and a view of the Wall and the mountains. It's a small place (which is great for peace and quiet) but not so small that it is too rustic or basic. Quite the contrary; it's spotlessly clean and has amenities like a jacuzzi (also with a view of the Wall) and some good white wine and beer. The rooms are modern and spare with good, strong showers with plenty of hot water. (We didn't need it in May, but our room also had air-conditioning.)

The staff were friendly and attentive and yet let us be while we read our books. The food at the lodge and the associated Schoolhouse restaurant is basic Western ("comfort food" such as hamburgers or Italian pastas) but there's a good Chinese restaurant nearby and the Brickyard staff are happy to make reservations there, too.

There are free minibus shuttles that will take you to the Schoolhouse, the Wall, and other places. The hotel will also make arrangements for a car to pick you up in Beijing and take you back (800RMB each way); we used that service and I think we'd recommend it since the drive requires some very small roads.

I'd go back to the Brickyard in a heartbeat (although it's a long, long way from home).

(PS: If you're feeling really luxurious and have the cash, the new Chairman's Suite looks like it's a really good value for the money; we just didn't have the money this time. Maybe next time....)

Room Tip: We had the Sleeping Buddha room, which has a view of the mountains. All the premium rooms appear to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fionabert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Lovely setting and views but many of the guests including us were distressed by the absence of doors on the toilets. The owner/designer Jim Spear said, 'We get a lot of French guests who love this.'

Well, I'm not French and I didn't love it. 'We make it clear on our website,' Mr Spear said. Silly me, I'd interpreted 'open bathrooms' as a bath in the room; not a toilet on a platform behind the bed.

There were glass doors on the Ladies' room, but it would only have been possible for a midget to actually close them. And there was a window open to the outside which I only realised was a public area when a man gave me a wave.

There was also noise from construction work which we weren't warned about in advance, and builders directly opposite our room, who could have watched us if they hadn't been too busy making a racket.

The food was bland and over-priced and some of the staff were aggressively friendly which is not compatible with the aims of a retreat. Only one of the Chinese staff spoke English, and none of the American staff spoke Mandarin, so communication between them was almost comical; but frustrating for guests who don't understand Mandarin.

Despite the weirdness, we had a lovely time!

莫莉

Room Tip: Ask them in advance to attach a door to your toilet. Check if there will be construction noise audi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VivLash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimatmutianyu, Owner at Brickyard Retreat at Mutianyu Great Wall, responded to this review, 27 May 2012
Dear ChinaGirlX, Your review misrepresented the content of the conversation I conducted with your husband about the Brickyard's design and unfairly made me seem flippant. I've checked with our team and I know that how you've reported on other experiences here is also suspect. You should really be ashamed of yourself for headlining your review the way you did.

We do our best to serve all of our guests with warmth and understanding, perhaps especially those who drag their unhappiness through our doors -- so I'm not surprised you would still say you had a lovely time with us. I am very sorry that the Brickyard's style, service, and food were not to your taste and wish you happier travels in the future, Jim Spear, Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colts Neck, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2012

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our mini-vacation (one day) at the Brickyard Inn. Out room was esthetically pleasing and comfortable in all respects. The staff was terrific from when we arrived until when we left. We recieved good suggestions for our hike up to the Great Wall and enjoyed interesting conversations at the end of the evening while we relaxed with a beer and glass of wine at their very pleasant bar.

After our hike we had dinner the Schoolhouse – part of the same Eco Retreat. We savored wonderful gazpacho, perfectly cooked sturgeon and duck comfit. Sitting in the courtyard of the Schoolhouse, looking up at the mountains (after a day hiking through them) was quite special. Our morning’s breakfast at the Brickyard maintained the high standards of the previous night’s dinner.

We enjoyed our brief visit so much that we strongly hope to return.

Room Tip: We paid a little extra for a "deluxe" queen. I don't know how the standard queen would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Huairou Scenic Resort
Home of the Great Wall
Home of the Great Wall
#181 of 6,520 in Beijing
27 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#15 of 6,520 in Beijing
1,431 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,520 in Beijing
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Commune by the Great Wall
#173 of 6,520 in Beijing
311 reviews
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#41 of 6,520 in Beijing
571 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brickyard Retreat at Mutianyu Great Wall? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brickyard Retreat at Mutianyu Great Wall

Property: Brickyard Retreat at Mutianyu Great Wall
Address: Yingbeigou Village, Beijing 101405, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1,391 B&Bs / Inns in Beijing
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,281 - ₹ 30,509
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brickyard is a lush and private eco-retreat that incorporates the kilns and other buildings of a traditional glazed tile factory in a design which is "green" from the ground up. The 16 queen rooms all have private terraces and story-and-a-half window walls with spectacular views of the Great Wall. Wireless internet but no TVs. Complimentary breakfast buffet and coffee, soft drinks, and homemade cookies all day the Lodge, where casual meals and bar service are also offered. The Activity Center is fully-equipped for conferences. The Brickyard Spa is set in our four-season garden with lotus pond and yoga platform. Enjoy complimentary use of the Exercise Room and the Outdoor Jacuzzi (available May). Try a Chinese massage or relax in the Spa's Gold Suite with Great Wall view sauna, private bath, treatment room, and courtyard with outdoor shower and cold plunge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Brickyard Retreat at Mutianyu Great Wall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brickyard Eco Retreat At Mutianyu Great Wall Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing