We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brickyard Retreat at Mutianyu Great Wall
Ranked #1 of 1,406 Beijing B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2012

A fantastic place to kick off our holidays in China. Location is great and many walks are possible from the Brickyard---from the very easy:walks in the village; to moderate: walk to the next village for fishing(and eating); to the nearly impossible: up onto the Great Wall!
Very friendly staff and food is fantastic! Note: they only serve western, so not a place for trying out local food.
And if I must find fault, I think a door of some sort for the toilet in the bedroom would be great.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nelson T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (411)
There are newer reviews for Brickyard Retreat at Mutianyu Great Wall
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

322 - 326 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2012

This is a unique property, one that offers perhaps the greatest luxury for a traveler in China: peace and quiet. I visited in March, and I was happy to get away from the frenzy of Beijing at spend a quiet evening in front of the fire, chatting with my fellow guests. The next morning I realized I could see the Wall from my room, and I hiked there on a route recommended by the staff. Staying there was one of the highlights of my trip to China, and I can't imagine a better way to visit the Great Wall.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjstephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

This hotel was a pleasure to stay at, from the moment we walked in. Staff were friendly and helpful, facilities were great and we had been well-informed about facilities well before we arrived. We had a great experience at The Brickyard!

Room Tip: Rooms with the best view of the Great Wall are in Block 1, although they are a bit pricier. Well wo...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Positives: car to and from Beijing came on time, the inn's architecture and location is great (you have a view of the wall from your terrace/bed), Easter brunch was great and the staff put in a lot of effort to make it nice

Negatives: management of staff. There's only one person in charge of everything, Lauren. She picks up a call while talking to us during check in. She has to be the one to take us to our rooms too so we didn't get to our room until 4pm. The other members of staff work very hard but lack training. Our room got flooded, the technician came to unblock it and left the wet rag and footprints on the floor. I rang their helpline number (there's no front desk) and that wasn't working too. I had to walk to the Lodge. The manager on duty was also taking orders of food from people. She said the technician won't clean it because its not his job. She sent one of the waiters to appease me. He came and used tissue paper to wipe the floor clean. The internet was down the following day and again it wasn't sorted until we left.

overpriced: We tried all of their 3 places, the noodle place, Schoolhouse and The Lodge. They sell a bowl of fried rice for 100RMB, a bowl of noodles for 70RMB and a bottle of water for 22RMB. The peddlers on the Great Wall sell them for 10RMB and I thought that was bad considering you can buy them for 2RMB. They take advantage of the fact that people are stuck on the wall with not much choice. At dinner time, we ate at the Lodge. They have around 15 things on the food menu. Both things we chose were not available. It took them 20 minutes to tell us they cannot serve burgers because they've ran out of burgers. So we ended up with a 100RMB fried rice.

It was nice to have experienced it once. I really hope they improve the service because it is a great place but it needs better management. I've read comments from 2010 about their service and Jim Spear said they're working on it but its 2012 now.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Irene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimatmutianyu, Owner at Brickyard Retreat at Mutianyu Great Wall, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Dear Irene B, This is Jim Spear. We appreciate your frank review. You stayed with us on our Easter package, which included roundtrip private transfers from Beijing, a night in the Brickyard, homemade buffet breakfast in the lodge, complimentary local transportation, complimentary coffee, tea, soft drinks (including Laoshan water in glass bottles -- we don't serve plastic bottled water), and cookies throughout your stay, and the Schoolhouse Easter Brunch (which I'm glad to know you enjoyed) for two people for Rmb 1,988. We feel our prices for lodging and food are commensurate with the cost of delivering our product, which is a stay in a very small and intimate retreat with extensive gardens away from crowds. The cafe in the Brickyard is not open to the public and does offer a limited menu. We happily help guests arrange meals at a variety of local restaurants if they prefer something else; no one is forced to dine in any of our venues. Our multi-tasking team is trained to deliver a casual but very warm and friendly style of service that nearly all of our guests seem to appreciate. We received a full report on your public complaints from our duty manager. Clearly, the shower fix should have been handled better and you should have been told immediately about an out of stock menu item. It was your experience that alerted us the lodge phone extension was out of order. Regarding the no-charge and no-password wireless internet, I used it myself with no problem at the Brickyard on both Saturday and Sunday so I'm not sure what issue you encountered. In any case I am truly sorry that the inconveniences you encountered seem to have gotten in the way of your enjoyment of the Brickyard. Wishing you safe travels, Jim Spear, Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We were looking for a nice weekend away from Beijing, and we chose Brickyard as it conveniently located closely to Bejing, only 1 hour by taxi. We enjoyed the walk through the village, a visit at Mutianya Great Wall, and a hotel free transfer to the Great Wall, was very convenient.
The room is spacious, with open space at a shower area. So it was very nice for a couple. The best thing I like in the room is that I can see the great wall from the room while I was taking a shower. The room has large windows and we enjoyed very much looking at the stars before sleeping.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tangerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#15 of 6,531 in Beijing
1,475 reviews
Huairou Scenic Resort
Home of the Great Wall
Home of the Great Wall
#182 of 6,531 in Beijing
27 reviews
Commune by the Great Wall
#195 of 6,531 in Beijing
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#2 of 6,531 in Beijing
769 reviews
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#45 of 6,531 in Beijing
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brickyard Retreat at Mutianyu Great Wall? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brickyard Retreat at Mutianyu Great Wall

Address: Yingbeigou Village, Beijing 101405, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1,406 B&Bs / Inns in Beijing
Price Range: ₹ 11,759 - ₹ 34,171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brickyard is a lush and private eco-retreat that incorporates the kilns and other buildings of a traditional glazed tile factory in a design which is "green" from the ground up. The 16 queen rooms all have private terraces and story-and-a-half window walls with spectacular views of the Great Wall. Wireless internet but no TVs. Complimentary breakfast buffet and coffee, soft drinks, and homemade cookies all day the Lodge, where casual meals and bar service are also offered. The Activity Center is fully-equipped for conferences. The Brickyard Spa is set in our four-season garden with lotus pond and yoga platform. Enjoy complimentary use of the Exercise Room and the Outdoor Jacuzzi (available May). Try a Chinese massage or relax in the Spa's Gold Suite with Great Wall view sauna, private bath, treatment room, and courtyard with outdoor shower and cold plunge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Brickyard Retreat at Mutianyu Great Wall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brickyard Eco Retreat At Mutianyu Great Wall Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing